We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation but we can search other options in Lubec
See available hotels
Nearby Hotels
Motel East(Eastport)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Todd House(Eastport)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Machias River Inn(Machias)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boidi Motel(Baileyville)
View Hotel
Bluebird Motel(Machias)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
251
17
3
0
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
251
17
3
0
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsb bother guestscampobello islandcommon areasdelicious breakfastdutch babysea glasssun roomturkey sausagecaptain's cabinfirst floorbaby grand pianowell stocked libraryliving roomgreat hoststravels bringtoilet and shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
212 - 217 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 10 July 2012

This is a great place to stay in Lubec. The building is lovely and is extremely well maintained. Our room was large and comfortable. I don't think there is air conditioning, but there was an excellent ceiling fan over the bed, and the room was comfortable even though the weather was warm. There is no elevator, so you may need to carry your luggage up the stairs. Dennis was very helpful with this. The breakfast is very good. Sue is a delightful hostess, and can give very useful information about where to eat. Lubec is very near Canada, and apparently cell phones have a tendency to sometimes pick up a Canadian signal. Sometimes they pick up no signal at all. We were well advised to turn off our cell phones (or at least turn off cellular and/or roaming on the phone) to avoid nasty surprises on the cell phone bill. We were also advised that the cell phone is not good as an alarm clock there, because it may jump an hour if it picks up a Canadian signal. Mine did jump an hour; I ended up turning it off. The Inn has wifi.
We really enjoyed our stay here, and would definitely stay again if in this area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sullysd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2012

For a relaxing time in Lubec this is a great stay. There's not much in town in the way of things to do, but if you're looking for a quiet time this is a good pick. The innkeepers are very knowledgeable and the family style breakfast was very good. The hardwood floors can make the room a little noisy if there's a crowd in the common areas having a loud conversation.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank iamdoctorwho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 June 2012

We booked the Peacock House based on previous reviews and had high expectations when we arrived. The comfortable home and gardens are as immaculate as described by others, and Sue and Dennis are truly exceptional hosts. We stayed in the Summer room, which looks exactly like the photos posted. The room was quiet and comfortable and the breakfast delicious. We have stayed in many B and Bs and Peacock House ranks among the VERY best.

The little village is charming, and we are glad we followed the road less traveled. We took the short ferry ride from Letete, New Brunswick to Deer Island followed by a ferry to Campobello and then a drive across the bridge to reach Lubec. The ferry trips were easy, enjoyable and right on schedule. We visited FDRs summer "cottage" on Campebello and appreciated the well informed guides and free admission. We also drove north on the island and photographed the largest bald eagle we've ever seen as he perched in a tree near the lighthouse. It was a great spot to spend a couple of hours.

As far as activities in Lubec, there are a few shops and restaurants right in town. The evening we were there, not all the restaurants were open. We chose Cohills for its good tap beers and based on a recommendation from our hosts. The food and service were quite good with a nice view of the water. There are plenty of places to wander in and around Lubec and we wish our schedule had allowed us the opportunity to stay for more than a night.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank KandCtravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2012

After traveling down during the day from Nova Scotia, we were welcomed by name on the doorstep. Sue and Dennis are the perfect hosts and we were made to feel like returning friends rather than meeting for the first time. The house is lovely, immaculately kept and the hosts do everything to make sure you are comefortable.

Lubec is a wonderful spot for a stay away from the rat-race, quiet and peaceful in a beautiful setting. Just across the brigade (and the border) is FDR's holiday home on Campobello Island, well worth a visit.

All in all, the perfect spot.

Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
1  Thank otbc_oz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2012

We love B & Bs and this is, without a doubt, one of the very best in every way!! Sue and Dennis are fantastic - charming,interesting and helpful. The home is beautifully decorated and looks as if it had been decorated the day before.....it was immaculate and beautiful. We met two wonderful couples who were also staying at the Peacock House. What fun was that and would that happen at a hotel/motel? I do not think so. A bonus!!! The breakfast....what can I say. They served a Dutch Baby pancake with syrup and bananas, a muffin and fruit cup. I did everything but lick my plate. Lubeck is a perfect location if you are visiting Campobello Island or New Brunswick or if you just want to have a relaxing and fun experience. Peacock House is worth going out of your way to visit. I would definitely recommend it and hope my husband and I will be able to return.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IllinoisTravelqueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews