We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Worth the trip to Lubec just to stay here!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palm City, Florida
Level Contributor
129 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
“Worth the trip to Lubec just to stay here!”
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Read through some of the 115 five star reviews, and you will quickly see a pattern. Sue and Dennis are superlative innkeepers in many ways! They are genuine, very conversant and helpful, and they keep one of the cleanest B & B's in the universe. Spend a night or two there, and you will feel like they have been lifelong friends. It all began as we drove up and saw Sue standing on the porch steps waving and welcoming us by name. The inn is stunningly, expertly, and lovingly maintained and decorated with beautiful furnishings, pictures, moulding, trim, wallpapers, patterns. There is so much attention to detail that I hardly knew where to look first. There are multiple public rooms for guests' use, but somehow we always ended up in the light and airy sunroom. Dennis is a breakfast culinary expert, and we enjoyed every bit of every breakfast that he prepared.
We stayed in the Peacock Suite. There is so much room that we could live in the spacious Peacock Suite! There is a wet bar with sink and refrigerator, a working gas fireplace, and a built-in alcove desk. The lighting throughout the inn surpasses many B & B's, with high hat lighting in addition to table and floor lamps. There are also plenty of electrical outlets to charge all our gadgets. Beautiful quilts and throws abound throughout the suite. I appreciated the oversized Kohler pedestal sink in the bath that had room to keep toiletries right on the sink, unlike most other pedestal sinks. There was a hair dryer and thick, large white towels. I liked the combination of brown wall tile and blue painted walls in the bath. There were night lights to help with the step down into the suite. My next comment is simply an expression of a preference. We would have preferred a king size bed than a queen, and black-out blinds would have helped to diminish the 4 am sunrise light.
Without any hesitation, we recommend and suggest that you stay with Sue and Dennis if your travels take you to Lubec. It is a tiny, interesting town that represents true Maine life. We enjoyed Campobello island and the Quoddy lighthouse. Be sure to have tea with Eleanor if you tour the Campobello compound. The guides are informative, friendly, and extremely knowledgeable about the Roosevelt family and the history of Campobello island. We took several enjoyable hikes during our stay. We ate at two local restaurants suggested by Sue; we liked walking to and from them, as well as traversing on all the streets looking at the architecture of other homes. I have written separate restaurant reviews on Trip Advisor. It was interesting to learn about the Summer Keys program from Sue.
Thank you, Sue and Dennis, for a beautiful experience in Lubec! We followed through with your suggestions of things to see and do as we drove from Lubec to Belfast. Roosters was a great tip!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Patricia316
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
174
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Topsham, Maine
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 May 2014

My husband & I planned this as a relaxing get-a-way and as a springboard location to access Campobello Island for our first visit there. We have enjoyed many B & Bs but this stay outshone all our other stays! We won't be the first to say "Sue & Dennis were such genuine and great hosts who would do anything for you" from helping with our luggage to offering brochures of the area attractions to providing wine glasses and a resting spot for our traveling ice pack and pointing us to area restaurants...We had not expected the degree of exceptionally warm & welcoming hospitality offered. Their home is tastefully furnished, clean as a whistle, with spacious common areas. Their breakfasts were uniquely delicious in a comfortable and very attractive setting. Both of us have said we'd like to return to Lubec just so we could stay at Peacock House B & B:-)

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickers925
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, Virginia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2014

Traveling off season, we did not make reservations. Normally I believe one would need reservations to stay here. The inn is very nice with an interesting couple as owners as well as interesting guests from a wide range of places across the globe. The inn is very clean, breakfast was excellent, and the room was very nice. Also the recommendations of the owners regarding sights in the area, etc. were very helpful. The community family room after dinner when we were there was a setting for guest conversations, it was truly a pleasure to interact with the owners and the guests. A very interesting mix of people. We will definitely return in the future when next in the area. Lubec is very close to the border crossing to Campobello, so it was an excellent location to permit a visit the next day to Campobello Island and the Roosevelt cottage.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GreyGhost007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
73 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 March 2014

My wife and I were coming back from Nova Scotia and decided to stay here over night as the midway point because of all the rave reviews.

We arrived at around 10:30 at night (we had a slight Garmin mishap, adding three hours more travel time on). They were awake, and very welcoming.

They helped us bring our bags in, which was nice. Then I asked for some ice for my wife's medication and food. I was told that I couldn't have a lot of ice, because other's may need some...REALLY? At 11PM? Who else is going to need ice at that hour? I pressed them for more, because we needed it, not because we just wanted it. They threw a bit of a tantrum and eventually caved.

That evening we also discussed the breakfast they had planned for us. The package of mix said "Gluten Free" on it; that's fine, but there was some grain in it that can have gluten in it and my wife was not willing to take the chance and eat it. My wife pointed it out and they argued that it says GF on it...so it has to be GF...well, there are different levels of gluten sensitivity and even though something says GF it may still set off the allergy.

The next day there was still tension in the air and we couldn't wait to depart for home. I would not recommend this Inn at all. I feel that the owners didn't put their best foot forward for understanding and service.

The room was small, the queen bed left a few feet on each side to walk. There was barely enough room to lay our luggage down and open it up. The sink is in the room. The bathroom is tiny and the shower was tight for my frame.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank onebigfellah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingonish
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 November 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Peacock House B & B in late October 2013. Our visit was exceptional. Sue and Dennis were great hosts who would do anything for you. Both were very engaging and Sue has a great sense of humour. Dennis cooks the breakfast and it was fabulous. My wife and I would highly reccommend Peacock House to anyone who happens to be in or around Lubec
,Maine. Keep up the good work Sue and Dennis.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Christopher G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 October 2013

Ever go to a place where everything is .... well, just right. If not, just stop at the Peacock House & you'll know what just right feels like. We stayed in the Peacock room. The chairs were just where you want to sit; the lights are right where you need them; the mattress not too hard or soft; the electric outlets, the recessed lights, the fireplace ... all just right.

Clean ... no, spotless. The tile in the bathroom seemed to sparkled.

Breakfast was very well done and accompanied by a very pleasant chat with Sue the owner who had no trouble keeping us all interested.

It was a true pleasure to have spent the night there.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank xxramxx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Hampton, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed 16 October 2013

We try to stay at Bed and Breakfasts when we travel and Peacock House is one of the best we've ever stayed at. We went to Lubec to be close to Campobello - we weren't expecting much in so small a town and were delighted to find such a lovely place to stay. Everything was perfect - the room, the ambience, the breakfast, the hosts. Not only was the room beautiful but there were also beautiful, comfortable and inviting downstairs rooms that we were invited to use. And the location was perfect - restaurants were within walking distance and the bridge to Campobello was minutes away. We had a delightful stay and most highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Estelle G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
0.3 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
15.7 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
13.3 mi away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 5 in Grand Manan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in Saint Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 241 reviews
3.2 mi away
West Quoddy Head Station
24.8 mi away
Machias River Inn
Machias River Inn
#2 of 3 in Machias
4.0 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 27 Summer St, Lubec, ME 04652-1134
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing