We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An experience to remember.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cohill's Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lubec
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Cohill's Inn
Ranked #5 of 8 Lubec B&B and Inns
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
29 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“An experience to remember.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2012

You have to be of a certain disposition in the first place to want to come to Lubec, and assuming you are, you will find Cohill's Inn rich in character in a charming location. OK, it's a bit of a drive (from anywhere really) and it won't appeal to all, but that's sort of the point.

What you are getting here is the joy of being somewhere that rewards the effort required to get there. I arrived on a thoroughly miserable, rainy day and retired to the bar, where I supped Guinness, read a book and enjoyed expansive views of the coastline. Some women played guitar.

I then stayed for dinner - great chowder, amazing salmon salad. I took a stroll through the incomparably quiet town afterward, which pretty much shuts down completely after about 8pm.

I stayed in Room 9 (the Bay of Fundy room), their most popular room because of the views. Many of the reviewers are correct about the decor - the room could be described as dated, but this isn't supposed to be a clinical Best Western experience - I thought it was reasonably priced for what I had, but I would encourage travellers to check out their website and other reviews to set your expectations before coming.

The breakfast was just adequate, with plenty of coffee, bagels, cereal - that kind of thing.

Nearby are some great sights at Roosevelt park and the West Quoddy Head lighthouse. This is definitely somewhere deserving of a visit if you've the stamina to get here; I wish I'd stayed a couple more days. Colhill's Inn was a very good choice for the stay, I hope one day I'll go back.

Room Tip: Room 9, Bay of Fundy room is a large king size with good views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jon E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

81 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    42
    22
    7
    6
    4
See reviews for
17
52
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Waterville, Maine
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 October 2012

My husband & I stopped into Cohill's Inn looking for a room for the night. Luckily, there were vacancies but only for this one night. We were able to select from many choices of rooms, Jack even gave us the keys to available rooms-to "check them out". We chose the Bay of Fundy Room and were immediately rewarded to views of a dozen seals swimming into the bay to feed and they were followed by 3 very active eagles. We could sit in our room, watch the ongoing nature show, see the area fishermen coming & going from their boats as well as all the local street activity. Our room was neat and clean and the views were something we will never forget. We were offered a simple breakfast of items we would have eaten at home, fruits, juice, yogurt, cereals, english muffins and toast, etc. There was plenty of coffee & tea too. It was nice to be able to go downstairs and have a bite to eat before heading out the door for more sightseeing and talking with other guests at the Inn. Jack was a wonderful host and very friendly. We would recommend the Cohill's Inn to anyone looking for an Inn in a small, quiet, Downeast town where you will not find a nationwide burger, coffee or chicken joint in the entire area :) Lubec, the way Maine should be!

Room Tip: Take the best "room" that is available, you won't regret the scenic views out your win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lubecnewcomers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Miramichi, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 August 2012

We stayed in 2 different rooms....The Bay, most popular had a great view, but the windows and screens were not clean.and the curtains just barely covered them...Bed not comfortable, needs updating and the bedspread looked like it hadn't been cleaned in a long time.

The Lupine room had a newer bed, but very firm. Filthy window, much worse than upstairs. Both rooms were clean, but there was no shampoo or hair dryer and only plastic cups.

Breakfast was a continental one, included, but just had the bare essentials....we have had much better many times.

Overall, cost too much for just an average room...lovely view and close to everything. Wouldn't recommend to friends

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank scrabblersOnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harlingen, Texas
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2012

We are traveling for fun and made reservations at the Cohills Inn. The other Inn we wanted was booked up. We stayed in the Mulholland Room which had a fantastic view of the seals and sea gulls on the Bay of Fundy. That alone almost made it the perfect place to stay. However, the room itself is very small. There is no place to put your stuff and being on a 4 week trip, we had a lot of stuff. The quilt on the bed smelled musty. The bed was comfortable and sleeping with the window open was nice. However, the bright lamp outside shined into our room all night. We learned to use a cloth over our eyes to keep the light out of our eyes. The curtains barely cover the window and do NOT block out the light. The bathroom was tiny as was the shower which we are accustomed to in Europe but the shower head is in need of cleaning so the spray is not uniform. Plus it hits those of us who are short right in the face. A hand held shower may have resolved this issue. The toilet lid was loose, partially broken so we had to straighten the seat before we used it so we would slide over.

Jack himself is very nice and friendly. Maid service was very good and fresh towels were delivered daily. If we needed ice, we went downstairs to the bar and Jack gladly filled up our ice bucket.

The best part is that the Irish Pub is downstairs and had Guinness Stout on tap. My husband was in heaven. The food in the Inn was wonderful. I had the Portabello Sandwich which exceeded my expectations. Terrific food!

I probably would never stay here again but the experience has left a wonderful memory of good times. Just not the shower, could hardly wait to get to a real hotel with a good shower. I just didn't feel clean. Parking is very limited which can make loading and unloading a problem. Consider it camping indoors.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SoTX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 July 2012

My wife and I selected Cohill's from about 5 places that are available in Lubec, and there is no doubt, we selected the best one. (we had not been to Lubec and knew nothing about the motels, and B&Bs.) Cohill's overlooks the bay, is close to the water, and has a very popular restaurant.

The owner is very helpful and friendly. We had the Campabello room with a king bed - very comfortable. The building and room are not fancy, but was more than adequate for our stay. We had dinner - starting with a couple of draft beers (decent selection). Beer and food were very good and reasonably priced.

Cohill's has a limited breakfast but it was adequate. Coffee was excellent.

We went to Lubec to visit the Roosevelt cottage but wished we had stayed for another few days as Lubec is a quaint, peaceful village. The air was cool and crisp. Very relaxing. Both my wife and I and another couple thought that Lubec reminded us of Port Wenn (from Doc Martin).

We would stay at Cohill's again.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jibbajibba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edwardsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
61 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 October 2011

This inn had a very friendly staff; they were willing to help. There are no elevators but only 2 floors so not too many steps. The room was small because the queen bed took up most of the room, but it was clean. Take your own toiletries because all they give you is soap (no shampoo, facial tissues, etc.). Also, breakfast is free but only 3 types of dry cereal, bananas, hard boiled eggs English muffins, OJ, and yogurt. They have a restaurant in the inn. It's pricey, but the food is great.

  • Stayed September 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kb6425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2011

We stayed at Cohill's last month and enjoyed our stay so much. The staff were all friendly and informative. Our room overlooked an inlet where we could watch herons and harbor seals at low tide....fabulous! Breakfast in the pub was basic, but substantial, and the coffee was outstanding! We ate 2 dinners in the pub and they were both delicious. I've recommended Cohill's to a friend who plans on visiting Maine soon. We would definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: It seems all rooms have a lovely view of something. We chose a room with a king bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cindy y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lubec
15.5 mi away
The Algonquin Resort St. Andrews by-the-Sea, Autograph Collection
13.5 mi away
Robinson's Cottages
Robinson's Cottages
#1 of 1 in Dennysville
5.0 of 5 bubbles 8 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Inn at the Wharf
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cohill's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cohill's Inn

Property: Cohill's Inn
Address: 7 Water St, Lubec, ME 04652-1142
Region: United States > Maine > DownEast and Acadia Maine > Lubec
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 8 B&Bs / Inns in Lubec
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Cohill's Inn is located at 7 Water Street in the town of Lubec, Maine overlooking the Bay of Fundy on one side and the Lubec Narrows on the other. We provide simple but appealing fare and overnight accommodations for those wishing to extend their stay in Lubec. Cohill's Inn is modeled after the traditional Irish pubs that we found and adored during our travels through the coastal towns of Ireland. We offer a warm and friendly atmosphere for people to gather for pleasant company, hearty fare and good cheer. Come enjoy a weekend or more in one of our nine smoke free rooms and watch the seals frolic just outside our Inn. Enjoy the casual charm of our traditional fishing village, the historic waterfront and the unspoiled beauty of Downeast Maine. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Cohill's Inn Lubec, Maine

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing