We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Terrific Customer Service” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Northampton, Massachusetts
1 review
“Terrific Customer Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Visited the Renaissance for a combination birthday and anniversary getaway. Stephen Nettleton was fantastic and upgraded us to a fabulous suite. It was a great example of going above and beyond what was expected. The entire staff was wishing us a happy anniversary and treated like royalty for those few days away.

Nice unique property and a great location. Providence Place is right next door and you can walk to many of the popular restaurants in the area.

Room Tip: Try and get a room facing the State Capital Building which is across the street
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
John, thank-you for your fabulous feedback on our hotel and our services. We will celebrate your feedback and particularly recognize Stephen for making this stay for you and your wife a memorable experience. Our staff will be here for you and at your service on your next visit so that we can continue to exceed your expectations and help you discover more about what makes our hotel such a unique property and experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,273 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    746
    387
    84
    36
    20
See reviews for
328
370
65
321
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (307)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Morristown, New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2014

Walking distance from Amtrack station and comfortable bed. Bathroom is larger than most, done in a high-end way. Hotel lobby is currently going through a renovation. Desk staff and car valet were pleasant. A good value as the price was reasonable for this grade hotel. I would stay at the Renaissance again if in Providence.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bob K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Thank-you for your valuable comments and stellar review of our hotel. We truly appreciate your loyalty and look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miami
Level Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 July 2014

Marquise at the front desk was great, he gave us room 603 with an excellent view of the Capital building.
Pros:Beds were comfortable, bathroom was well laid out and clean. The concierge room on the 7th floor was well stocked and had plenty of seating with TV's (highly recommend). The gym was very nice, clean and well stocked also. The room cleaning staff were very accommodating. The front desk sent us a microwave oven as we requested.

Cons: Valet parking is $28.00 per night

Love this place..you can walk right around the corner to the mall with plenty of dining options.

Room Tip: Room 603 had an excellent view and 2 double beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TigerLily2424
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
It is always fabulous to hear that our team went above and beyond to exceed our guest expectations. Thank-you for your review and comments about our front desk team, particularly Marquise. We will ensure we share your comments with him, recognize and celebrate him for his efforts in ensuring your stay with us was wonderful. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014

This hotel was excellent for the money. Clean, comfortable, and super cool staff. The bathroom was large and everything modern. I liked very much that the hotel offered Aveda products as the cosmetic line.

Room Tip: Get a Capitol view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank laura s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank-you for your fabulous comments about our product, our team and the wonderful value of our hotel. As you discovered we do offer high quality amenity products as a Renaissance Hotel. We also continually look for ways to elevate our product and services for your future satisfaction, we just completed a refresh of our health club with new equipment and our lobby is undergoing a refresh and upgrade at this time. We look forward to your next stay with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
59 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is wonderful! Location could not have been better, across the street from the State House &
directly next to a large shopping mall with awesome restaurants &
stores. Loved the decor and room was clean & comfortable. We asked for room facing the state house & they gave us the upgrade. Valet was quick and breakfast was delicious! Would stay here again next time we are in town. The only thing missing is a pool...

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank SillySallyNewJersey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank you for your review and your comment that you found our hotel wonderful! We are centrally located in the historic Capitol District within walking distance to many of the sites, amenities and restaurants that make Providence such a unique destination. On your next stay our Navigator Team will be happy to help you discover more of our city, Federal Hill our own Little Italy is a must see. We look forward to your next visit with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014

we stayed for one night on June 28th room 105. the hotel is nice and staff is as well. our room was cute. the only negative thing we experienced was we did not know this hotel turns into a nightclub Saturday nights and the music was loud and pumping all night until 2am. it may be that we were on the ground floor that we heard it so well so i would not recommend staying on ground floor especially if you are a light sleeper.

Room Tip: do not pick ground floor room on saturday night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lunalovegoodpotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank-you for your wonderful review and comments about our hotel and our staff. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as your visit to Providence. Public kitchen and Bar located on the lower level of the hotel does offer entertainment on most Saturday evenings. I will ensure that I review your comments with the team and ensure they monitor any music levels as the evening progresses,that is a quick fix for us. We look forward to your next visit to Providence.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel is really nice I always stay here on business. Rooms are comfortable and pleasant. The staff is very friendly. My only complaint is the valet parking. The $28 fee is steep and for that it takes forever for them to bring the car over for your so buyer beware on that front. Overall good experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Thank-you for your comments and your loyalty to our hotel. I will be happy to pass on your wonderful comments to our team as well as share your feedback with the valet team. Please let us know when you will return and I can assure you that our valet team will do whatever is necessary to assist you. There are a number of items that they can suggest or assist you with to ensure your vehicle is at the ready at all times during your stay. We look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#3 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,284 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#7 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel

Property: Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Address: 5 Avenue of the Arts, Providence, RI 02903
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Providence
#1 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#3 Family Hotel in Providence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuel your sense of wonder at the Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel with geometric décor infused throughout inspired by the creative talents of world-renowned Rhode Island School of Design. Experience the sparkle of a re-imagined lounge and discover the "WOW'" factor in our guest rooms. All are warm and airy with splashes of color, comfy beds and bathroom fixtures that impart a luxurious feel. Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel is among the most remarkable hotels in Providence, Rhode Island. Housed in a beautifully restored historic 1920s era building, the hotel's 264 exquisite guest rooms and 8 suites offer exceptional comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, TravelUp and Agoda so you can book your Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Providence
Providence Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing