We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go as far East as you can in the US” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of West Quoddy Head Light

West Quoddy Head Light
Ranked #1 of 16 things to do in Lubec
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Cleveland, Tennessee
Level Contributor
102 reviews
29 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Go as far East as you can in the US”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 October 2013

This is a nice lighthouse in a very nice State Park. At the light house you can walk within a few feet of the furthest East point in the US. The light house is in a beautiful location and you can spend a half hour or so there or much longer – especially if you partake in some of the hikes along the shoreline in the State Park. If you are in the area how can you not make it a point to go as far east as you can in the US? We got there just after the lighthouse closed so we were not able to visit the Museum inside—we would have liked to do that.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Que3731
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

418 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    304
    101
    9
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Level Contributor
177 reviews
50 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Eastern most lighthouse in USA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 October 2013

The distinctive red and white stripped lighthouse on the eastern most point of the USA is worth the trip and makes for some great photos. The day we visited it was very windy so the waves were crashing against the rocks, it was very neat to experience. There is also a short trail through the beautiful coastal forest to a view tower. You cannot see the lighthouse from the trail but it is a nice walk. The walk is not for small children that are not under parents direct control. Cliffs without protection and a lot of roots to trip on.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank MichiganDiesel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cheltenham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very pretty lighthouse”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

This was a very pretty lighthouse, in a scenic location.

Worth a drive to get your picture taken by the sign saying that it's the East-most point of the USA.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Katherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arnold
Level Contributor
109 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“The most eastern part of US”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2013

We went to Lubec for the purpose of seeing the eastern most point, so we were excited. If that is not a big deal for someone, it could be disappointing, I guess because it is around 2 and1/2 hours from Bar Harbor area. There are trails you can walk in addition to the lighthouse, and you are very close to Campabello.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Daina R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Jersey
Level Contributor
38 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“East USA”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2013

If you are in Lubec this is a must. Not far from town, we biked there. This is one of the places you need to be able to say "I was there." Staff was friendly and provided insight in to the history. The trails near the lighthouse also provided close encounters to the forest of the coast. Very short walk and you get the feeling quickly that you in a bog. We went out there actually three times since with the changing weather things looked very different. Fog, clear, rain. Have a great time. Get out and explore.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ranger1Travler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed West Quoddy Head Light also viewed

Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
Lubec, DownEast and Acadia Maine
 

Been to West Quoddy Head Light? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing