We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Air Museum”

Pima Air & Space Museum
Ranked #3 of 282 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Be amazed at one of the world's largest aircraft collections: including 2+ hangars of World War II planes, supersonic spyplanes, the world's smallest bi-plane, plus many other unique private, military and commercial air & spacecraft documenting the evolution of flight. Friendly docents augment your visit. Only Pima Air & Space offers the bus tour of the "Boneyard"/AMARG (M-F only, no holidays) plus offers its own tram tour of the museum's 80 acres of one-of-a kind planes daily (additional fees). You can actually touch "aviation history" including "Freedom One" (that flew the American 444-days-in-Iran hostages home), presidential crafts, planes that launched astronauts, delivered life-saving food/fuel, etc. and others with wingspans the length of a football field... Ogle helicopters, MiGs, an Oscar, a rare German buzz bomb, a moon rock and much more. 300 aircraft, 80 acres, 5 indoor air-cooled hangars. Just plane awesome!
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
46 reviews
30 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Top Air Museum”
Reviewed 25 August 2014

Planned our road trip from the uk to include a visit here as it had good reviews and we were not disappointed. Definitely the best air museum we have ever visited around the world. Make sure you do the outside area first before it gets too hot so you dont miss any of the fantastic planes. We spent over 4 hours here and ;oved every minute.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank clancy2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,457 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    2,697
    631
    112
    13
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Crestview, Florida
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Interesting place, pet friendly”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 via mobile

We were travelling through to Phoenix and needed to stop off and seeing this place was pet friendly decided to give it a go. Our German shepherd was made to feel very welcome, and was offered a bowl of water (we'd actually brought some with us). The only thing I would say is the exhibits haven't been updated in some time, so sometimes you'd read about something due to happen in 2008 and I couldn't help wondering about the outcome, but there was plenty there to look at and the boneyard was extensive.

Helpful?
1 Thank WitchHazel74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
griff061
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“cool place”
Reviewed 24 August 2014

get there early ie 9 am couple of hours doing indoor exhibits then do bone yard tour back by 12 30 ish couple of hours looking round outside planes etc and if u can time it right get over to titan missile museum for last tour at 4 pm thats a great day!

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank griff061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhode Island
Level Contributor
530 reviews
357 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 265 helpful votes
“Wonderful....”
Reviewed 22 August 2014

What a well laid out museum with many opportunities for hands on experiences. As an added bonus there are wonderful, friendly and well knowledgeable volunteers and staff around to provide tours, answer any of your questions and share personal stories about the planes and the time period when they were used. There were multi media presentations in certain areas of the museum which gave some of the the planes their due in terms of historical significance. I am not necessarily an aviation buff but I am a history buff so for me this was a great stop on so many levels. When you get an opportunity to speak with men who lived through the war and have first hand information about the planes you are viewing it is an added bonus. You have plenty of time to explore and investigate other areas of the museum after your tour. The exhibits are all well laid out and it is easy to get close to so many of the planes - actually standing right under them, platforms where you can look inside and even sit in the pilot's seat! The maps are pretty clear and easy to follow. I would recommend a hat, sun lotion and a bottle of water though as you do have to go out doors to see some parts of the museum as there are different hangers and the bone yard is outdoors with realatvily no shade. The museum and its center are clean and well maintained. There is a wonderful gift shop on site with a good selection of gifts and souvenirs. We also enjoyed lunch at the Flight Grill where the food was very good. They had an extensive menu of burgers and sandwiches which were reasonably priced for the location. This is a spot where you could easily spend a good portion of your day or more and it is well worth a visit....

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank yaflincoln
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
256 reviews
38 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 194 helpful votes
“One Of The Best..”
Reviewed 20 August 2014

I'm a huge aviation buff and travel the world for air shows and aviation events.

My trip into Tucson was entirely for visiting Pima and I am so glad that I did.

By far this is one of the five best air and space museums on the PLANET.

You have full access to walk around, touch, experience hundreds of aircraft.

This is a MUST SEE!!!!!

Go early in the morning if you're going to walk around a lot.. It gets hot in the afternoons...

I spent one FULL day there and could have easily spent another day.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank CaptainMHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Pima Air & Space Museum also viewed

 

Been to Pima Air & Space Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing