We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Big clean room! Interesting decor and loud lobby.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We stayed here for 2 nights as part of a wedding party. They had gotten a block of rooms for wedding guests, so we got a discounted rate, which was nice. B/c parking was an additional $28 a day. There was a self-serve parking option but it only saved you $3. No free wifi either. This irked me more than paying for parking.

The lobby is loud, like a nightclub, and has like laser light things on the walls. But it is clean and modern. Check in went fast and the staff was friendly.

The floors are rooms are much more traditional than the modern lobby. Our room had blue striped wallpaper with some ugly drapes, and the bathroom had red striped wall paper. Interesting. But the room was BIG and the bathroom was HUGE. Very clean all around. Plenty of room for the 4 of us and our bags and wedding gear.

The hotel is directly across from the capital building, on what I'd call the "backside" of the mall, so not a super central location, but a short walk to everything.

Room Tip: Room 330 was big and had 2 queen beds
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank travelreimagined_jen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank-you for your review and feedback. We just completed a redo of our lobby with a number of unique, contemporary touches. We are in the design approval phase for our guest rooms and expect to begin a redo and refresh of our guest rooms the end of this year. We look forward to sharing these exciting improvements with you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,366)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

562 - 568 of 1,366 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

Recently stayed at the Renaissance in Providence for business. Friendly staff and pleasant atmosphere. Rooms are large, well decorated and bathrooms are very clean and well stocked with all essentials. Hotel is located walking distance from downtown mall and a very cute courtyard type gathering of restaurants. Hotel is reasonably priced. On the downside - they do not have a gift shop and I forgot my Saline solution so had to walk down to the mall. Also - they do not offer complimentary bottled water - another small negative... but overall a very pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room w/ street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Alisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Thank-you for your review and wonderful comments. We truly appreciate your positive feedback about our rooms, design and the location of our hotel. We do have a retail shop located next to our front desk with a number of products to assist you during your stay with us, We will ensure to bring this your attention on your next visit. We look forward to being of service in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2014

The Renaissance has an amazing staff... valets, housekeepers, front desk and restaurant. Everyone seemed to truly care about our needs. Word had spread throughout the staff that we were there for a funeral and offered their condolences. Much appreciated.
The hotel itself is beautiful and located in a perfect place for all modes of transportation and a beautiful view of the State capitol. The food in the restaurant was excellent!

Only con was the poor ventilation and lack of sound proof door to the bathroom. Minor issue when considering all the good points.

Room Tip: Higher floors have less street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank seabreeze111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 25 August 2014

Thank-you for your wonderful review and comments about our valet, housekeeping, front desk and restaurant staff. Our staff is very passionate about ensuring our guests have a fabulous stay and it is wonderful to hear that they exhibited a caring, professional demeanor reacting to your needs during this difficult time for you and your family. We look forward to being of service in the near future when your travels bring you back to Providence.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

In setting up a Quarterly Board Meeting, the Sales and Banquet Staff at the Renaissance Hotel in Providence, RI were great to work with. That included Lisa, Courtney, Stephen and Beth. I cannot leave out the Chef who prepared a wonderful Menu for us. The meeting was held in the Temple Boardroom which was perfect for the twelve attendees. Everyone thoroughly enjoyed it. And the hotel is so convenient to get to being right off the highway on the Avenue of the Arts.
Roz

Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
Thank Roz P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank-you for your 5 Star Review of our Sales and Banquet Team. They are very passionate about ensuring we exceed your expectations each and every time you have an event with us. I will be happy to share your accolades with all of them and recognize them for their efforts. We look forward to being of service for your future meeting and event needs

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2014

This was my first visit to Providence RI and I stayed at this Renaissance property. The hotel was very nice and comfortable. Marquis was paticuliarly helpful behind the front desk. Highly recommend this location.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EROSS61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 August 2014

Thank-you for discovering our hotel and our wonderful city. We look forward to many more visits with you at our hotel. I will be happy to pass your comments on to Marquis and celebrate his efforts. Look forward to your next stay with us and thank-you for your recommendation of our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

My coworker and I had to work on finalizing a presentation and decided to complete the work in the Renaissance Providence Club Lounge. We were able to work undisturbed for 2 hours and the attendant for the Lounge, Marisol, was able to assist us with snacks, beverages and even changing the television to the Monday Night Football game. Overall,a very good reflection of a hotel that I will visit in the coming months whenever I am in town!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank SDScott815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank-you for your stellar review and comments about our excellent customer service. Wonderful that Marisol was able to assist and ensure you had a fabulous stay and meeting and that she went above and beyond to ensure all your needs were accommodated. We appreciate your recognition of Marisol and look forward to being of service on your next visit with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

Hotel is fabulous accommodations but the best part is "Marisal" our attendant in the " Club Lounge". She was very kind and genuine and truly cared to assist her guests!! She made my stay vey enjoyable!!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peggy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ren-Providence-Team, General Manager at Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2014

Thank-you for your fabulous review and comments about Marisol. I look forward to sharing your comments with her and celebrating your recognition of her efforts with our team. We look forward to your next stay with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Hotel Providence
#1 of 13 in Providence
1,157 reviews
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 13 in Providence
2,875 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore
Providence Biltmore
#6 of 13 in Providence
1,361 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#8 of 13 in Providence
1,241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel

Address: 5 Avenue of the Arts, Providence, RI 02903
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Providence
#2 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#3 Family Hotel in Providence
#4 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range: £112 - £209 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 272
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fuel your sense of wonder at the Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel with geometric décor infused throughout inspired by the creative talents of world-renowned Rhode Island School of Design. Experience the sparkle of a re-imagined lounge and discover the "WOW'" factor in our guest rooms. All are warm and airy with splashes of color, comfy beds and bathroom fixtures that impart a luxurious feel. Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel is among the most remarkable hotels in Providence, Rhode Island. Housed in a beautifully restored historic 1920s era building, the hotel's 264 exquisite guest rooms and 8 suites offer exceptional comfort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Providence
Providence Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing