We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B with excellent food and hospitality.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Surprisingly great B&B within an old town with great views and outdoor activities. The owners Dennis and Sue were gracious and welcoming. They provided fine food, interesting conversations, and opened most of their beautiful rooms for their guests.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Maineville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (271)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 190 of 271 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at The Peacock House on our recent trip to Lubec, Maine. What a wonderful experience for our first stay at a Bed & Breakfast. Sue and Dennis were excellent hosts, so friendly and welcoming and have a real desire to make sure your stay is perfect! The house is beautiful and the room was everything we were hoping for and more. Breakfast was delicious and the price very reasonable. As I was talking with Sue and Dennis, they talked about having many people stay with them year after year...which is no surprise to me because they really make you feel like you are part of their home. Thank you for your hospitality!!!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brandiebarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We came through from Canada to coastal Maine without any booking for night-time "shelter" and arrived in Lubec in fog/mist with everything looking closed up awaiting summer. But no, Sue and Dennis had a small light on in Peacock House, and on opening the door we found a warm welcome, and a fantastic host and hostess. We had the spacious Margaret Chase Smith Room, commemorating the first woman Senator in the US...a fearless woman, who refused to be called a feminist as she considered herself first and foremost a human being. Hurrah for that! There was a slim volume in the room for guests to read, possibly sitting on one of the two easy (rocking) chairs. But you did not need to sit alone upstairs. there is a sunroom where hot drinks are available, a lounge where folk can congregate, and a library full of interesting books. The unpretentious knowledge and enthusiasm of your hostess, Sue, for reading, and the literature she has enjoyed, are infectious, and you can talk the sun round discussing Kafka, Scot-Fitzgerald and Charlotte Bronte with her. I have met another Trollope fan who would like to alter the ending of "The Small House at Allington"! Your guests know how to make you feel comfortable, and help to socialise with others if that is you way. They keep a spotlessly clean house and care that their guests enjoy their stay. We left, after a light breakfast, with one regret: that we did not get up to see the sun rise over the water. Apparently on occasion you can get the famous "green sky effect". This is the most easterly point in the US. Having seen the sun set over the Egg and Rhum from the Ardnamurchan Peninsular, the most westerly point of the British Isles in Scotland, it would have been perfect to see it rise where the two land split away millions of years ago. Another time maybe.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wyntyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We are seasoned visitors to Maine, and have enjoyed discovering many of the coastal communities over the past ten years, but had never made it up to the Bold Coast until this trip. Lubec is the real coastal Maine and the Peacock House is everything a B&B should be.

The hosts Dennis and Sue are gracious and welcoming; you can see that the inn is their pride and joy and they genuinely want you to enjoy it. The surroundings are immaculate and tastefully decorated. They have anticipated every guest need and the common areas are relaxing and comfortable. We sat outside on the deck with a drink and enjoyed their beautiful garden.

We stayed in the Peacock suite which was spacious, light, airy, private and comfortable. It had a full bath plus a sink and small refrigerator in the room. Breakfast was delicious - there are two sittings and we enjoyed chatting with the other guests. Easy parking right out front. Lubec is delightful - a small, unspoiled village. Dining options were good though - we ate at Frank's Dockside and at Cohill's, the pub. Both were excellent but be prepared to eat early (6pm!) even on a weekend.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MortonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Friends we talked to asked why we would go to Lubec, Maine. My response would be its well worth the drive up the coast. The Peacock Bed and Breakfast just made the trip that much more special. What a find. Not only were their rates extremely reasonable, but the place was just great in every way. Comfortable and clean room, wonderful breakfasts and our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful with places to eat, directions and things to do. Two night was not enough to see everything and enjoy the area. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

We stayed for three nights in the Seaglass Suite which we totally enjoyed. The owners Sue and Dennis have a very beautiful and meticulously kept inn. Their home is so warm and welcoming from the minute you walk in the door until you leave. Dennis makes wonderful breakfasts(different every am). We enjoyed chatting with other guests and Sue always had such interesting conversation . Both she and Dennis have an outstanding inn. You will be extremely pleased-no question for the Lubec area-The Peacock delivers.

Room Tip: We loved the Seaglass suite-very spacious,private, and has its own off street parking and entrance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank redfishFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2012

The Peacock House in Lubec, Maine is a great place to stay while visiting Roosevelt Campobello International Park in Canada. Campobello is a little over two miles from the B&B. The Innkeepers do everything to make you feel at home. The rooms are very comfortable and the breakfast is excellent. We only stayed one short night, but would definitely stay there again if the occasion arises.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank adventurer1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
20.6 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
102 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
3.2 mi away
West Quoddy Head Station
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
23.7 mi away
Margaretta Inn
Margaretta Inn
#1 of 3 in Machias
346 reviews
24.8 mi away
Machias River Inn
Machias River Inn
#2 of 3 in Machias
252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 27 Summer St, Lubec, ME 04652-1134
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range: £79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacock House offers gracious accommodations in the easternmost town in the US. The inn, built in 1860 has seven well-appointed suites (with king beds) and standard-sized rooms (with queen beds), all with private bath. Also enjoy four common rooms downstairs where you can mingle with guests, or find a cozy corner to relax. The inn is the ideal place for couples and girlfriends get-aways. Located by the Bay of Fundy, see the rugged coast with 20 foot tides, explore renowned hiking trails , and visit nearby beaches and lighthouses . Whales, seals and bald eagles frequent the area. Campobello Island, the summer home of Franklin Roosevelt is less than three miles from the inn. Peacock House is located within the village of Lubec, within easy walking distance of the local restaurants. A full breakfast is included with your stay and is created to please the eye and palate. Visit Peacock House and see why tripadvisor reviewers have given it the highest rating in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing