We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice friendly staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hilton Providence

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Providence
Ranked #8 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
silver spring, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Nice friendly staff”
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Good hotel, extremely friendly safe. They really take care of you. The Diamond experience was great. The breakfast manager was very good, friendly. Good location downtown. Near restaurants and theater Breakfast was good, they had healthy options. I enjoyed the shuttle service to train station.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Melissa P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for your posting and we appreciate the kind words about the staff. We are glad you enjoyed the hotel and service!

We look forwward to hosting you agian soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,119 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    475
    355
    191
    68
    30
See reviews for
260
249
66
407
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (126)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
549 reviews
168 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014 via mobile

The staff was ok. The location is ok. The room itself was average size. Some bulky furniture with a nice wide window seat. However when it is cold outside the window seat which is of granite is colder.

I would have rather to take the lounge chair out and put some cushions on the widow seat.

Nice bright window with tv that somewhat swivels.

Some of the doors get in the way, but it would do until I got hit on my knee.

The bathroom had ample space. The hotel close to a mall

Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank CecibelB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your expereince. While dissapointed to hear your stay has been just ok so far we hope that you enjoy the remainder of the time you are with us.

If there is anything we can do to accommodate you please contact us directly as we want you to leave with a great impression of the hotel and service.

Thank You,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Storrs, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

The location is quite central, between the downtown and Federal Hill. Stayed one night. The room was large, well equipped, and clear. The breakfast was included, the buffet was comprehensive, and the restaurant staff is very friendly. Parking is very convenient, either self or valet. Upon arrival around 4pm the check-in was unmanned and it took quite a few minutes to get someone. The lady was not very cordial... Lastly, this hotel has neither sauna nor executive lounge, so this is sub-par for Hilton. It is a decent hotel, but do not expect this hotel to be an exceptional Hilton.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Alexander S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, 27 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post your experience. It is great to hear you enjoyed the hotel location, rooms, and convenient parking. We appreciate your kinds words about our breakfast and staff.

Your experience upon arrival was definitlely the exception rather than the rule. We strive for service excellence, and staff our Front Desk 24 hours a day. While we do not have a sauna we do have a nice indoor heated pool, and excercise facility for all of our guest to enjoy.

Thank you for the feedback, and we look forward to hosting you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 13 March 2014

Stayed overnight at the Hilton in Providence with a few mothers and daughters. It was a great place, convenient to dinner, shopping and hockey arena! Rooms were clean and spacious! A friend noted how glad she was to receive both shampoo & conditioner in bath instead of the combo many hotels offer!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank MiltonFamily58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for the feedback. We are pleased that you and those traveling with you enjoyed your stay. Our service, and location are two of the many reasons the Hilton Providence is a popular hotel.

We look forward to hosting you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
conneticut
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2014

stayed weekend in providence r.i. at Hilton hotel right near dunkin center.Location is great but the hotel is over priced, rooms need updating,we even had to evacuate the motel, woken up by employee banging on door telling us to get out of building (which was like -5 degrees) the alarm went off 10 min. later, shouldn't that go off right away? thank goodness false alarm.with the high price of the room you even have to pay for wireless internet connection and self parking was even $25.next time I will look for better hotel in area.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ln3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Thank you for taking the time to complete a review. Our apologies for not having exceeded your expectations.

We take the safety and security of our guest very seriously. Unfortunately the fire alarm did sound off during your stay, and we did go to each room to insure the hotel was evacuated. We understand the temperature was extremely cold outside, but for the safety of our guest and per the local Fire Department it was necessary to evacuate the building. Upon investigating what transpired it was determined that an electrical line owned by the City of Providence located outside of the hotel, had shorted out and caused some smoke to enter the hotel.

We apologize for the inconvenience this caused, and want to assure you that this experience was the exception rather than the rule. We hope to have another opportunity to host you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
providence, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

Was lied to by parking employee, almost had my car towed, and then was expected to pay the hotel more money! I felt that this hotel had horrible customer service and I am very unhappy with my stay here.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Lily R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
douglas_koenig, General Manager at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Our apologies for your experience with the valet staff that was on duty during your stay. We have contacted the ownership group and management of the parkign facilities so that they are aware of what transpired.

We would welcome the opportunity to discuss this in greater detail with you. Please contact the hotel at your convenience as your experience was definitely the exception rather than the rule.

We look forward to hearing from you,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mashpee, United States
1 review
Reviewed 25 February 2014

I have stayed at this hotel 3 times and the first two times the experience was very positive. The third time was not. We had to move our room twice, once for a bathroom issue and the second due to a very noisy neighbor after midnight and we had three kids with us.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Vince D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
douglas_koenig, Owner at Hilton Providence, responded to this review, 3 March 2014
Thank you for sharing your experience. We thank you for having selected the Hilton Providence for your three previous visits to Downtown Providence.

Our apologies for the noise caused by the room next to you. We do have overnight security that adresses any issues that may arise.

We hope you give us another opportunity to host you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Omni Providence Hotel
#4 of 12 in Providence
2,356 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Hotel Providence
#6 of 12 in Providence
978 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Providence? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Providence

Property: Hilton Providence
Address: 21 Atwells Ave, Providence, RI 02903-1027
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence > Downtown Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Providence
#2 Family Hotel in Providence
#6 Business Hotel in Providence
#6 Romantic Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hilton Providence 3.5*
Number of rooms: 274
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our Hilton hotel is located in downtown Providence, Rhode Island. Enjoy the close proximity to Historic Federal Hill, Rhode Island Convention Center, and Providence Place Mall. Our Rosemoor Ballroom is the perfect setting for your upcoming wedding or event. Enjoy and explore Providence with ease during your stay at our hotel in Providence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Hilton Providence reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Providence Hotel Providence
Hilton Hotel Providence
Providence Hilton Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing