We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fabulous Place to Stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Peacock House Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fabulous Place to Stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 October 2008

If you are looking for a quiet and relaxing place to stay, the Peacock House is the place. The owners, Sue and Dennis, are fantastic people. They were extremely attentive to their guests and their needs, provided great information about Lubec and the surrounding areas and are quite the historians. It was great talking to both of them before we set out for the day and at night before we retired for the evening.

We spent 3 nights in the clean and spacious Meadow room on the 1st floor; consisting of 2 rooms and a private bath. The bedroom was bright and cheery, nicely decorated and the king size bed was was extremely comfortable. It had a TV, VCR and radio for your entertainment, if you chose to use them, and WiFi capabilities if you brought your laptop. The outer room was off the private bath and contained a sitting chair and a nice, mirrored counter area. This room had it's own private entrance near the room entrance which was a nice added feature.

The two common sitting areas of the house were comfortable and inviting. There was a fireplace, piano and television in one area and a library in the other, both available to the guests. Coffee and tea were available throughout the day. The grounds were nicely kept.

The breakfasts were fabulous! Dennis made some delicious dishes. It was hard to wait until the next morning to see what would show up on the table for breakfast. Sue attended to the guests while Dennis was cooking up his master pieces; quiche, muffins, fruit dishes, etc.. Everything was delicious and pleasing to the tastebuds. Sue and Dennis planned the meals so that we, and the other guests, did not experience the same dishes during our stays. It was wonderful.

By the end of our stay, it was hard to say good bye to Sue and Dennis. They made us feel more like friends than guests in their establishment. It was a nice and comfortable feeling. We will definitely be back when we visit Maine and will refer family and friends as well.

Thank you, Sue and Dennis, for a fabulous experience at the Peacock House. We loved all of it! Take care and much continued success with the B&B.

Karen & Dale
Windsor, CA

  • Liked — Everything were perfect
  • Disliked — Everything was great...I wish we could have stayed longer
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank k2d2California
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    220
    12
    3
    0
    0
See reviews for
21
174
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (62)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Pembroke PInes, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2008

We just returned from a week on the Maine coast which basically started in Lubec for two nights. We found the Peacock House from guide books and Tripadvisor.
This property is absolutely the BEST. It is by far, the nicest bed and breakfast in which we have stayed. Our room, the Peacock Suite, was spacious, immaculate, modern (with beautiful, classy touches), a gas fireplace, and 4 poster queen for a very reasonable $132. The proprietors, Sue and Dennis, could not have been more helpful or attentive. Everything about this property is first class - including the other guests who were very delightful.
Sue prepared very nice breakfasts every morning which included fresh fruit, muffins, eggs or specialty pancakes, wonderful coffee.
My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our stay at the Peacock House and would highly recommend it. It was a wonderful start to a great week in Maine.

  • Liked — absolutely everything.
  • Disliked — This was a perfect bed and breakfast.
  • Stayed September 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank annier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arlington
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 July 2008

Here's an undiscovered treasure, six hours north of Boston.

On one level, Lubec is the middle of nowhere. Get to Lubec after 8:00 p.m. and the restaurants are closed. The middle of nowhere, however, has its advantages. If you are on the little peninsula that is the center of town, it's almost impossible not to have a harbor view. In the summer, you can escape to cool breezes from the bay. And the bay. This is one of the most beautiful places on earth.

The Peacock House is the perfect place to stay in Lubec. It's a lovingly restored little inn. The public rooms are inviting, and the innkeepers (and cat) make you feel welcome. They encourage sitting and chatting in the living room and the sunroom. The communal breakfast is delicious.

The bedrooms are on the small side, but you're eyes are closed and you're sleeping soundly in this peaceful environment. Wake up to the most beautiful views outside your window.

  • Liked — Friendly, warm, comfortable atmosphere.
  • Stayed July 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Pablo02475
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Massachusetts
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2008

We stayed at the Peacock House because we wanted a nice place to stay for the night before going to Campobello Island the next day on our journey north to PEI. What a gem we found! When we arrived late in the evening (as arranged), Sue met us on the front steps, as she'd been looking out for us (knowing we'd be arriving somewhat late, she advised us to eat on the road, as everything in Lubec closes by 8:00 p.m. - we might have gone hungry without this info). As she showed us around the house and common areas, we were very impressed with the comfortable, attractive spaces. They also have free high-speed wifi, and we took notice of how fast the connection was - we had thought we were in the boondocks, and didn't expect much. We didn't have cell phone reception, though, and Sue advised us to turn off our phones so we wouldn't inadvertently pick up a signal from a Canadian tower and get hit with expensive roaming fees.

We stayed in the Wedgewood Suite, which we thought was very nice. It was on the first floor, and had a separate entrance and parking space. It had two somewhat small but comfortable rooms; a room with a, queen sized bed, wing-backed chair, reading lamp,and TV; another small room with a daybed. sink, and vanity; and a bathroom with toilet and shower stall. It was pleasantly and tastefully decorated with blue and white quilts, cross stitch pieces, & folk art. It had a ceiling fan and windows that open, a plus for us fresh air fans.

We were served a hot, tasty breakfast in the attractive dining room the next morning. We liked the back yard with its nice garden; there's a deck we would have enjoyed sitting on if we'd stayed longer. Sue was very helpful with info about the local area; she told us about the West Quoddy Lighthouse and hiking trails in East Lubec, which we hadn't known about. It's a state park; there's an approximately two-mile trail along the coast from the lighthouse - we only went about half the way, due to time constraints, but there were beautiful views of the cliffs and seascapes along the way, we'd love to go back and walk the whole trail sometime. However, the coolest thing there was the peat bog, traversed by boardwalks; it has amazing kinds of plant life I have never or rarely seen elsewhere, including pitcher plants in bloom, and other carnivorous plants. It was fascinating; we would have stayed a lot longer and taken more pictures if we'd planned more time. I wish we'd known about it beforehand; we might have planned an extra day in the area, and we'd have really enjoyed staying another night at the Peacock House.

  • Liked — The friendly and helpful owners
  • Disliked — No cell phone reception
  • Stayed June 2008, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank srsbtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2008

The owners and hosts (Sue & Dennis) we very pleasant and hospitable. They made our stay enjoyable and entertaining. The common rooms were relaxing and all the guests were able to meet each other and hear about the history of this B & B. Sue and Dennis shared their history and the reasons they ventured into the B & B industry. Great conversation; breakfast was superb; interesting guests; and a relaxing, quiet sleep in a comfortable bed. Would stay again ! (and plan to). Regards, B & C from Swan's Island, ME.

  • Liked — The hosts
  • Disliked — n/a
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BandCSwans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Florida
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2007

Near the top of our list of places we stayed during our 3+ weeks in NE. First, here's why:

Great hostess! Sue was very friendly, warm, and engaging. Dennis cooks a great breakfast and they provided an atmosphere of "what can we do for you" which not all places did.
The room was great! Roomy, well appointed, clean, warm, nice bathroom, TV in room, and wi-fi.

  • Liked — The entire package.
  • Disliked — I have to dig and just come up with it could always be better on the price.
  • Stayed October 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank jdd1701
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Garden, Florida
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 September 2007

We were travelling with another couple, and we found this B&B on-line. The home is beautiful. Dennis and Susan are excellent hosts. They have a wealth of knowledge about the area, its sights, and restaurants. All of their recommendations were "right on". The accomodations we had were excellent. We stayed in the meadow suite and really enjoyed the space, king bed, and decor. Our friends' room wasn't as roomy, but had wonderful decor, and plenty of space for their needs. Susan and Dennis have done a great job with the decor throughout the house, and they do everything in their power to make you feel comfortable. The breakfast was wonderful - especially after several days of the usual motel continental breakfast fare. They had no vacancy, and haven't most of the summer. This isn't surprising....many of the guests are repeat visitors. We would love to go back and spend more time there ourselves (we were only able to spend one night).

  • Liked — Our room, the comfort of the house, and the hospitality of the hosts
  • Disliked — Breakfast was excellent, but the portion size was small.
  • Stayed September 2007, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank JeanVW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
20.6 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
4.0 of 5 bubbles 84 reviews
18.6 mi away
Rossmount Inn
Rossmount Inn
#1 of 2 in Chamcook
4.5 of 5 bubbles 265 reviews
13.3 mi away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 5 in Grand Manan
5.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.7 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
16.7 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#2 of 13 in Saint Andrews
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
13.3 mi away
Marathon Inn
Marathon Inn
#1 of 1 in North Head
4.0 of 5 bubbles 69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock House Bed & Breakfast

Property: Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Address: 27 Summer St, Lubec, ME 04652-1134
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing