We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modern Chic in a Historic Building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Modern Chic in a Historic Building”
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I stayed at the Renaissance Providence Hotel for 2 nights over the Fourth of July weekend. Though I am not entirely familiar with the area, the hotel was located off major highways, close to a shopping center, and others were praising that it is in a great location.It has a small boutique hotel feel, and if your room is located on a certain side of the building, you can over look the state capitol building.

I've pretty much enjoyed everything about this hotel, from its friendly customer service to cleanliness of the room, I can't complain. The room has a great modern chic design to it, and loved how it was decorated. The outside noise was very minimal. Food on the room service menu is delicious, and the prices were pretty standard.

The only slightly annoying part to this hotel is that they ONLY have valet parking. Therefore, even if you have to park your car for 30 min or 1 hour, you have use this service (If you can't find a near by street parking), and notify the valet 15 min prior to when you actually need the car.

I would definitely come back to this hotel, and recommend it to anyone who might be in the area!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mikimas202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Thank-you for your wonderful review of our hotel. Fabulous to hear that you would definitely return and that you enjoyed everything about our hotel services and our staff. On your next visit our Navigator team would enjoy helping you discover additional sites in the city that make us such a unique destination. We are within walking distance to a number of the historic areas, universities, downtown shops and restaurants that showcase our city. We look forward to the opportunity to share these discoveries with you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,298 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    762
    394
    85
    37
    20
See reviews for
333
378
67
328
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (312)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
47 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I booked this room with a special offer from the go providence website. This was a local promotion and nobody new of this offer except when a manager actually looked at the website and agreed to give me the promotion arrangement & rate that included breakfast (in room or restaurant). Except for the costly parking, and seriously, no wi-fi?? the hotel is flawless!
On checkout, I again had to defend that my breakfasts were to be included, then defend the fact that in room dining was supposed to be included- creating an awkwardness at the desk- I even produced the hard copy of my electronic reservation to no avail. This was only settled by a manager that totally understood the dilemma. Unfortunate it takes a manager to exercise some common sense.

Room Tip: Great View of the Capital
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Johnz67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank-you for your review and your comments about our flawless hotel. I will be happy to personally look into this promotion and ensure there is not a disconnect in the future.Thankful that you brought this to our attention and this will be a quick fix with our team moving forward. Relative to your comments on internet services, we do have both wired and wireless connectivity in our rooms for a fee as well as free internet access in our lobby and business center. Once again thank-you for your feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
19 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2014

I stayed at the Renaissance recently for a wedding and enjoyed my experience. The hotel is a converted Masonic temple right across from the capital building in Providence. The room I shared with my girlfriend was tastefully decorated and comfortable. The best part is the restaurant and bar associated with the hotel. They have a neat lounge area and a DJ every Saturday night. I recommend the lobster roll from room service. My only complaint is no sauna or pool.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Ryan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank-you for your review and fabulous comments. Wonderful that you were able to take advantage of the food and entertainment offered by Public Kitchen and Bar. We are very particular about our lobster roll here in the New England area and you had the opportunity to sample the best. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
114 reviews
89 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Rooms are very nice, hotel is trendy, walking distance to everything, fitness room is great, concierge lounge/breakfast are excellent. Even though I didn't try it the hotel restaurant looked very nice. The service is really good.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank avidtraveler1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 11 July 2014
Thank-you for your wonderful review and your comments about our rooms, location and fitness center. Hopefully on your next visit you will have the opportunity to visit the restaurant, Public Kitchen and Bar. Chef Willis does a fabulous job with the food, sourcing local ingredients and ensuring only the freshest local ingredients are used. His small plate menu offers a sampling of everything local. See you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PA
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2014 via mobile

Nice hotel lacking in service. Not what we've come to expect as Marriott rewards members. For that reason, the stay was nothing more than average. The hotel itself is clean, in a great location and very quiet.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Altus1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank-you for your valuable feedback. We truly appreciate your feedback on our housekeeping cleanliness and location. We are centrally located and hopefully on this trip you had the time to discover a number of the restaurants, sites and amenities within walking distance to our hotel. Our Navigator Team will always be at your service to share these items with you so that you can discover more of what makes our hotel and city so unique. On your next visit, as a loyal rewards member, please let us know what we can additionally do to elevate your stay to a truly memorable experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 2 July 2014

fantastic location , great views of state house, wonderful staff bent over backwards to make sure we had all we needed
unbelievable creme brulee!
funky wild retro- futuro decor in the lobby
I would pick this hotel again to host a meeting in a flash!

Room Tip: ask for a stateside room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank-you for your fabulous feedback about our location, great views of state house, wonderful staff and fantastic culinary offerings. Happy to hear we exceeded your expectations and that you found our hotel the place to be for your meeting needs in the future. Look forward to booking your next event with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Hadley
Level Contributor
50 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014 via mobile

Great updates to the gym!! Brand new equipment makes a huge difference, health club quality experience. Robert Ferrari in the club lounge, great job as always so no surprise there. Looking forward to the updates in lobby and rooms moving forward.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Mick1915
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Just a quick note to thank-you for your loyalty and your fabulous comments about the improvements we have made in our gym. You will be happy to know we are adding three additional pieces of equipment this month, spinbikes, for your workout pleasure. I would also like to thank-you for your comments about Rob, he is one of our true gems here at the hotel and rest assured we will celebrate your comments with him and our team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,423 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Providence
#3 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,006 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Address: 5 Avenue of the Arts, Providence, RI 02903
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#1 Business Hotel in Providence
#3 Family Hotel in Providence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuel your sense of wonder at the Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel with geometric décor infused throughout inspired by the creative talents of world-renowned Rhode Island School of Design. Experience the sparkle of a re-imagined lounge and discover the "WOW'" factor in our guest rooms. All are warm and airy with splashes of color, comfy beds and bathroom fixtures that impart a luxurious feel. Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel is among the most remarkable hotels in Providence, Rhode Island. Housed in a beautifully restored historic 1920s era building, the hotel's 264 exquisite guest rooms and 8 suites offer exceptional comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, Marriott, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Providence
Providence Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing