We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It was the best B&B in Europe, and North America that we have stayed at in 26 years of travel.”
Review of Adobe Rose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Adobe Rose Inn
Ranked #7 of 45 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Marion and Jim were outstanding hosts for our 10 day stay. They supplied us with all the information we could use with brochures and directions. Each breakfast was different and excellent. Breakfast conversation was stimulating with people from all over the country and some related to the University. We were in the Casita; it was comfortable and worked out perfectly for us. My husband is handicapped so it was convenient to walk out onto 2nd St. to our car. Our grandson visited and enjoyed the pool even though it is unheated and chilly in March. All in all it was a wonderful vacation and we would highly recommend staying there..

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aroseinn, Owner at Adobe Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

We feel very honored by your kind words and can't tell you what a pleasure it was to have you and your husband as guests at our Inn. I'm glad you enjoyed the Casita and its colorful décor which is reminiscent of a Mexican hacienda. I never like to serve guests the same breakfast twice during their stay and am delighted that you enjoyed each of them. Good luck with the rest of the winter in New England! Spring has to be just around the corner and I'm happy that you two got to enjoy the warm Tucson weather.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (282)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 282 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here for an overnighter in early March. After reading the reviews and seeing the photos on line all I can say is….when were those photos taken??? The positive is that it is located in a convenient location near the University in a historic neighborhood that boasts some great old homes, some remodeled and updates, others not at all. This is under the "not at all" category. Another positive is that the owners are quite nice. However, the rooms and property need some serious deep cleaning. We wanted to sit outside on the patio and the furniture was so dirty we didn't want to get our clothes messed up. The sofa and TV in the room is circa 1985. The linens were old and smelled stale. The pillows were like postage stamps. The mattress (at least in our room) was hard as a rock, which some people might appreciate. You get a tiny squeeze packet of shampoo. There is no central AC so I advise against bedding down here when it is hot. At least in the casita the window box unit is in the other room. If you want natural light in the room you must open the blinds to the swimming pool or the laundry room. And the frat housing across the street provided us with noisy partying until 3 am. All in all a miserable night's sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid the Casita
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bike-n-ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aroseinn, Owner at Adobe Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Yes, actually you did miss a lot.
Guests continually tell us that they enjoy staying at the Adobe Rose Inn for many reasons. Our breakfasts are phenomenal. Not only do we serve delicious breakfasts but we have interesting guests at the breakfast table. For example, while you were here we had an astronomer applying for a faculty position at the University, a couple from Edmonton, British Columbia here on Vacation, another couple from Denver who once lived in the area and were back visiting friends. Breakfast conversations included Tucson being a top astronomy destination, to our top attractions, great restaurants, and the basketball tournament. Our guests tell us that they like our Southwestern decor and how comfortable the rooms and outdoor courtyards make them feel. Others tell us that we as innkeepers are available to help them with driving directions, restaurant recommendations, and answer questions about Southern Arizona. Still others say they enjoy walking through our neighborhood - incidentally, there is not a fraternity house with in seven blocks of the Inn - , park and the university campus.
When guests arrive, we give them a tour of our inn and show them where we live. If anything comes up, we tell them to let us know. Unfortunately, you did not communicate that there was a problem for us to address.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We had the pleasure of staying with Jim & Marion March 6th. Unfortunately it was too short of a visit as we fell in love with this lovely B&B. From the pre arrival communication to the in depth tour given to us by Jim, it was a first class experience. We stayed in the Atanacia Room, just steps from the inviting pool and soothing spa. The decorator touches throughout were well thought out and tasteful. We have stayed at several B&B's in the western U.S. and my better half swears this is her favorite. Our hosts prepared a delicious breakfast from hot steamy coffee and what appeared to be freshly squeezed OJ and an imaginative selection of breakfast items. We were here for pleasure but anyone that has business at the U of A, it is only a short walk away but the Inn is well hidden in a very quiet residential area. We look forward to our return, hopefully longer visit.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dwight P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aroseinn, Owner at Adobe Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your kind words. We, too, are looking forward to your return visit. I'm delighted that you enjoyed the Inn's décor. We've had much fun searching shops in Southern Arizona and in Mexico to find just the right pieces that allow us to be good ambassadors for the Southwest. The majority of art hanging on the walls was created by local artists and we feel very fortunate that some of those pieces were created by some of our guests. Come back when the weather is warmer and enjoy our freshly renovated pool!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2014

My partner and I stayed there for several nights in late February / early March 2014. Jim and Marion were very gracious, welcoming, and friendly hosts. The Inn draws a diverse group of people, including individuals on vacation and candidates interviewing at the University of Arizona. During breakfast, the conversations were always interesting, and the other guests were friendly and intelligent. The Inn is very well maintained, and the rooms are charming and beautifully decorated. The Adobe Rose is centrally located in Tucson, with easy access to the Univ. of Arizona, downtown, and tourist attractions. Jim and Marion provided us with a lot of suggestions for activities (e.g., places to hike). Breakfasts were outstanding, with a different and delicious meal prepared each day we stayed there. Tom had to fill in for Marion for a few days while she had to go out of town, and he did an outstanding job of preparing breakfast. We look forward to my next visit to Tucson and staying at the Adobe Rose. Thank you Jim, Marion, and Tom!

Room Tip: The La Casita Room is excellent if you are staying for several days. There is a sleeping room and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dave O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aroseinn, Owner at Adobe Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay in our Casita. It is a real piece of local history as it was built of adobe around 1938. We are so fortunate to have a steady flow of interesting people from all over the world. Conversation is never dull! It was fun directing you to hiking trails and providing an excellent hiking trail book to help you find the perfect trail. There are so many of them. You two were delightful guests and we look forward to your next stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We stayed for two days in the Santa Catalina room. Room was very nicely decorated with everything you might need. Had extra blankets and towels, robes, small fridge, microwave and sink. Was perfect for our stay but does not have a sitting area so if you plan to spend time in the room you may want to choose one of the other rooms.

It is located in a residential area about two or three blocks from the U of A so if this is your destination the location is perfect. There are student type restaurants within a three or four block walk but otherwise you will need a car. We ate downtown both nights and found it to be only about 10 or 15 minutes away.

The owners are very friendly and happy to make restaurant or activity suggestions. Breakfasts are great. Presentation and ingredients used are top notch. We were there on Valentine's Day and were greeted with a festive table starting with a sliced fresh pear with heart shaped candies, waffle with strawberries and accented with a heart shaped wafer and a scone to finish off the meal.

We will definitely consider this place on our next trip to Tucson.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jill1349
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aroseinn, Owner at Adobe Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2014

Thank you for your kind words about the Inn's location and our breakfasts. The Inn is near the University and classes, sporting events, theater, dance and museums are within a short walk. I'm glad you enjoyed our breakfasts. We always try to use fresh, locally grown food to make the breakfasts especially yummy!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed new years eve. We really enjoy B&B's and this was no exception. We loved staying here. The inn was beautiful and cozy! We instantly felt at home once meeting Jim. He took extra time to find us a local place to eat (that would also be open and available on NYE). We ended up staying in and enjoying our room while playing games and enjoying the fireplace in the room. I almost thought we were the only ones staying that night until we had breakfast the following morning. It was quiet and so comfortable. Breakfast was filling and amazing. We loved talking with Jim and Marion and hearing their wonderful stories. We would DEFINITELY stay here again!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jillians2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aroseinn, Owner at Adobe Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Happy New Year! I am so glad that we were able to recommend places in the area that met your needs. We always laugh and tell people that part of our job is to "eat our way through Tucson" so we can recommend the best restaurants. Tucson has so many lovely places to hike or just stroll. Our Desert Museum is a world renown attraction and we can direct you to it and other attractions. It's part of what we do.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

The charming Adobe Rose and her magnificent caretakers/owners, Jim and Marion, provided my wife and I with just the quiet Tucson getaway that we were looking for. We were able to explore the area, or rest peacefully in our lovely room by the pool (and jacuzzi!) with the perfect balance of attention and privacy from Jim and Marion. The resting was all the better, having two such wonderful hearts so nearby! We were welcomed like family during our stay in the holiday season, and this was a delightful and unexpected surprise :-)

Thank you both for such a perfect visit!!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Duncan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aroseinn, Owner at Adobe Rose Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Happy New Year! I am so glad that you enjoyed a relaxing, quiet stay at the Adobe Rose. Even though the Inn is within walking distance of the University of Arizona, our historic neighborhood is safe and quiet. It's hard to believe that we are so near so many college students!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
Lodge on the Desert
#19 of 129 in Tucson
1,019 reviews
Aloft Tucson University
#59 of 129 in Tucson
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
West University
Catalina Park Inn Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adobe Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Rose Inn

Address: 940 N Olsen Ave, Tucson, AZ 85719-4951
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range: £118 - £188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adobe Rose Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is a beautiful 1930's adobe home located in the historic Sam Hughes neighborhood, just two blocks east of the UA. Along with southwestern charm, the Adobe Rose Inn offers 6 unique rooms, each with a private bathroom, cable TV, hair dryer, robes, and coffee makers. Inn amenities include a pool, spa, wireless internet, serene courtyards, and irresistible breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Ebookers so you can book your Adobe Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adobe Rose Inn Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing