We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Inn at the Wharf
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Motel East(Eastport)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
Todd House(Eastport)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Machias River Inn(Machias)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Boidi Motel(Baileyville)
View Hotel
Bluebird Motel(Machias)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (297)
Filter reviews
297 results
Traveller rating
175
78
30
12
2
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
175
78
30
12
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssardine factorylobstersardine cannerysitting areawhale watchingattached restaurantsardinesfull kitchenocean viewcommon roomwasher and dryeroverlooking the watermain buildinggranite countertopsprivate balconycomfy chairscampobello island
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
216 - 221 of 297 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2012

We rented the room "Seawatch." The views were spectacular. If you sleep with the doors and windows open, you will hear seagulls in the morning. But in such a beautiful place, who wants to sleep the day away?
This room (apartment) has a kitchen so be sure to bring a little coffee along if you want a cup before the restaurant opens at 7am. There is also a second bedrooom and bath so you could take the kids or invite friends.
Be sure to bring your binoculars and camera. The watching tour which was gorgeous and we even saw a whale!
We spent a fabulous day on Campobello Island and at the Roosevelt Park. At 10 and 2 (eastern) they host "Tea with Eleanor" which was delightful and fascinating. It's a wonderful bike ride if you're so inclined, and I'd recommend your hybrid/mountain bike rather than your road bike.
Back in Lubec, note that going to the grocery store can cause your phone to change to Atlantic time and may cause a warning that you're roaming internationally. I kept my phone on Airplane Mode a lot so I could continue to take pictures and not worry about roaming.
Be sure one of your dinner meals is at the Water Street Tavern and Inn. Oh my. It's an easy walk from the Wharf.
The wireless is decent but I'd encourage you to use the spot as an unplugged vacation.

Room Tip: Seawatch is beautiful!
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kari F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2012

We stayed in Roque Bluffs, and took a drive up to Lubec for some whale watching. While waiting for the boat, we had some lunch, and sat outside on the back deck. First off, the view was amazing, with the restaurant directly on the water's edge, and the nearby islands setting a beautiful scene for a nice lunch. Coming from northern New Jersey, where there's no shortage of top-notch restaurants everywhere you go, we try to keep an open mind when traveling, and lubec is quite a bit off the beaten path. I wasn't expecting much, but the lobster roll was actually pretty good! Everyone there were some of the nicest people you could want to meet. They immediately knew that we were not locals, and our waitress came back with a bunch of information about things to do locally after we told her we wanted to check out the area. They also have a small touristy kinda shop with t-shirts, coffee mugs, stuffed animal lobsters, etc. You can book a whale watching tour right in the shop. The prices were not bad, and it was only 3 of us on the boat, and the captain still took us out even though we were not at the minimum about of people for the boat to leave. This was a huge plus, as my wife and I were more than willing to pay whatever extra it would have cost to make up the difference. The captain was very nice, and explained a lot of the sights and areas along the way. I don't have any other whale watching experiences to compare this too, but it was really an amazing trip. Even if you don't actually see a whale, it's so beautiful, relaxing, and scenic, you won't be disappointed. The captain took us past a bald eagle nest, which had babies in it as well. We also saw a ton of porpoise, a good sized Minke Whale, but what I thought was the coolest was going to the small islands that were covered in seals. Being so far east, it's not very long until you hit international waters, and the clocks skip ahead an hour. We got text messages saying "welcome to canada".

Overall, we had a great experience here, and if we are ever in the area there's no doubt that we would go back. Quoddy head park, and downtown lubec are not that far either, literally right down the road. We didn't stop in town, as we were getting tired, but it looked nice, and we were surprised at the amount of shops on the strip. There's also plenty of hiking paths, and plenty of outdoor activities, and the area really is beautiful. We did not see any of the guest rooms, so cannot comment on that part, but the things we did I would recommend to anyone in the area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
4  Thank Kevin K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2012

We spent two nights at this wonderful Inn. We picked it because staying in a former sardine factory sounded like a kick and the reviews were good. Ann Seavey gave us a warm welcome and acted as a resident tour guide for all our questions about the area. The room was excellent and we really enjoyed having a balcony which had been suggested by the owner, Victor Trafford, when I called to make the reservation. We also met his wife, Judy, who made us feel welcome. We took advantage of the "common room" to keep chilled wine which we enjoyed on our balcony each evening as the sun went down.
If you are planning to stay in or near Lubec this should be your first choice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

The room was extremely clean and inviting. The restaurant has excellent food- everything except the steak- but of course the Lobster was the best I've ever had- sweet and cooked just right. the views are just wonderful- the sunset was beautiful!!!! The common area was wonderful with full usage of a refrigerator,stove, and oven!!!!

Room Tip: Rooms without the balconies are a little quieter.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Barb H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We had steamed clams, steamed lobster and clam chowder, and it was really good. Actually, we've been coming to Lubec for about 7 years (guess you could say we love the area) and this is the first restaurant we tried that served a decent lobster. The view was marvelous, and we plan to come back to this gem of a restaurant again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Carol D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews