We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“delightful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Inn at the Wharf
Ranked #3 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Palmetto
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“delightful”
Reviewed 3 October 2011

How can a former sardine factory be so charming? Every room has a picture window of the bay and most rooms have a balcony overlooking the bay with its ever changing scenes. After checking in we were exploring the building and wharf when Victor, the owner, asked if we would like a tour of the lobster tanks. His tour was fascinating and we learned so much about the seafood industry. He is very friendly and gracious. It is amazing how this concrete factory has been converted into a comfortable and attractive hotel. There was a sense of peace and quiet about the place. Our room was simple yet elegant. The common area was impressive with a full, well equipped kitchen and several sitting areas. It would be the perfect place to share with a group of friends. With no TV it may not be the place for some kids.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Hauber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    155
    67
    27
    10
    2
See reviews for
54
146
12
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (105)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camden, Maine
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2011

As other reviews have said, this Inn was wonderful. It is more like a "private" B&B. Victor, the owner was always around working or relaxing himself as we did see him eating in the restaurant as well. He gives tours of the working fish market below the Inn if you wish. It was a sardine cannery once. It is right on the water. All windows face out so you feel as if you are on a boat--the waves lap up against the rocks and lull you to sleep. There is either a gratis continental breakfast or delicious breakfast, lunch, dinner in the small restaurant, also on the water. Great photography, some shopping, good walking. You can take a ferry to Eastport, the Easternmnost town in the USA or drive there (45minutes). We did to attend the annual Pirate Festival there--date is after Labor Day. It was the most fun--everyone dresses as a Pirate and Wenches, even I who hates costumes, but if you don't, you actually feel out of place. Dogs (who were told not to come!) even had pirate scarves on.

Room Tip: They are all! good since they all face the ocean. There are only about 8 or 10 rooms, but there are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank janisakay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2011

We have taken two trips to The Inn at the Wharf in Lubec this year! For our first experience, we shared it with my husband's parents. We drove from Connecticut and it was worth the drive! The venue is quiet, scenic, and delightful! We went the end of July and stayed in one of their "apartments" with full kitchen. The view from the apartment was equal to none! If you were any closer to the water you would get wet! The sunsets during our stay were outstanding which made for an unforgettable experience. The restaurant that opened in June is INCREDIBLE - the chef has a talent for making exceptional dishes! On the second trip my husband and I went alone and enjoyed spectacular weather after hurricane Irene. In fact, we went on their inaugural dinner cruise, a 3-course meal that included home made pies! The sunset that night was spectacular and the water calm. There were 12 on the cruise and everyone said it was a resounding success - the food was fantastic, the sunset spectacular, and the spotting of seals splashing around in the bay made it even more exciting. You haven't seen a sunset until you see it from the water on a leisurely cruise in Johnson's Bay. Kudos to Victor and Judy Trafford for the restaurant, a great addition to an already perfect "get away"!

Room Tip: Sea Watch, Sea Side, or Sea Gull (all the apartments, which have a full kitchen, is priviate and spe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ping54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charleston, Sc
Level 6 Contributor
98 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2011

We heard from a local that the restaurant at this location was good so we drove by. We asked about a room which they had and we were set. It looks brand new though we were told it is 4 years old. Tile floors, neutral colors, comfy linens and bed - everything is arranged to draw your eye to the view which was wonderful. The restaurant was not open for dinner and we only had the continental breakfast. The BEST muffin we have ever had and it was not blueberry (!) but, orange cranberry. Staff was helpful and friendly. A large public room was provided for cooking and eating for guests wanting to eat in. Lovely.

Room Tip: We preferred a room not directly over the wharf but to the side of it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank REHOLDER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
charlotte, north carolina
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

Our first impression of the room was wow. The rooms are long and narrow and when you walk in the first thing you notice is the ocean. It is right outside your window. Plus comfy chairs to sit in at the windows. No need for a private deck with the ocean so close to your window. The bed was comfortable: room was new and clean. The Inn set up is unique. No in room coffee maker or frig. We are early risers, so we bought coffee and snacks at Lyon's and made coffee in the shared kitchen and used the frig to store snacks, wine. The complimentary breakfast is one small muffin and small cup of fruit. But for the room price we couldn't complain. The restaurant connected to the Inn is great with fresh seafood. Best choice in Lubec.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boomernation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
68 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 September 2011

I stayed at the Inn at the Wharf for one week in August 2010 and enjoyed it so much I immediately made reservations for my vacation in 2011. This August I stayed there for two weeks while I attended Summerkeys. In the past year, they've added additional rooms, and a restaurant. A continental breakfast is still included in the cost of your room. You can eat it in the restaurant, or take it back to your room or to the sitting area in the Inn. Or you can treat yourself to a hot breakfast that includes several tasty egg and meat dishes, fresh muffins, and fruit. Lunches and dinners are often available.

Having spent most of my life living in the Midwest, it was a real treat to order a complete lobster dinner for $18.00 and eat it sitting out on the deck watching the tide come in. Their desserts, particularly the Toll House Pie were also spectacular.

  • Stayed August 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ColumbiaMDPercolate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lexington, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2011

The concept behind this place sounds great & it looks delightful but the loud banging from the kitchen at night & early morning was not conducive to a good nights sleep. The walls appear to be thin & I could hear every word my neighbours were saying - nevermind singing at midnight. It may have just been our room so if planning a stay ask not to be placed in the room named Tides right next to the kitchen & wharf.

Room Tip: Avoid the room named Tides
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank climbingclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
20.5 mi away
Granite Town Hotel
Granite Town Hotel
#1 of 1 in Saint George
96 reviews
15.5 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
10.0 mi away
Deer Island Inn
Deer Island Inn
#1 of 3 in Deer Island
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Machias River Inn
Machias River Inn
#2 of 3 in Machias
239 reviews
13.5 mi away
Compass Rose
Compass Rose
#1 of 6 in Grand Manan
52 reviews
16.4 mi away
Tara Manor Inn
Tara Manor Inn
#1 of 13 in Saint Andrews
313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inn at the Wharf? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inn at the Wharf

Property: The Inn at the Wharf
Address: 69 Johnson St, Lubec, ME 04652-1034
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Inn at the Wharf 2.5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy an oceanfront lifestyle and lodging in an elegantly renovated 100 year old sardine factory in Lubec, Maine. The Inn at the Wharf offers stunning ocean views and its own wharf. Each suite includes a bedroom, bath and a large sitting area, and opens to a large gathering room, kitchen and deck. Each oceanfront apartment includes two bedrooms, two baths, den, kitchen, dining and living areas, each with its own deck and complete laundry facilities. Free indoor secure parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your The Inn at the Wharf reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Inn At The Wharf Hotel Lubec
The Inn At The Wharf Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing