We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Perfect B&B”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Richmond, California
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Perfect B&B”
Reviewed 24 June 2013

This is a great B&B. It is thoughtfully cared for, clean, and very inviting. Sue and Dennis, the owners, are perfect hosts. They seem to care about their inn, the town, and their guests. The breakfasts, cooked by Dennis, are wonderful. Our room was the Peacock Suite which has a small refrigerator. It is large, airy, clean, and tastefully decorated. Everything about our 3 night stay was there was great. If you find yourself in Lubec, Maine, don't stay anywhere else.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucyck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

242 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    227
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
179
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (65)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Houston, Texas
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 June 2013

Beautiful inn in a quintessential New England neighborhood with white-steepled churches nearby. It was great talking with Sue and Dennis served up a wonderful breakfast. There is a large living room with fireplace, sunroom and my room had been renovated very tastefully. The bed was comfortable, and everything was clean. I was fortunate to visit early in the season and had the place to myself. A great stepping off point to visit Campobello, the summer home of President Franklin D. Roosevelt, just walk around town, or visit nearby areas. Sue and Dennis are the ultimate hosts and I highly recommend Peacock House as a stop in your travels through eastern Maine.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Serengeti07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2013 via mobile

Surprisingly great B&B within an old town with great views and outdoor activities. The owners Dennis and Sue were gracious and welcoming. They provided fine food, interesting conversations, and opened most of their beautiful rooms for their guests.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maineville
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lindsborg, Kansas
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2013

We stayed at The Peacock House on our recent trip to Lubec, Maine. What a wonderful experience for our first stay at a Bed & Breakfast. Sue and Dennis were excellent hosts, so friendly and welcoming and have a real desire to make sure your stay is perfect! The house is beautiful and the room was everything we were hoping for and more. Breakfast was delicious and the price very reasonable. As I was talking with Sue and Dennis, they talked about having many people stay with them year after year...which is no surprise to me because they really make you feel like you are part of their home. Thank you for your hospitality!!!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank brandiebarker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 6 Contributor
336 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2013

We came through from Canada to coastal Maine without any booking for night-time "shelter" and arrived in Lubec in fog/mist with everything looking closed up awaiting summer. But no, Sue and Dennis had a small light on in Peacock House, and on opening the door we found a warm welcome, and a fantastic host and hostess. We had the spacious Margaret Chase Smith Room, commemorating the first woman Senator in the US...a fearless woman, who refused to be called a feminist as she considered herself first and foremost a human being. Hurrah for that! There was a slim volume in the room for guests to read, possibly sitting on one of the two easy (rocking) chairs. But you did not need to sit alone upstairs. there is a sunroom where hot drinks are available, a lounge where folk can congregate, and a library full of interesting books. The unpretentious knowledge and enthusiasm of your hostess, Sue, for reading, and the literature she has enjoyed, are infectious, and you can talk the sun round discussing Kafka, Scot-Fitzgerald and Charlotte Bronte with her. I have met another Trollope fan who would like to alter the ending of "The Small House at Allington"! Your guests know how to make you feel comfortable, and help to socialise with others if that is you way. They keep a spotlessly clean house and care that their guests enjoy their stay. We left, after a light breakfast, with one regret: that we did not get up to see the sun rise over the water. Apparently on occasion you can get the famous "green sky effect". This is the most easterly point in the US. Having seen the sun set over the Egg and Rhum from the Ardnamurchan Peninsular, the most westerly point of the British Isles in Scotland, it would have been perfect to see it rise where the two land split away millions of years ago. Another time maybe.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wyntyll
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh, UK
Level 6 Contributor
61 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2013

We are seasoned visitors to Maine, and have enjoyed discovering many of the coastal communities over the past ten years, but had never made it up to the Bold Coast until this trip. Lubec is the real coastal Maine and the Peacock House is everything a B&B should be.

The hosts Dennis and Sue are gracious and welcoming; you can see that the inn is their pride and joy and they genuinely want you to enjoy it. The surroundings are immaculate and tastefully decorated. They have anticipated every guest need and the common areas are relaxing and comfortable. We sat outside on the deck with a drink and enjoyed their beautiful garden.

We stayed in the Peacock suite which was spacious, light, airy, private and comfortable. It had a full bath plus a sink and small refrigerator in the room. Breakfast was delicious - there are two sittings and we enjoyed chatting with the other guests. Easy parking right out front. Lubec is delightful - a small, unspoiled village. Dining options were good though - we ate at Frank's Dockside and at Cohill's, the pub. Both were excellent but be prepared to eat early (6pm!) even on a weekend.

Wouldn't hesitate to stay here again and would thoroughly recommend.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MortonFan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gettysburg, Pennsylvania
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 January 2013

Friends we talked to asked why we would go to Lubec, Maine. My response would be its well worth the drive up the coast. The Peacock Bed and Breakfast just made the trip that much more special. What a find. Not only were their rates extremely reasonable, but the place was just great in every way. Comfortable and clean room, wonderful breakfasts and our hosts were extremely friendly and helpful with places to eat, directions and things to do. Two night was not enough to see everything and enjoy the area. We would definitely return.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
18.6 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
275 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
15.7 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.8 mi away
Machias River Inn
Machias River Inn
#2 of 3 in Machias
235 reviews
13.3 mi away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 6 in Grand Manan
48 reviews
10.1 mi away
Deer Island Inn
Deer Island Inn
#1 of 3 in Deer Island
23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 27 Summer St, Lubec, ME 04652-1134
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing