We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Omni Providence Hotel(Providence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Providence Biltmore(Providence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
The Dean Hotel(Providence)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Hotel Providence(Providence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Dolce Villa(Providence)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (1,392)
Filter reviews
1,392 results
Traveller rating
814
421
95
40
22
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
814
421
95
40
22
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmasonic templestate housethe club loungefront deskcapitol buildingbeautiful hotelvalet parkingcheesecake factoryrhode islandamtrak stationvalet staffcoffee makerroom was largebrown universitymini fridgeking bedfederal hill
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
654 - 659 of 1,392 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2014

We stayed here for 4 nights and did not experience any problems. Front desk reps were always courteous and helpful. We only used the concierge lounge for a couple of days but it could use some improvements in offerings.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank shawnCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank-you for your review and valuable feedback. Wonderful that you were able to experience 4 nights in our fabulous city, hopefully you had the time to get out and explore on this visit. We are centrally located to many of the sites, restaurants and attractions that make Providence such a unique destination. We constantly ask our guests for feedback on our recommendations and services so thank you for sharing your feedback on our lounge offerings. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed over with some friends for the night. Had a great experience. The staff were courteous and very kind. They have us some great advice on bars to go to and things to do. Rooms were beautiful and ornately decorated. The beds too were very comfortable.Will definitely return soon for another stay.

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Npr177
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Just a quick note to thank-you for your wonderful review and feedback. Fabulous to hear that our Navigator Team helped you discover a number of our "Sip" recommendations and you were pleased with their choices. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Excellent stay at the Renaissance, Providence, which is converted from an old Masonic Temple. Ideally located for both the picturesque East Side (H.P. Lovecraft's old haunts) around Brown University and for the Downtown business district. Nicholas and Kassandra on the front desk were very helpful.

Room Tip: Asjk for one facing the State Capitol
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2014

Thank-you for your fabulous comments and it is wonderful to hear that you had the time this trip to discover a number of the unique historic sites within walking distance of our hotel. As you discovered our location is fabulous to take in a number of walking tours and our Navigators will be happy to share additional information on your next stay. Thank-you also for your recognition of Nicholas and Kassandra, we will ensure we celebrate your feedback with them and our team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Stayed at the hotel during Brown university graduation. So number of crowds during that week was to be expected, but I didn't notice any chaos at this hotel. Everything went smoothly. We got Avery nice room with the view of State house. The hotel is right next to the shopping mall and everything else are mostly short walk away. We mostly walked every where including Brown University. There are a lot of good places to eat in Providence. Our favorite is Birch, Chez Pascal and Sienna. All the staffs at this hotel were wonderful especially valet staffs. They do charge for valet/parking, like most of the city hotels do. There is free wifi which is a plus.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank tvlgal1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank-you for your fabulous review and it is wonderful to know that you had the opportunity to discover a number of the sites and restaurants that are within walking distance to our hotel. We are centrally located in the historic Capitol District which allows our guests the opportunity to explore and discover a number of the hidden gems we have to offer in Providence. We look forward to your next visit!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

Beautiful, historic hotel with wonderfully competent and helpful staff! Lisa Bettencourt in sales was so professional and very responsive. The catering and AV staff made the event a resounding success.

Thank you!

Room Tip: Nice view of the Rhode Island State House. Waling distance to Amtrak Close to a Mall for afterwork
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Melwatters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 June 2014

Thank-you for your wonderful review and comments about our beautiful hotel and wonderfully competent and helpful staff. Thank-you also for recognizing Lisa Bettencourt in sales who was so professional responsive and rest assured we will celebrate your comments with her. We are happy to hear that your event exceeded your expectations and that our catering and AV staff made the event a resounding success. We look forward to providing you and your future events with outstanding service and hopefully next time we will have the opportunity to help you discover more about what makes our city and our hotel so unique in the market.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews