We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“one of the better hotels in providence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

loved it here, staff was courteous and efficient checking me in

the decor is classical but redone so it has a a fresh feel. the rooms are spacious with a modern bathroom including a walk in shower. beautiful wallpaper

quiet, compared to other hotels downtown

location is never an issue in providence as it's so small that most hotels are within walking distance of each other as well as city landmarks

i only gave 4 stars because you have to pay for wifi

you don't need a keycard to use the elevators, so visitors can some straight up to your room

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ali S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2014

Just a quick note to thank-you for your review. We are happy to hear that you loved it at our hotel and our staff was courteous and efficient during check-in. We are centrally located in the historic Capitol District and hopefully you had time to experience the local area filled with exciting venues and restaurants to explore. Most likely you did not get an opportunity to experience everything on your list so we look forward to helping you discover more about our hotel and our city on your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,376)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

662 - 668 of 1,376 reviews

Reviewed 30 April 2014

Very clean. Very close to nearby Providence Place mall. Interesting building architecture. Great place to stay if you are stuck staying in Providence. Parking can be expensive. There is valet or you can park in the parking garage for Providence Place. Supposedly Providence Place is somewhere around $20 for overnight, but when I checked out on Sunday morning all the gates were wide open and it didn't cost me anything...

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank revoFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank-you for discovering our hotel and we do appreciate your kind feedback. Hopefully in the future when you visit Providence you will remain stuck on us! We do offer valet parking at comparable rates in the city, the mall does present a different parking option for our guests however does not offer in and out privilege. In the future, if you intend to use your vehicle during your stay valet parking would be the better option. Hopefully we will see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Stayed at the Renaissance for 4 nights. The staff - from the valet, concierge and check in reps were very friendly. Room was very clean and spacious. There is a mall behind the hotel which was very convenient for shopping. Felt safe walking in the area. Little Italy was around 5 minutes drive and easy access to major freeways. Not happy about the $28 per day valet parking and having to pay for wifi when other hotels give it for free. Would love to return but may look somewhere else if ridiculous fees for parking and wifi will stay.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Ina O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 May 2014

Thank-you for your fabulous comments about our staff , particularly valet, concierge and reception team. Our team is very passionate about ensuring that we exceed your expectations and it is wonderful that we accomplished this during your stay. We are centrally located to a number of the sites, restaurants and amenities that make Providence such a wonderful place to visit. As a full service hotel located in downtown Providence I am sure you will find that both our parking and our internet fees are comparable with the full service hotels in the city. We do offer valet parking only, however, all of our parking is located in a secure, covered area with 24 hour in and out service which the valet team is happy to accommodate. We look forward to being of service in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

This is a top class hotel. The front desk folks were quite helpful and friendly. The rooms are large and quite modern. The bathroom was top of the line. We were very comfortable and wished we had time to stay longer.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeff S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2014

Thank-you for your fabulous comments that you consider us a top class hotel. It is truly appreciated and wonderful that we exceeded your expectations. It will be my pleasure to pass your positive comments about our front desk team and our room product on to our staff. They are very passionate about ensuring that each and every stay exceeds your expectations. We look forward to being of service in the near future when you have time to discover more about what makes our hotel and our city such a special place.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

"I have been on two separate tours of this hotel with a large group of college students. I was very impressed with the whole entire outlook of the hotel both times. I was able to meet a lot of the executive staff members, who were also very pleasant. I got a look at one of the rooms, which has an overall view of the State House. I even had an opportunity to look at the Presidential Suite, which made me feel impressed when I saw it. My overall impression after these tours was that I feel that the staff members take great pride at keeping this hotel in the best possible condition. The tour guide also offered us a chance to see one of the representatives for a job opportunity if we were interested."

Room Tip: I would say that any room away from the pool area would be quieter. It is also a benefit if you ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kristopher K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Thank-you for your observations, it is always wonderful when we can open our doors to students such as yourself and share our hotel with them. Based on your feedback it was very beneficial for you. We wish you well in your future endeavors in the hotel industry and please contact us if we can be of assistance in any capacity in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My first trip to Providence. I really liked the hotel, room was solid (e.g., clean, decent size, hot shower, fridge in room). Great location! Right next door to a large mall and plenty of good food options. Valet parking was efficient and getting in and out of the city was easy. Friendly staff. I will be back!

Only feedback is the restaurant that is attached to the hotel (basement level),.. and I don't think is officially a part of Marriott wasn't good. I only had one meal there and after one bite decided it was worth consuming. I had lunch. Not sure how breakfast is,.. but there are better options for lunch outside this restaurant and near the hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank roadwarriorguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2014

Just a quick note to thank-you for discovering our hotel and your fabulous comments. We are centrally located in the historic Capitol District within walking distance to a number of the sites, universities and amenities that the city has to offer. We do look forward to your next visit.
I will be happy to pass on your feedback to the restaurant operator, although it is not officially operated by the hotel, it is a wonderful restaurant and I will pass your comments on so they can ensure that your next visit exceeds your expectations in the same manner that your hotel stay did.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The hotel is located directly across from the capitol building in what was a former masonic temple. Everyone we dealt with behind the desk was extremely friendly and eager to help. The room was very clean and spacious. The bathroom was also clean and the maids did a great job keeping it that way. The hotel was quiet and we never heard much noise with people coming and going from their rooms.

The only minor nuisance was the shower. There were bursts of scalding hot water. Luckily you could feel it getting warmer in time to move out of the way.

The price was decent but for the amount of money, wifi should be included. The valet is also a little pricey at $28 a day but you are allowed to come and go as often as you like.

Overall this is a great hotel in a good location.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2014

Thank-you for discovering our hotel and your wonderful feedback about our location, our staff and our services. We pride ourselves on ensuring each and every time you stay with us that we exceed your expectations. We appreciate your comment that you felt we are a great hotel with a good location and I will ensure we pass this on to our staff. I will also pass on your comment about your shower experience so we ensure we address any challenge with this. We look forward to your next visit with us to help you discover more about what makes our hotel and our city such a unique destination.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Hotel Providence
#1 of 13 in Providence
1,182 reviews
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 13 in Providence
2,939 reviews
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore
Providence Biltmore
#7 of 13 in Providence
1,375 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 13 in Providence
1,254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel

Address: 5 Avenue of the Arts, Providence, RI 02903
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Providence
#2 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#3 Family Hotel in Providence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range: £110 - £229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuel your sense of wonder at the Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel with geometric décor infused throughout inspired by the creative talents of world-renowned Rhode Island School of Design. Experience the sparkle of a re-imagined lounge and discover the "WOW'" factor in our guest rooms. All are warm and airy with splashes of color, comfy beds and bathroom fixtures that impart a luxurious feel. Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel is among the most remarkable hotels in Providence, Rhode Island. Housed in a beautifully restored historic 1920s era building, the hotel's 264 exquisite guest rooms and 8 suites offer exceptional comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Marriott, Booking.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Providence
Providence Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing