We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great restaurant”

Water Street Tavern & Inn
Ranked #3 of 16 Restaurants in Lubec
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Reservations
Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Great restaurant”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Enjoyed dinner on the deck the first night we stayed in Lubec. Friendly staff and owner was attentive checking on customers throughout meal. My husband tried Haddock Chowder at all of the local restaurants and ranked this one the best. Our pasta dishes did have a lot of garlic so request easy on the garlic if you aren't a fan. Great views from the deck. Overall a great place to dine and we may go back before leaving the area.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank momof2inva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

266 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    128
    92
    33
    9
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 6 Contributor
220 reviews
150 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“OMG, the Lobster was FRESH”
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I never order lobster at a restaurant. I grew on the Seacoast and I can certainly steam a lobster for a lot less than ordering one out. The Water Street broke my tradition. As we were walking into the Tavern, the local fisherman was walking in with a tub of 1.5-2 lb lobsters - no menu - decision made. The dinner was absolutely perfect and of course the lobster was the freshest I have tasted.
The service was excellent and the side dishes also very good. We did not have desert or any drinks so I can't comment on the wine or sweets, but everything else was great. Other diners were having similar reactions to their selections. A nice surprise in such a small town.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ronald H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nyack, New York
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Eat on the deck”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We were two couples who chose to sit outside on the deck. It was fairly chilly, even in early August but it was stuffy and somewhat smelly inside. Improved ventilation might help. Two of us ordered the Sunday night steak special which was excellent and two of us ordered the salad with a piece of salmon on top. The salmon was perfect and the salad was as well. The prices were reasonable.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank enessa51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, Maine
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great food, service and location”
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed in Lubec for two nights and this restaurants was so good we ate here both nights. Our waitress, Allison, was perfect, charming and efficient. The lobster dinner was only $ 20.90 for a pound and three quarter to two pound lobster dinner. Both the best price and one of the best in Maine, and we live here! Our friends who are cooking gurus had the signature dish, a Brazilian fish stew, and raved about it. They spent the entire meal trying to analysis the dish to determine the ingredients to replicate the dish. Of course the kitchen would not tell.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Elliotmz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwalk, Connecticut
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Just ok ...”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Stopped in Lubec for lunch today on a trip back from Canada. Water Street Tavern looked like a nice place to grab a bite. I had the haddock burger and my husband had the turkey sandwich, as always (because you can't ruin a turkey sandwich). My fish sandwich was "meh" and his turkey sandwich appeared to have only one slice of thin sliced luncheon meat. The service was also "meh". We had to ask for utensils and sugar for the iced tea. The sugar turned out to be assorted sweeteners with only one sugar in the bunch. This sent the server searching ... or rather scavenging for more sugar packets ... something which should be very common in a restaurant!

The food was only ok and the service was only ok. There will not be a repeat visit from us.

  • Visited August 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GailB71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Water Street Tavern & Inn also viewed

Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to Water Street Tavern & Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing