We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (141)
Filter reviews
141 results
Traveller rating
104
34
1
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
104
34
1
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscoast guard stationstate parkstation housefull kitchencampobello islandquoddy headwashington roomlight houselife saving stationhead lightworking lightwalking trailsrescue stationthe main houseeastern pointshort drivewest quoddy
Filter
Updating list...
91 - 96 of 141 reviews
Reviewed 27 December 2012

We spent 4 nights at the West Quoddy Head Light Station in September, 2012. This was one of the nicest places we have ever stayed and what a value for your tourist dollar! We stayed in the Washington room in the lodge. It was simply and comfortably furnished with spectacular views of the ocean, sunrise and sunset, and the off-season price of $95 was a STEAL! The kitchen comes well equipped and the room has a fantastic room heater for cool nights. Quoddy Head is a short ride to Lubec which is a charming little town. This is a very quiet, untouristy part of Maine and well worth the extra drive time. There are also wonderful,easy hiking trails from the Quoddy Head Light House. Highly, highly recommended!

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MiMi58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 November 2012

Got there during a rain storm but were glad to go inside the keeper's cottage and enjoy the warmth. Great lighthouses to see in several locations and the quaint village itself on the cusp of Canada. Fantastic hiking and night time visits to the coast. We will return one day for sure.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 October 2012

I'm not sure why the owners call this a B&B... the only breakfasts we found there were the ones we made ourselves. Come prepared. The closest grocery is in Lubec. Otherwise, it's an offbeat, interesting, and simple place to stay in a lovely area. It's more like a personalized and woodsy summer camp.

We called them only a week before we came, so we were lucky to get a room. We stayed first in the Keepers Cottage cabin and, when we extended our stay for a night, in a ground floor room in the lodge. The cabin was wonderful -- kitchen, space, a small patio overlooking a slope to the bay. The lodge room had partial views of the bay and felt cramped after the larger cabin. Both spaces were clean and adequately, if sparsely, equipped.

The defining value of the place is location, location, location...it's the only place to stay in the immediate area, it's quiet, and at night, if it's clear, the sky is filled with stars. If it's foggy, the mornings are silver and haunted by the foghorns and bells out in the bay. It's in easy walking distance of the West Quoddy State Park and a somewhat longer hike to the Lighthouse (reviewed separately). Our hostess -- I cannot for the life of me find her name -- was a friendly local who also ran the museum at the West Quoddy light and shared some of the history of the state park across the road.

Don't miss the Easternmost Gift Shop down the road --the next driveway west. It has an interesting mix of the banal and the unique, and much of its inventory is locally made. Check out the West Quoddy light bird feeders and the small textiles -- I saw nothing like them in other shops. Lubec itself, about a 30-minute drive, has some local industries and crafts, and two -- yes, two -- chocolatiers. I recommend you try both.

Room Tip: The cabin is quieter. I suspect the second floor of the lodge would have better views, though it would less accessible, than our room on the ground floor.
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank edandl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 September 2012

My husband and I just stayed at West Quoddy Head Light Station. While the drive from Vermont there was long, our Keeper's Cotage accommodations was the most welcoming site. Bill, our host, was gracious and was able to answer all of our questions and direct us to what we were looking for. Our primary reason for the trip was to see lighthouses -- Maine Open Lighthouse Day, and we were not disappointed. West Quoddy light was lovely. We spent Friday on Campobello Island and loved seeing the Mulholland Point Light, the Roosevelt Cottage and, expecially, the East Quoddy light -- where we were able to walk across the ocean floor and up and down a couple of flights of stairs and across a walking bridge to actually get out to the light which has been beautifully restored. We saw eagles, turkeys, whales, seals and dolphins around the area. Unfortunately, we left a day early -- mainly due to the very long drive home. If you truly want to get away from the hustle and bustle of life, this is the place to be. It is so quiet, and the sound of the fog horn in the distance lulls you to sleep. The sunrise we saw was very nice, and I'm sure we would have seen a lot of them if we had stayed longer. The fog in the area made for some really get pictures . . . and there are plenty of photo opportunities.

Room Tip: We stayed in the Keeper's Cottage . . . it is very cozy. The bed in the first bed room was a bit stiff, but still comfy. The kitchen had everything you need. Bathroom was also very nice. Great unit for party of two although you could sleep four. The living/dining room is small, but you don't notice it as you are out and about the area all day.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robandmarianne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2012

My husband and I were encouraged to visit the Eastern most point in the USA and found this spot a perfect getaway. We stayed in the "Keeper's Cottage" which has been newly built and kept to the exact specifications of the original keepers cottage. It has 2 bedrooms a small beautiful kitchen, living room/dining room and bathroom of course with fantastic views of the bay. This little cottage is very private as well. Lots to do in the area ie, whale watching, light house viewing, hiking and of course a trip to Campobello which is the home of FDR s family summer home and gardens. This is truly a hidden gem!

Room Tip: The keepers cottage is probably the most private.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DandMRidgefield_CT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews