We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet Tucson Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Adobe Rose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adobe Rose Inn
Ranked #8 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Quiet Tucson Getaway”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014

The charming Adobe Rose and her magnificent caretakers/owners, Jim and Marion, provided my wife and I with just the quiet Tucson getaway that we were looking for. We were able to explore the area, or rest peacefully in our lovely room by the pool (and jacuzzi!) with the perfect balance of attention and privacy from Jim and Marion. The resting was all the better, having two such wonderful hearts so nearby! We were welcomed like family during our stay in the holiday season, and this was a delightful and unexpected surprise :-)

Thank you both for such a perfect visit!!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aroseinn, Owner at Adobe Rose Inn, responded to this review, 27 January 2014
Happy New Year! I am so glad that you enjoyed a relaxing, quiet stay at the Adobe Rose. Even though the Inn is within walking distance of the University of Arizona, our historic neighborhood is safe and quiet. It's hard to believe that we are so near so many college students!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    19
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
42
95
22
48
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Mesa, Arizona
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We stayed for a football game. The Inn is within walking distance of the U of A stadium. It was a day game, and the owners let us check in early and park there. The room was large, clean, and had a private balcony. Breakfast was a nice way to start the day! We will definately return, and hopefully stay for longer than a night.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Crez4jc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aroseinn, Owner at Adobe Rose Inn, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at the Adobe Rose Inn and we were pleased to accommodate your early arrival. The Inn's location, two blocks from the University of Arizona, is great for college sports fans. We hope to see you again soon for another sporting event.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City West, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 November 2013

Had a very enjoyable stay for a football game weekend. The hosts were wonderful and were very helpful for several of our questions with suggestions for food and entertainment. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank md7272
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aroseinn, Owner at Adobe Rose Inn, responded to this review, 30 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words about the Inn. Sorry about the outcome of the football game. The Inn is in a great location for college sports fans. We like to think of ourselves as the only parking space for the games that comes with breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 November 2013 via mobile

The Adobe Rose Inn is a great place to stay for a weekend getaway, but also surprisingly workable for a business trip. Wi-Fi connection was very reliable. Room had plenty of space to set up a laptop and work space. Owners are very friendly and down-to-earth. They live on property, but in a separate building, so you have a bit more privacy than a standard B&B. If you like to sleep in or want a fridge and microwave, request the Casitas room. If you want a bathtub the size of an Olympic swimming pool, request the SM Hughes room. I seriously spent a cumulative day in that tub. The delicious breakfasts are made fresh by Merrian every morning, and we never ate the same thing twice. The owners also have a side business of making scones, and they're the best I've ever tasted. The Inn is located in walking distance of several good restaurants. Big thumbs up! Would recommend!

Stayed October 2013, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Caitlin0yay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aroseinn, Owner at Adobe Rose Inn, responded to this review, 11 November 2013
Hi Kate: Thanks for your kind words. We so enjoyed you and Amanda and also thank you for choosing the Adobe Rose Inn. The rest of our guests- in fact, the whole neighborhood - fell in love with your mode of transportation. And the ride in that Oscar Meyer weinermobile was just too much fun! You are proof that the Inn has ample parking for everyone.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2013

My husband and I decided to stay at the Adobe Rose during our road trip honeymoon because I am a teacher and they offered a teacher discount during the summer at their lovely BnB. Marion and Jim were wonderful hosts and upgraded us to an even better room, gave us a bottle of champagne, and a (adobe) rose. The house and the hosts are inviting, informational, and fun to be around. Marion is a great cook with a wall of cookbooks and cooking magazines. There is a room filled with brochures and pamphlets for nearby sights. My husband loved the pool and often had it to himself. Marion and Jim were very helpful with suggestions of things to do and places to eat. They were very professional but you could also tell that they love their BnB and really care about their guests. They are simply good, quality, people which translates to being amazing hosts. I look forward for a reason to visit Tucson so my husband and I can stay at the Adobe Rose again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aroseinn, Owner at Adobe Rose Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
Jenny, thank you for spending part of your honeymoon at the Adobe Rose. Celebrations like yours and Justin's are our favorite part of what we do. And thank you for being a teacher. You provide a future for us all. Please keep in mind that we will be running our teacher discount from June until September in 2014. Come on back and see us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 August 2013

My daughter and I stayed here while touring U of A. This was our first stay in a Bed and Breakfast and it was absolutely wonderful. The Inn is beautiful, very clean and the hosts Jim and Marion are fabulous. They are fantastic to talk with, and will help you with anything. The breakfast is so delicious and they are very accommodating to dietary restrictions. The location is perfect for campus and other attractions. Hopefully my daughter will chose U of A so I stay here whenever I visit.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aroseinn, Owner at Adobe Rose Inn, responded to this review, 12 September 2013
We hope that your daughter chooses UA also. We'd be delighted to see you again. Our location 2 blocks from the U makes it easy for parents to connect with their students. We wish your daughter the best success wherever she chooses to continue her education and a great senior year of high school!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Prior Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2013

My family stayed at the Adobe Rose in late July while we toured the campus of the University of Arizona. The Inn was a quick fifteen minute walk from the University bookstore, where the tours begin. It was really nice to be able to walk over to the campus and come back after the tour for a dip in the pool.
Breakfast both days was excellent. Everything was made fresh and definitely had a local feel. Jim and Marion helped make the breakfast relaxing and were also able to provide excellent suggestions for dining and entertainment in Tucson.
We stayed in the two-room suite. My wife and I had the bedroom, while our son slept on the bed that was made up in the kitchen/living room area. The bedroom didn't have a tv in it, but Jim was kind enough to bring one up for us so that we could have a bit of a separate space from our son in the evening. Even in the summer heat, the air conditioning kept the place nice and comfortable.
The bathroom area isn't all shiny and modern, but it is clean and I loved that the sink area could be separated from the shower/toilet by a sliding door. This helped make it much easier for everyone to get ready in the morning.
The time of year that we went is low season in Tucson, so for the price of the B&B, we could have had two hotel rooms which would have also allowed our son to have a separate space. If you want the modern, clinical feel you might want to go that route. If, however, you want the friendly atmosphere, local knowledge, and homemade food that you can only get from excellent hosts, then I would recommend the Adobe Rose Inn. I look forward to staying again.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank basa13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aroseinn, Owner at Adobe Rose Inn, responded to this review, 16 August 2013
Thank you for your kind words about our breakfasts and our location. It is always fun to prepare food with a southwestern flair for guests who live outside the area. Our location next to the University of Arizona is convenient for guests visiting UA and we have an steady stream of interesting people from all over the world conversing at our breakfast table. We are delighted that you enjoyed our historic Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
1.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Sun Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 932 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 663 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#56 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 274 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
1.0 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adobe Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Rose Inn

Property: Adobe Rose Inn
Address: 940 N Olsen Ave, Tucson, AZ 85719-4951
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adobe Rose Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is a beautiful 1930's adobe home located in the historic Sam Hughes neighborhood, just two blocks east of the UA. Along with southwestern charm, the Adobe Rose Inn offers 6 unique rooms, each with a private bathroom, cable TV, hair dryer, robes, and coffee makers. Inn amenities include a pool, spa, wireless internet, serene courtyards, and irresistible breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotel.de, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Priceline so you can book your Adobe Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adobe Rose Inn Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing