We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious”

New China Super Buffet & BBQ
Ranked #1,036 of 1,986 Restaurants in Tucson
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
31 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delicious”
Reviewed 23 September 2013

My friends and I visited this restaurant last week and it was an incredible experience. Good taste, clean, reasonable prices and variety is all we need. The servers are ready and the staff is kind.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Isaac146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    8
    6
    5
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Boston
Level Contributor
41 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Filthy”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

This place has gone so far downhill it is shocking! Food awful & restaurant filthy. We had to leave.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendytravels L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Mexico
Level Contributor
58 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“RUN,,DONT WALK, AWAY FROM HERE!!!!!”
Reviewed 23 August 2013

We had been to this buffet a few times in the early months of 2012, at that time it was average at best, we went there again last night,,,what a mistake, a waste of money, the food has gone so far downhill, they should be ashamed to serve it!!! Its old, dry, and when they do bring out anything fresh, they mix the old stuff in with it, i saw it myself,,i love sweet sour chicken, so when i cut into the chicken and either there were pieces so dried up it tasted like beef jerky, or the fresher pieces were 95% batter, the chicken inside such a small piece, barely visible...then after we left my husband started complaining of a mettallic taste in his mouth, and hours later we were both ill, with diarreah,,,so if your in town and see the sign , NEW CHINA SUPER BUFFET,,,RUN SUPER FAST,,, in the opposite direction,,,,U-LIKE buffet is just up the road from them,,,excellent food, service,,atmosphere,,,go there, youll be happier for sure!!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank cynthia w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level Contributor
599 reviews
314 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 235 helpful votes
“Timing is important going to any buffet”
Reviewed 23 June 2013

I come here at least once or twice a month. I sent there yesterday around 11:20AM. That's a mistake because most of the food at the buffet were from yesterday's dinner buffet. The best time to come here on weekends is 12:00 noon. By then all the old stuff has been flushed out. It is OK to go there all afternoon because New China keep filling the buffet table with fresh food. They have good business during weekdays. It is OK to go there around 11:30 AM. The other trick is to watch the staff bringing food from the kitchen to the buffet table. You know that those are fresh.

Also, don't go to any buffet after 8PM because they are not going to bring new food out.

They serve a lot of food there and they only charge $6.99 for lunch. It is an excellent deal. My favorite dishes are shrimp with vegetable, It is not overcooked like other places. The hot and sour soap is just right, hot and sour with the right ingredient.

They have a modified Mongolian BBQ, You pick your meat and vegetable and they cook it on a wok for you in the kitchen. Then you tell them what style or sauce to use-. I usually tell the chef to use just a little soy sauce. The chef is a Chinese. Other buffets I've been to they put Non oriental there who doesn't know what he is doing.

They have a sister buffet called the U-Like Buffet 1.5 mile south on Wilmot, between Broadway and 22nd. It is doing very good business. It may even be taking business away from New China because it is so close to each other. It is cleaner and brighter and they have a noodle booth.

New China has been here for close to 10 years. The food is good, authentic Chinese cooking, consistent and the price is right for lunch.

My Background: I was a Chinese chef for 5 years. My job take me to all the major cities in the US, Canada and Mexico.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Tom Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emmaus, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
233 reviews
161 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Awful, don't do it!!!”
Reviewed 6 May 2013 via mobile

The food in this restaurant puts all Asian Restaurants to shame. The ONLY good part of the meal was the soft ice cream. Don't waste your time, find another restaurant.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Palmtreegirl57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed New China Super Buffet & BBQ also viewed

 

Been to New China Super Buffet & BBQ? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing