We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Close to Federal Hill” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Providence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Providence
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
303 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Close to Federal Hill”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2014

My one night stay at this hotel was what I expected from a full service Hilton. As a business traveler on this trip, I wanted/needed a hotel that was quiet, well-located, good internet speed and with attentive service. I was not disappointed. What I remember most was the convenience to Federal Hill, just a very short walk to an abundance of non-chain restaurants. Great way to experience Providence's local flavor (pun intended).

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mswtravels71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. Our location and service are two of the top reasons we are such a popular hotel.

We are glad you enjoyed the location and the many dining options available on Federal Hill. The hotel also has an on site restaurant, Shula's 347 Grill, which is open for breakfast, lunch, and dinner.

Our High Speed Internet Service was upgraded the beginning of last year, and the feedback has been outstanding. Thank you for commenting on the service.

We look forward to hosting you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    472
    348
    188
    67
    29
See reviews for
258
249
66
397
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

The location of this Hilton is great for a Saturday night. We had been to a play in the afternoon, checked into the Hilton then walked up to Atwell Avenue for dinner. Staff was helpful when we had questions. It was quite at night,. We did have to turn the heat down because we are used to sleeping in a cooler room. Breakfast was deliscious and a large selection was available. I will be stayin there again for a weekend getaway.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank 717j0ank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, 3 February 2014
Thank you for your posting and Happy Birthday! The Hilton Providence is an ideal choice when coming to the area to see a play at the Providence Performing Arts Center. It is great to hear that the location worked well for you.

We are thrilled that you will be coming back, and that the Hilton Providence is your first choice for hotel accommodations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grantham, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
26 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2013

I would recommend The Hilton Providence as a hotel to stay while visiting family, friends or on business. The professional service and accommodations are excellent. It is a great location and the entire staff welcome you all the time as if you were family staying at their home.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank ANNSWER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toledo, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

i stayed for one night . however just a day after that my credit card was maxed out. someone used the information.... i was really surprised.... hotel was the last place i used it..... i am not sure if it was a safe place to use my card..... coz i dont use it everywhere.. otherwise the stay was ok

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank marina f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
We are sorry to hear that you had difficulty with your credit card. We have never had any issues with credit card theft at the hotel, and investigating the matter it appears that it did not occur at the hotel.

Please contact us immediately so we can discuss this further, and try to assist you with the information we have that shows only your room was charged.

Thank You,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013

We stayed at the Hilton Providence for a day while visiting the area. We arrived late, but the cab ride from the Amtrak station to the hotel was easy, and we were at the hotel within 10 minutes of arriving in the city. We were greeted by friendly reception staff and our bags were taken promptly up to our room on the Hilton Honors member floor.

We went for a swim in the indoor pool, and we appreciated big towels there which meant that we did not have to take down the bath towels from the room, but we felt that it would have been nicer had the water been warmer. There were no changing rooms, and we were glad we had put on swimming suits under our clothes before going down.

The hotel was within short walking distance of Federal Hill and we enjoyed a nice dinner at an Italian restaurant recommended by one of the reception staff.

There is a shuttle bus you can take to nearby areas, and upon checking out when we asked if there was one available, we were told that there'd be someone coming down within 10 minutes. A friendly elderly staff drove us back to the train station.

Highly recommended.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stelllla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Orange, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 December 2013

The room we had at the Providence Hilton fell short in many ways, No fridge or microwave in room, A 9.95 charge per day, per device for internet!! No Fan ( or drinking cups) in the bathroom. Hallway noise was loud. The restaurant , Shula's was very expensive, $8.00 for a slice of cake!, and no regular food to be found. Waited 5 minutes for a cup of coffee, and no they weren't busy at the time. Extremely unhappy with hotel, Paid $163.00 for room and parking, expected better. No more Hiltons for me. The staff was very helpful, just wish the amenities were also.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank rbsb87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, 4 February 2014
We are very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the hotel. We strive for excellence and your experience was definitely the exception rather than the rule. Thank your for sharing your feedback as we are continuously looking for ways to improve and exceed our guest expectations.

We have mnay refrigerators and microwaves avaialbe to our guest. We are sorry that you were unable to utilize them while you were here as we would have delivered them to your room. Our on-site restaurnat, Shula's 347 Grill, is on of the top Steakhouses in Rhode Island. Our desserts are outstanding, and I regret to hear you felt the price was too much for what we served.

We would welcome the opportunity to enroll you in our HHonors Loyatly program. This will allow you to accumulate points and miles when staying at any Hilton Branded hotel. Once you acheive Gold status you are entitled to perks such as free internet.

Please allow us the opportunity to host you again so that you can experience the quality and service so many of the Trip Advisor readers have shared.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Falmouth, Massachusetts, United States
Level Contributor
55 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2013

We were staying in Providence to visit our son. We chose this hotel because it was close to him and had gotten good reviews. It is very easy to get to. The staff is friendly and professional. The room and bath were very clean and the bed was very comfortable.We were able to walk to a nice restaurant on Federal Hill.As a tea drinker, I was happy to see they offer in room teas along with coffee.Highly recommend.Also nice view of the city.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#3 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 2,281 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Hotel Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Providence

Property: Hilton Providence
Address: 21 Atwells Ave, Providence, RI 02903-1027
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Providence
#2 Family Hotel in Providence
#6 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#6 Business Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Providence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton hotel is located in downtown Providence, Rhode Island. Enjoy the close proximity to Historic Federal Hill, Rhode Island Convention Center, and Providence Place Mall. Our Rosemoor Ballroom is the perfect setting for your upcoming wedding or event. Enjoy and explore Providence with ease during your stay at our hotel in Providence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK) and Hilton Hotels Direct so you can book your Hilton Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Providence Hotel Providence
Hilton Hotel Providence
Providence Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing