We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wish We Had a 5 Star Stay” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peacock House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
“Wish We Had a 5 Star Stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 March 2014

My wife and I were coming back from Nova Scotia and decided to stay here over night as the midway point because of all the rave reviews.

We arrived at around 10:30 at night (we had a slight Garmin mishap, adding three hours more travel time on). They were awake, and very welcoming.

They helped us bring our bags in, which was nice. Then I asked for some ice for my wife's medication and food. I was told that I couldn't have a lot of ice, because other's may need some...REALLY? At 11PM? Who else is going to need ice at that hour? I pressed them for more, because we needed it, not because we just wanted it. They threw a bit of a tantrum and eventually caved.

That evening we also discussed the breakfast they had planned for us. The package of mix said "Gluten Free" on it; that's fine, but there was some grain in it that can have gluten in it and my wife was not willing to take the chance and eat it. My wife pointed it out and they argued that it says GF on it...so it has to be GF...well, there are different levels of gluten sensitivity and even though something says GF it may still set off the allergy.

The next day there was still tension in the air and we couldn't wait to depart for home. I would not recommend this Inn at all. I feel that the owners didn't put their best foot forward for understanding and service.

The room was small, the queen bed left a few feet on each side to walk. There was barely enough room to lay our luggage down and open it up. The sink is in the room. The bathroom is tiny and the shower was tight for my frame.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank onebigfellah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
174
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ingonish
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Peacock House B & B in late October 2013. Our visit was exceptional. Sue and Dennis were great hosts who would do anything for you. Both were very engaging and Sue has a great sense of humour. Dennis cooks the breakfast and it was fabulous. My wife and I would highly reccommend Peacock House to anyone who happens to be in or around Lubec
,Maine. Keep up the good work Sue and Dennis.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2013

Ever go to a place where everything is .... well, just right. If not, just stop at the Peacock House & you'll know what just right feels like. We stayed in the Peacock room. The chairs were just where you want to sit; the lights are right where you need them; the mattress not too hard or soft; the electric outlets, the recessed lights, the fireplace ... all just right.

Clean ... no, spotless. The tile in the bathroom seemed to sparkled.

Breakfast was very well done and accompanied by a very pleasant chat with Sue the owner who had no trouble keeping us all interested.

It was a true pleasure to have spent the night there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxramxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hampton, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We try to stay at Bed and Breakfasts when we travel and Peacock House is one of the best we've ever stayed at. We went to Lubec to be close to Campobello - we weren't expecting much in so small a town and were delighted to find such a lovely place to stay. Everything was perfect - the room, the ambience, the breakfast, the hosts. Not only was the room beautiful but there were also beautiful, comfortable and inviting downstairs rooms that we were invited to use. And the location was perfect - restaurants were within walking distance and the bridge to Campobello was minutes away. We had a delightful stay and most highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coatesville, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

We stayed at this quaint bed and breakfast on our recent trip to Maine. We wanted to stay in Lubec because it is the easternmost town in the US. What a nice surprise the Peacock House is! Our room was beautiful and quiet. We had our own parking spot with the Seaglass Suite. And the breakfasts! Freshly cooked gourmet breakfast every morning! It was so much fun eating at the large dining room table with the other guests and Sue and Dennis Baker. The community areas are well appointed and it is an easy walk to downtown Lubec's restaurants and sites. Even the bridge to Campobello Island is right in Lubec! A perfect place to stay!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sadsack2973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Collins, Colorado
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2013

Just want to second what everyone else has said: this place is wonderful! It's very obvious that Sue and Dennis love being innkeepers and have long ago worked out all the kinks. We stayed three nights. Every breakfast was absolutely delicious, and our room was kept spotless. The system here of scheduling breakfasts at set times (7:30 and 8:30) and seating everyone at a single table to converse and socialize works much better, in our opinion, than simply having people drop down for breakfast when they're ready, and eating at individual tables. Sue and Dennis love interacting with people, and Sue is a master at getting everyone acquainted and keeping the conversation going. Everything about the experience was just perfect.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesRevier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE England
Level Contributor
136 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2013

We have just enjoyed a long trip in the US with days in NY & Boston followed by a road trip up the main coast ... we stayed in a lot of good places but this was by far the best, you could not fault it in any way. Sue and Dennis are a great double act and have put a lot of thought into what the customer wants and how to interact with them... a truly class act

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 48Fred48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
20.6 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
15.7 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.3 mi away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 5 in Grand Manan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
16.7 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in Saint Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
13.3 mi away
Marathon Inn
Marathon Inn
#1 of 1 in North Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 27 Summer St, Lubec, ME 04652-1134
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing