We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best place in Providence” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Omni Providence Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Omni Providence Hotel
Ranked #3 of 12 Hotels in Providence
Certificate of Excellence
Guatemala city, Guatemala
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best place in Providence”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Very Clean, Staff absolutely friendly, affordable price. Its location, with a direct connection to Providence Place, make it the perfect place for dinning, shopping and relaxing. It has a short walking to best restaurant in town and is close to airport. On weekend, the staff prepare a nice atmosphere in your room that inspire to relax in many ways.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Eduardo E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
provmgr, Manager at Omni Providence Hotel, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
We are glad you enjoyed your stay at the Omni Providence and found the location convenient. Thank you for reviewing our property on TripAdvisor and we hope for a future opportunity to welcome you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,286 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,177
    678
    266
    114
    51
See reviews for
524
437
70
1,032
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (234)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Quesada, Costa Rica
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

Overall very satisfied. I felt the front desk needs to be on it's toes and answer the phones more quickly. They didn't seem to have a hotel operator the weekend I was there. The phone rang a long time until they picked up. Also beware of the gratuity added automatically on room service. The waiter did not mention it. It was a rip off in that a plate of Wings and French Onion soup with all the charges cost us $32.00. This is outrageous to me. Other than that the basics were amazing --cleanliness, room comfort, noise level and bathroom. They could stand to get rid of the flourescent lighting in the bathroom-way too bright for my taste.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank redheadcostarica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

We selected this hotel as it appeared to be one of the finest hotels in Providence. While it was nice, it wasn't without a few things to note.

Checkin was smooth, although the car parking could be better marked. We went originally to the car park only to be told to go back to the valet. The car park attendant directed us to use a side lane which the valet wasn't happy with and made us reverse back down and go around the block a second time to get back to the entrance. 

Once we did make it to the entrance we checked in and we were assisted by a very helpful and knowledgable porter who showed us to our room. The room itself was average. It had clearly seen better days. While it was very clean, everything appeared somewhat worn - particularly the armchair. The air conditioning also ran all night despite turning it off. The bed was fine though, and all in all it was comfortable enough.

The lobby area of the hotel was well maintained, as were the facilities. The gym is very well appointed and staffed with an instructor. 

The second night we ordered a bottle of wine from room service. After being advised of a 30 minute wait, we were unsure whether to go ahead with it or not (after all it's wine, what takes 30 minutes!?). We kept the order, and sure enough it did take 30 minutes. The bill was ridiculous. In addition to the $42 for the wine we were charged a $3.50 service charge plus an automatic 20% gratuity. Aside from bringing the wine to the room, I'm not sure what we were paying $12 over and above the wine for... The bottle wasn't even opened for us. 

The next morning we checked out. The valet brought our car up, but did not provide any assistance with our baggage. In fact, 3 staff stood close by as we loaded 6 bags into the car. Needless to say no one got a tip.

Overall,this hotel is fine. The service is hit and miss, and there are parts of the hotel that are tired. We stayed in another Omni hotel a few nights later with a similar experience.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank agdcholiday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mattapoisett, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2013

We chose the Omni to host The Art of Placemaking conference because of it's location and amenities. We were not disappointed. The convention team was incredibly responsive to our every changing needs and always managed things with a smile and no worries attitude. The accommodations are first rate and the hotel staff friendly and professional. Can't beat the location either. We had a great experience at the Omni Providence and highly recommend it.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Upon arrival to the Omni hotel I was pleasantly surprised at the convenient location. There is a tunnel connecting the hotel to the Providence Mall, and plenty of parking . Unfortunately there was a very foul odor, almost like sewage in our room and there were DIRTY towels folded in the bathroom. Gross. I called to the front desk, which was a long wait for them to answer and they moved our room to another a few doors down. I wasn't really feeling very good about there "green" if it looks clean towel policy and made it very clear the next room must be spotless with CLEAN towels, I agreed to move because it was too late to get another hotel and the conference that I was attending was hosted here. The other room was okay...nothing that made me feel like it was any cleaner than the first(after you find dirty towels I guess there's no turning back). The hotel staff was friendly and the beds were pretty comfortable with the exception of the feather filled pillows. I would not recommend this hotel based on my experience and will not return.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank m00ny78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
provmgr, Manager at Omni Providence Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
It was disappointing for us to read that your stay at the Omni Providence did not meet your expectations. As evidenced by our many reviews, we do our best to provide our guests with exceptional stays and apologize that in your case, we missed the mark. If you return please let us know if you have any concerns so that we may immediately address them. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope for a future opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

Avoid room 1111. The bedroom area was fine. The bathroom is in dire need of a renovation and definitely NOT what I was expecting at an Omni Hotel. The green wallpaper is dirty, marked and torn, there are marks all over the ceiling. But most annoying - the water pressure in the shower is extremely low and the highest temperature was barely warm. I travel three weeks a month on business. An average Courtyard Marriott has a better bathroom.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
Thank Steven W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
provmgr, Manager at Omni Providence Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for reviewing your experience at our hotel at TripAdvisor. We are disappointed to read that your room was not as clean as you would have anticipated as we hold ourselves to housekeeping standards above the normal industry standard. If you return please let us know if you have any concerns so that we may immediately address them. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope for a future opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2013

The West wing of the hotel is old and lack of renovation to keep up the standard. It is overpriced for what it offers. Besides the room service staff who has a genuine wish to help, all others lack of a sense of good hospitality which is vital to a successful hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Omni Hotels & Resorts

Helpful?
1 Thank Lisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
provmgr, Manager at Omni Providence Hotel, responded to this review, 16 November 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review your experience at our hotel on TripAdvisor. It was disappointing for us to read that your stay at the Omni Providence did not meet your expectations. Since our purchased of the hotel earlier in the year we have invested into the property with additions to staffing in all departments and an increased focus on customer service. A full property renovation will take place in 2014 which will address any physical limitations in the building. Thank you again for your feedback and we hope for a future opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Providence hotels
Downtown Providence
Renaissance Providence Downtown Hotel
Downtown Providence
Hampton Inn & Suites Providence Downtown
Downtown Providence
Providence Biltmore, Curio Collection by Hilton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Providence
#8 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 955 reviews
Downtown Providence
Hilton Providence
Hilton Providence
#7 of 12 in Providence
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Omni Providence Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Omni Providence Hotel

Property: Omni Providence Hotel
Address: 1 West Exchange Street, Providence, RI 02903-1064 (Formerly The Westin Providence)
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Rhode Island > Providence
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Providence
#2 Luxury Hotel in Providence
#5 Family Hotel in Providence
#5 Business Hotel in Providence
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Omni Providence Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 564
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TravelUp and Odigeo so you can book your Omni Providence Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Providence Hotel Providence
Westin Providence
Providence Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing