We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Warm hospitality, delicious chocolate”

Monica's Chocolates
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Lubec
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Peruvian
Description: We will be closed on December 29, 2017 and reopen on April 1, 2018 Thank you very much for your support
Restaurant details
Description: We will be closed on December 29, 2017 and reopen on April 1, 2018 Thank you very much for your support
Reviewed 11 July 2014

We choose to stop at Monica's Chocolates on a rainy summer day, hoping for hot chocolate, and had a delightful experience. Monica greeted us warmly and extended tastings, a chance to learn about the mix of her Peruvian youth and her business venture in the US. She also offers wonderful Peruvian fabric pieces and jewelry, but the chocolates are standouts. Though we traveled 3 weeks, it was Monica's Chocolates which we brought for friends back home.

3  Thank Charlotte_Preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (304)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

217 - 221 of 304 reviews

Reviewed 8 July 2014

These are high quality and a bit expensive but if you love Chocolate this is the place for you. All the Chocolates are hand made.
Splurge and get some, life is short and Monica is a great Chocolate ambassador. There are also great buys on earings

1  Thank Marjorie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This was a very nice shop - great chocolates and other fun items from Peru - definitely worth a visit if you are in the area

Thank MaineMissy04005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Great selection of delicious chocolates made by hand in a sparkling clean kitchen. Beautiful displays of chocolates in a home-like atmosphere. Greetings at the door by Monica herself - with free samples for all. This shop could thrive in any resort or boutique town. It was the best destination of our trip and we will definitely be ordering more goodies online until we visit again. Monica also has beautiful Peruvian ladies wear and crafts, as well as lovely silver jewelry. The shop also carries Raye's mustards of various flavors. Everything is reasonably priced throughout the shop. Make Monica's a Must-See on your Lubec itinerary.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank teragramsb123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2014

Monica's Chocolates is a definite stop if you are in the Lubec area.

There are shelves and shelves of beautifully hand-crafted chocolates. They provided free samples and informed us that they make everything from scratch in their downstairs kitchen including their own caramel and filings.

The candy is wonderfully delicious. There are molded lobsters and shells. The truffles with wine and fruit were superb.

There is also an opportunity to taste all of the varieties of Raye's Mustard. There are rooms with unique, Peruvian jewelry and Alpaca sweaters and scarves.

I will definitely place a mail order at Christmas time.

Thank Kbarrelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monica's Chocolates also viewed

Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Eastport, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Monica's Chocolates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing