We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Raised the bar in Lubec”

The Inn at the Wharf Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 15 Restaurants in Lubec
Price range: US$8 - US$22
Cuisines: American, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Enjoy the freshest seafood delivered daily to our wharf. We offer casual fine dining with a view of the water from every table. Enjoy the sunset from our deck and magnificent views of the bay.
Bozrah, Connecticut
Level Contributor
20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Raised the bar in Lubec”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We had the good fortune to stop in to the Restaurant at the Inn at the Wharf on their first day being open for dinner. We happened to be there for lunch. I must say that having been there before and enjoying it greatly, it is obvious that they are raising the food to a new level. My lunch was simple, fried clams, fried onion rings and cole slaw. the batter/breading that they are using on the clams and O-Rings was the best I have ever had. the onion rings are fresh cut and cooked fresh to order. Outstanding! Absolute must try if you are a fan of onion rings. The clams were light and flavorful whole belly and the chef had just put together a batch of coleslaw that had a touch of pineapple chopped into it. Fantastic! If you are in town give it a try. The food is worth and the view is priceless.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BozrahTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

271 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    83
    36
    25
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Campobello Island, Canada
Level Contributor
24 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Wonderful Breakfasts!”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

They open early and have a tremendous location to view the early morning fishermen, the bay and the birds. It's a great way to start the day. I have enjoyed their early season price specials.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Trina S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Garland
Level Contributor
26 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A wonderful surprise”
Reviewed 23 May 2014

Our expectations were not high and we were under stress from travel, so we were overwhelmed when greeted by Tricia as if we were family and old friends. Not only was she an excellent hostess, but the service was flawless and the food prepared was perfectly cooked, fish finished at just the right point to be flaky and tender. We had to thank the chef as well for his quality production. With us was a friend from France, used to French finest and he was impressed with how well a small American restaurant could do so well. Any time we would return to Lubec, this restaurant would be our only choice.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jim T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
256 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 320 helpful votes
“What a surprise”
Reviewed 10 November 2013

As we were staying at the hotel this restaurant was the easy choice. Nth at said we had pretty low expectations given its location in a small country town. What a surprise!

Although the menu is somewhat limited, the food was excellent and the place has a nice buzz about it.

Would very happily eat there again

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank BeachSwaggie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A solid restaurant”
Reviewed 27 October 2013

We had a couple appetizers in the evening and breakfast in a morning. I had the lobster stew in the evening and I enjoyed it a lot but it was quite spicy to the point the heat detracted from the total dish….it was way too spicy for my wife. For sure if you eat there and like wine with your meal, order it but the glass; their pours are much larger than you would get for the same price as a bottle.
For breakfast I had the Lobster, Eggs Benedict which was quite good. Based on several peoples raves and recommendations, my wife had the fried bread; we both were disappointed in that is was good but nothing special in our opinion. It looks like we are in the minority on the fried bread
Service was casual but good and the waitresses we had were friendly.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Que3731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Inn at the Wharf Restaurant also viewed

Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to The Inn at the Wharf Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing