We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“absolutely superb” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Pima Air & Space Museum

Pima Air & Space Museum
Ranked #3 of 274 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Be amazed at one of the world's largest aircraft collections: including 2+ hangars of World War II planes, supersonic spyplanes, the world's smallest bi-plane, plus many other unique private, military and commercial air & spacecraft documenting the evolution of flight. Friendly docents augment your visit. Only Pima Air & Space offers the bus tour of the "Boneyard"/AMARG (M-F only, no holidays) plus offers its own tram tour of the museum's 80 acres of one-of-a kind planes daily (additional fees). You can actually touch "aviation history" including "Freedom One" (that flew the American 444-days-in-Iran hostages home), presidential crafts, planes that launched astronauts, delivered life-saving food/fuel, etc. and others with wingspans the length of a football field... Ogle helicopters, MiGs, an Oscar, a rare German buzz bomb, a moon rock and much more. 300 aircraft, 80 acres, 5 indoor air-cooled hangars. Just plane awesome!
Ridgewood, New Jersey
Level Contributor
145 reviews
41 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“absolutely superb”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 August 2014

Really loved this place, never seen such a vast amount of aircraft in my life. Also did the boneyard tour which was great, although it did rain for the last ten minutes. I really cannot fault this place at all, even the lunch was really nice. I think it is really important to point out that the guides dotted around the hangers are actual pilots, or at least the ones we spoke to were, who have first hand knowledge and are very informative. What is more impressive is the fact these guys are volunteers that give up their own time to do this. They were all very approachable, extremely polite and I have the utmost respect for them, excellent job and hats off to you. A very worthy visit and a must do, but give yourself plenty of time as this place is big!!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ian g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,417
    583
    99
    11
    3
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
208 reviews
83 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Well worth a visit.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 August 2014

Second visit to this museum and enjoyed it as much as the first. Just love walking around all the outside exhibits and being able walk around and under so many aircraft. The inside exhibits are just as good with up close and personal contact with the displays. Our son especially enjoyed walking around and under the B52; you don’t get that close at other Air Museums. Helpful volunteers on hand to give you history, advice and information on exhibits. Well worth a visit if you are in the area and love aviation.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank KiddyBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level Contributor
134 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Great museum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

My husband is the real aviation buff so I humored him and tagged along to the Pima Air & Space Museum. What a great surprise to me that it is So interesting and so well done. Beside the planes housed inside the museum, you can also walk around those outside. They also have a tour of the "graveyard" for old military planes that is conducted on a bus with a volunteer guide, usually a retired military airman, at Monthan Air Force Base. You do need a reservation for this tour and appropriate ID since you will be entering a military base. There is a wonderful gift shop; as well as a restaurant where you can grab lunch or a snack. Save a day for this museum when you visit Tucson. The whole family will enjoy the experience.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Pam2011_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great way to spend a day”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2014

The museum is a terrific way to spend a day for any and all aviation and/or history lovers, and especially awesome for kids. I like the way that the displays were laid out by time period (WWII Pacific display in one hangar, early days in another, etc.). The volunteers that work the floor are so full of knowledge and obviously love talking about the planes and stories that go with them.
Bring your bottled water and sunscreen!! Touring the outdoors displays can take quite a while, and the sun does beat down on you. I hope to be able to return on a weekday so that I can take the tour of the "Boneyard". All in all, a fun, educational day. I strongly suggest allowing yourself a full day to see it all.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Bulld0g_44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flagstaff, Arizona
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great day for all of the family”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2014

This was an amazing place. So many planes and you can touch them look inside them very hands on. Extremely clean and well set out. There is something here for all of the family.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Belindadash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pima Air & Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pima Air & Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing