We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a quirky place”

Monica's Chocolates
Ranked #1 of 1 Dessert in Lubec
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly
Dining options: Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Parking Available, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: 1-866-952-4500 Recently moved to this location. Open for lunch only, Wed-Fri.
University Park, MD
Level Contributor
53 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“What a quirky place”
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This is not at all what I expected--so much more than just chocolates. Let the guys wait outside while the women check out all the inexpensive jewelry, taste some delicious chocolates (well, the men will enjoy those), and most definitely check out the sweaters in the Alpaca Room.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank jclements
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

165 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    26
    3
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bangor, Maine
Level Contributor
159 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Surprising Discovery”
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I was never expecting to find a chocolatier in Lubec. This small shop has a tempting assortment of creative, quality chocolate - as well as jewelry. Not a restaurant, but you'll probably find something good to eat.
It's a friendly place, but when it's busy, you have to hunt down someone to take your money.
The chocolate is as good as any high quality chocolate I have had, but the cost is somewhat off-putting.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pembroke, Maine
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“OH MY!! Monica, why did you have to make chocolate this good..”
Reviewed 6 August 2014

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vHgjRwB-jJs

The chocolate is so good I had to make a video. Words can't describe it, pictures can't
reveal it. I don't know how to write songs or poems so I made a video..

If the link doesn't work just go to youtube and search for Monica's Chocolates.. There is more than one video watch them all..Monica's Chocolates Lubec. Maine.

Can I be alone with my chocolate now..

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mybusinesshelper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rottenburg am Neckar, Germany
Level Contributor
93 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Delicious Chocolates – Outstanding Hospitality – Beautiful Alpaca & Jewelry”
Reviewed 22 July 2014

For us, Lubec was full of surprises, the best of them being “Monica’s Chocolates”.
Being from Germany, my husband and I are chocolate lovers. So we decided to stop at Monica’s and were pleasantly surprised.
The place is beautifully decorated and one can find chocolate in all kinds of shapes such as whales, bears, moose etc. And there are truffles!
When we entered the store, we were warmly greeted and offered some samples by a sales associate. We loved the Bourbon-Pecan truffles and bought some for us and as a gift for friends.

Later, while browsing the store, we met Monica who told us that the next morning she would have her homemade hot chocolate. Therefore, we decided to go back before leaving Lubec. This was a wonderful decision because Monica’s hot chocolate is to die for. She puts in 3 or 4 different kinds of chocolate, milk, cream, spices … and I don’t remember what else. It takes hours to prepare it and it tasted like heaven.
Monica also gave us a tour of her store. All her chocolates are handmade!

In addition to chocolate, Monica sells Alpaca sweaters and scarfs for women as well as silver jewelry at very reasonable prices.
If you are in the area, do not miss to stop by! We will definitely visit again if back to the area.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Elke H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Warm hospitality, delicious chocolate”
Reviewed 11 July 2014 via mobile

We choose to stop at Monica's Chocolates on a rainy summer day, hoping for hot chocolate, and had a delightful experience. Monica greeted us warmly and extended tastings, a chance to learn about the mix of her Peruvian youth and her business venture in the US. She also offers wonderful Peruvian fabric pieces and jewelry, but the chocolates are standouts. Though we traveled 3 weeks, it was Monica's Chocolates which we brought for friends back home.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Charlotte_Preston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Monica's Chocolates also viewed

Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Monica's Chocolates? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing