We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved it”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast
Ranked #1 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 October 2006

We found reviews for the Peacock House via this website and called to book a room. They were friendly, helpful and we looked forward to arriving.

When we arrived we were met at the door by Sue who remembered our names. She showed us to our room, which was absolutely fabulous. It was charming, spacious, well decorated. We loved the ceiling fan and the sitting area. Our hosts, Sue and Dennis, were very personable, friendly, helpful and made us feel right at home.

We were thrilled to have a choice of breakfast at 8:00 or 9:00 as we would rather eat a bit later. Breakfast was delicious and was complimented by a chance to chat with our hosts before we checked out.

We loved every minute of our stay and we'll definitely book another visit.

  • Stayed: October 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gr8Vue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (272)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

265 - 271 of 272 reviews

Reviewed 4 October 2006

We stayed at the Peacock House for one night and found it to be beautiful and the cleanest inn we have ever stayed at. The rooms are charming, the owners friendly and helpful and the breakfast delicious. It was the perfect location from which to explore Campobello Island and visit the West Quoddy lighthouse. We will definitely go back!

  • Stayed: June 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank Chalupamom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2006

The Peacock house was a delight. The room was comfortable and very affordable. The hosts were gracious and the breakfast was wonderful. The house and town were historically interesting and charming.

  • Stayed: May 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank smckj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
420
Reviewed 21 October 2005

You won't find a warmer, friendlier, more charming B&B than the Peacock House in Lubec, Maine. Hosts Susan and Dennis make you truly feel at home. The Inn, though very old, is up-to-date while still retaining its original charm. Rooms are immaculate, breakfasts are fantastic, and most of the first floor is open to guests to relax. Price is more than reasonable. Nearby Campobello Island, Canada, offers a fantastic day trip. Would recommend without hesitation...a super value!

3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2005

First off the Peacock House is a beautiful B&B. The rooms my party stayed in were both freshly redone while preserving the historic features. I'm a real devotee of historic inns and B&Bs and this one may just be the best I've ever stayed in. Lovely but still comfortable.

Just before arriving at the Peacock, the eldest member of our party took a fall and was in need of some serious clean up when we arrived. Sue handled the situation with aplomb and went above and beyond the call of duty to help us get straightened out. (I really couldn't thank her enough!)

If you're visiting Campobello Island and the Roosevelt International Park, touring Downeast Maine (ie the northern coast of Maine), or just looking for a pleasant place to stay the night, I highly recommend the Peacock House.

  • Stayed: August 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AnotherFlatlander
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
saint petersburg
16
Reviewed 19 July 2005

Very nice place to stay. Nice clean room. Choice breakfast and pleasant
atmosphere. Dennis and Sue very affable and solicitous. Wish we could have stayed longer to read more of the many books in their library. Within easy drive of many lighthouses and Campobello and the Mulholland Light that we wanted to see. Plenty of historic sites and magnificent scenery. Easy drive to Canada and relaxing, quiet village atmosphere. Great opportunity to buy handcrafted items made by local artisans.
We had difficulty finding a good lobster meal, but were told it was early in the season. They serve something called lobster roll there. As soon as we returned to Florida, we had a nice meal in a local restaurant - Maine lobster.
don and marie mulholland

  • Stayed: May 2004
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
228
Reviewed 5 November 2004

My wife and I stayed here a the end of our trip to Maine. The previous place we had stayed prior to this was kind of a disapointment as we had never stayed in a B & B before and felt the inn was a kind of let down. The Peacock house however was more than we expected. We had misjudged our drive time and were going to be late. I called the inn to let them know and Sue was very understanding and in fact, recommended we stop and eat on the way since most restaraunts around the inn closed early. Upon our late arrival Sue met us at the door, made us feel right at home, showed us around the inn, introduced us to some other guests and our room. She was genuinely glad to see us. Breakfast was terrific (Dennis cooks) and we felt like we were staying at a relatives home as Sue told us stories about the Lubec area and informed us where the best places were to hike, eat, and shop. The innkeepers were so friendly it made us want to spend less time in our rooms and more time in the common areas of the inn, chatting with them. This B&B definitely exceeded our expectations. So very relaxing. We will stay here whenever we are in the Downeast area of Maine!

14  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
0.3 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
2.5 mi away
Eastland Motel
Eastland Motel
#2 of 8 in Lubec
415 reviews
15.7 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
West Quoddy Head Station
0.2 mi away
Cohill's Inn
Cohill's Inn
#5 of 8 in Lubec
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Peacock House Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Peacock House Bed & Breakfast

Address: 27 Summer St, Lubec, ME 04652-1134
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range: £74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Peacock House offers gracious accommodations in the easternmost town in the US. The inn, built in 1860 has seven well-appointed suites (with king beds) and standard-sized rooms (with queen beds), all with private bath. Also enjoy four common rooms downstairs where you can mingle with guests, or find a cozy corner to relax. The inn is the ideal place for couples and girlfriends get-aways. Located by the Bay of Fundy, see the rugged coast with 20 foot tides, explore renowned hiking trails , and visit nearby beaches and lighthouses . Whales, seals and bald eagles frequent the area. Campobello Island, the summer home of Franklin Roosevelt is less than three miles from the inn. Peacock House is located within the village of Lubec, within easy walking distance of the local restaurants. A full breakfast is included with your stay and is created to please the eye and palate. Visit Peacock House and see why tripadvisor reviewers have given it the highest rating in the area. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Peacock House Bed & Breakfast Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing