We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing dinner”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Red Stripe

Red Stripe
Reserve with OpenTable
Red Stripe is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #30 of 797 Restaurants in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Child-friendly
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, After-hours, Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Dining style: Casual Elegant
Cross street: Elmgrove Avenue, Providence,RI 02906
Greenwood, South Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Disappointing dinner”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Weeks before the graduation party, reservations were made for a family party of 10, even had a 5:00 seating so it wouldn't be too busy for them. Arrived to find 2 round tables of five ( even tho there was an area near the back wall that could have been arranged into a large table for 10. They refused to give us a larger table. Clam chowder tasted like CORN chowder, no taste otherwise, which is surprising for New England clam chowder! Pork was fine, steak was fair, but the fish was too dark brown and overcooked on the outside and raw on the inside. We mentioned the fish to the waiter. He said it would be taken off the bill. It never was. Very disappointed with the seating, the meal, and the overall experience. They were not that busy at that early dinner hour, but they never tried to accommodate us. All of our meals the rest of the weekend at many more restaurants were fine with no problems. Can't believe they showed so little concern for the customer. We paid the bill and left the tip without making a fuss, but I would not recommend this place to anyone.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank 764Karen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    134
    127
    47
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
MASSACHUSETTS
Level Contributor
23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“One of our favorites”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

This is one of my favorites for lunch, as it is a great value. In nice weather the windows are flung open to the sidewalk outside. Great atmosphere, lively crowd, great food. Charming neighborhood (Wayland Square) where you can stroll around and park easily. Open for lunch and dinner.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank lovestogalavant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pompano Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Average food for an above average price.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 May 2014

The atmosphere is pleasant and the service was good. I haven't talked about the food so what does that tell you? Have a beer and a soup or burger that's where it's worth your visit. Main course for me and my guy was just a gravey sauce tossed on a plate . Mussel app brought nothing but more sauce without the special twist you "d expect from a restaurant who thinks it's their signature!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nancy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Providence, Rhode Island
Level Contributor
51 reviews
34 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not vegetarian heaven”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 May 2014

I've been to Red Stripe several times for lunch and dinner. It's a popular spot, usually quite busy and often quite loud. My companions always rave over their meals - esp. the mussels -- but as a vegetarian, I'd rate it 'okay.'

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Nnie V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
visalia
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great dinner”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

We had an excellent dinner here. The only problem was that we had a reservation but had to wait 25 minutes to get a table. I asked about our tables status once and they said they were just waiting for people to leave. Once we were seated the manager came over and did not charge us for corkage for the wine we brought in. We were very pleased that they offered that without us complaining. For a starter we shared the Basque Calamari which was great. For dinner we had the Steak Frites, excellent and prepared as requested; Seared Sea Scallops, very tender and wonderful; Fish and Chips, very good. No room for dessert. Very loud, not good for conversations. Great meal and we would return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jcbVisalia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Red Stripe also viewed

 
East Greenwich, South County
Providence, RI
 

Been to Red Stripe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing