We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great but tough course” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Golf Club at Vistoso

The Golf Club at Vistoso
Ranked #19 of 74 Outdoor Activities in Tucson
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Greens and tees are placed close together on this course.
Tucson, Arizona
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great but tough course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

This demanding golf course has some outstanding views of Pusch Ridge and the Tortolitas. Hopefully, the views will help distract you from the difficulties of this course. By varying degrees, narrow fairways, blind tee shots, washes crossing the fairways, and even water hazards make this course a stiff challenge. Fees get pretty high during the snowbird season ($150), but it is a great course.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank airbus32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    15
    23
    2
    5
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Vistoso --a great course in difficult times”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2013

Vistoso is a very good desert golf course--lots of opportunities for trouble and some challenging carries.Layout is very good and T selection is critical--Good shot making course-- fairways are generally good and greens are acceptable--importantly they are fair.--It is a great day of Golf.Staff are friendly and helpful. Financial challenges are evident as pro shop and services have been generally cut back--but for golfers--it is a welcoming test.--Good to very good--in the past it was always excellent. I hope it recovers.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank MagicVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Should not have played, won't go back.”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 January 2013

My husband had played this course 10 years ago and spoke so highly of it, that we decided to play it while out in Tucson. I requested a rental pair of women's clubs, well in advance, and when the clubs were delivered to me on the course, I received a set of Men's steel shaft Cobras. No mention was made of the reserved women's clubs by the Pro. The course was not in good shape, and was a "target-golf" experience. Both of us said we would not play again, nor would we recommend it. I got money back on the club rental, after a bit of a "discussion" with the manager. Totally not a female friendly experience.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank cincicarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Golden, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Still a good track”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 January 2013

Played on a cold (45 degree) Friday a week ago. Course was almost vacant due to the weather, which was fine with us. They had a good deal for around $70.00 - all the golf you wanted, range balls, 2 drinks and lunch. Allowed us to get in 27 holes between 10:30 AM and 5:15 PM. Golf shop was a bit disapointing. Nothing to buy including hats, divot tools, logo balls, course guides, etc. Fairways and greens were in pretty good shape. Friendly staff.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank Allan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
chehalis Wa
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Great Desert Golf Course”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2012

The Golf Club at Vistoso is an award-winning, Tom Weiskopf-designed 18-hole course. This semi-private course was built in 1995 and is nestled between the Tortolita and Santa Catalina Mountains.

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
Thank newaukumgolfer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Golf Club at Vistoso also viewed

 

Been to The Golf Club at Vistoso? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing