We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Local 121 - CLOSED

Local 121
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$20 - US$40
Cuisines: American, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Bar Scene, Groups, Special Occasion Dining, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Brunch, After-hours, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Valet Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Neighbourhood: Downtown Providence
Cross street: Mathewson St.
Description: Over the past eight years, Local 121 has been one of Providence's most celebrated dining destinations. The AAA-Three Diamond restaurant is housed in the gorgeously restored former Dreyfus Hotel, located in the heart of the Downcity Arts District. Executive Chef Tyler Demora and his culinary team work with dozens of local fishermen and farms to create a constantly-evolving menu of American seasonal cuisine prepared with a nod to tradition and technique.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Birthday Dinner”
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Eight of us gathered at Local 121 to celebrate a birthday and we all had wonderful meals. We started with a tart flambé, cheese plate, and an amazing "Nose-to-Tail" charcuterie which was shared by all. Our main meals were Chicken Breast with slow egg and basil hollandaise, Chive and Black Pepper Fettuccini with a pistachio sauce, Tri-Tip Beef with saag paneer, Cod a la Francaise with a mustard cream sauce and a huge double Cheeseburger au jus. We couldn't pick a winner; all the dishes were fantastic and completely devoured. Looking forward to my next meal there already.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank cmshannon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

299 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    138
    102
    34
    17
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New England
Level Contributor
628 reviews
357 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

We loved our dinner here at Local 121. First, the interior is beautiful - beautifully restored building with original architectural details, darkish paint, high ceilings, nice linens, a very soothing vibe. We did not visit the bar, but we peeked and loved the stain glass, the long bar - loved the historic "cool" feel. We love how they serve their martinis - we ordered a 'sidecar' and we found that all of their martinis are in fact served with an actual sidecar - about 3/4 of the martini is served in the martini glass and the rest of it is put in a tiny carafe in a small ice filled snifter. That way, you get all of the drink that is coming to you from the shaker, and none of it is spilled or wasted with the overflow! Very clever!

The chef here prepares elevated innovative dishes using locally sourced ingredients. It's true that the whole locally sourced thing is getting to be a bit overdone because the fact is that to have a truly stellar dish, something that leaps off the plate and slaps you in the face, the ingredients MUST be fresh and locally sourced - so it's getting tiresome to have to make a big deal about everything being local, fresh, renewable, green, organic, sustainable, etc and so forth - BUT, until all chefs of high end venues get with the program, we need to continue as consumers to make a big deal of local fresh ingredients being used. And here at Local 121, it is clear that the chef is indeed, with the program. Great stuff happening here!

Every dish we ordered was excellent, yes, it was. First, the bread - loved it! And our server was lovely, she ended up giving the four of us three servings, with the lovely butter - yes, we consumed it all! Starters were all lovely. The chilled sweet pea and garlic scape soup was so very tasty - the soup was pureed, so flavorful, the pea taste with the garlic and then, with what the chef called a scoop of 'buttermilk sorbet' in the middle of the soup, wow, is all I can say - it was like nothing I've ever hard, a creamy sorbet which is actually a contradiction in terms - went so well with the soup! The Bomster scallops - scallops farmed by the Bomster family, locally sourced in Connecticut - which were encrusted in red lentils, wow! The tarte flambé was excellent - what, you might ask, is a taste flambé - don't you picture something flaming, in fact, a tarte that is set on fire?? Well, no, not even close! We asked our server, plus with the use of google on our smart phones - ah, such a boon to fine dining, to be able to look up definitions/explanations on our phones! - we discovered that this is what you or I would call a flatbread. Tarte flambé is apparently a very famous dish in the Alsatian region of France. It is a flatbread with a white cream sauce and slightly caramelized very thinly sliced onions. It was truly delicious and it makes the perfect sharing dish at Local 121, I highly recommend you order one for the table.

As far as our mains, the cod was stunning - perfectly cooked, I loved the accompanying pieces of grapefruit, the zucchini, and the green olive beurre blanc which was truly impressive, giving the perfect zing of snappy flavor to what is on it's own a very mild fish. The chicken dish won raves as it was very moist - so easy to overcook chicken, it takes great skill to hit that sweet spot of the chicken being cooked, yet still moist, not dry - and very flavorful, served with the always awesome veg, baby bok choy as well as a slow cooked egg - yolk beautifully runny! The black bass with black beans was excellent as was the steak. The cheddar mashed potatoes with the sautéed greens was fabulous. Be sure to order dessert - the sweet corn pudding/custard, which was more like a cake, was simply put, out of this world. Words cannot describe! The smoked dark chocolate ice cream which came with it was superb. The other dessert we ordered to share was also excellent, but I can't stop thinking about the sweet corn pudding/custard!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank lexmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“brunch”
Reviewed 21 July 2014

lovely room, disappointing brunch except the coffee was great. Cold blintzes with really cold filling and too sweet - guess they never had a grandmother - the filling needed to be room temp and the blintzes sauteed after being filled to warm it all up. Friend has french toast and nothing to go for again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank merrilymoves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
81 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Fabulous meal”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

We have been in the US for 5 weeks on a business trip, and this was far and away the best restaurant experience we've had in that time. We stumbled on Local 121 when walking through the city so we did not have a reservation. They seated us in the bar, but we still had full service - and were able to enjoy the 97-year old stained glass windows, which look amazing in the evening light (though it was a bit dark in there). The food is creative, thoughtful, and delicious, and the waitperson was excellent. In fact, we enjoyed our meal so much we reserved a table for the following night. Even in that short time, the menu had been updated with a couple of different entrees, showing the chef's focus on serving the best and freshest food. This time we shared a mixture of small plates and a large plate, all of which were absolutely superb, especially the charcuterie plate and the tarte flambee. It is great that they are supporting local family farms and producers. If we lived in Providence, we would definitely be regulars of Local 121.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boatie_girl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southern New Hampshire
Level Contributor
37 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Great food at a reasonable cost”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

I ate at two restaurants in Providence over two nights - one was Flemings, a VERY pricey hotel restaurant that was not nearly as good as the moderately priced Local 121. Most of the restaurants in downtown Providence seem to be overpriced, but not Local 121. I heard about this from some two people who had been there the night before - they came back for a second night because they had been so satisfied.

The atmosphere was fine until the band started playing around 10 p.m. We were in a separate room, so we could still hear each other. The band doesn't start playing until the main dining room is finished - we had stayed later. But the food was excellent, with a tray of bread, specialty cheeses and sauces on the house. My martini was exactly as I ordered it - and perfect. There were six of us and everyone raved about their particular entree -- all of them different. I rarely eat chicken in a restaurant because it's usually bland and/or dried out. Not this time! The menu changes weekly, so stating the ingredients won't be helpful, but I will say that the reduction sauce they made for this was delicious. They don't offer specials, hence the weekly change in menus.

When I return to Providence, I will be eating here again.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank RevDoLittle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Local 121 also viewed

 
Providence, RI
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing