We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“"Great location for visiting University of Arizona"”
Review of Adobe Rose Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Adobe Rose Inn
Ranked #8 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Hamilton, New York
Level Contributor
79 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“"Great location for visiting University of Arizona"”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Very convenient and welcoming location for work at UofA. Jim and Marion are thoughtful hosts, rooms are comfortable, and the breakfasts a real treat. Conversation around the table is engaging, sometimes with a cross-section of academics and tourists from around the world.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bruce S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aroseinn, Owner at Adobe Rose Inn, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
We are so pleased that you found the location of the Adobe Rose Inn convenient. Being close the University of Arizona is a huge benefit. We get to meet interesting people from around the world, young people starting their academic journey, people who attend performances held at UA and sports fans. We jokingly tell people we are the only parking space for UA sporting events that comes with breakfast. We hope you return soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    251
    19
    2
    1
    2
See reviews for
42
95
22
48
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
74 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 206 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 April 2014

We travel extensively and stay almost exclusively in B&Bs in price range $175-250/night. We stayed at the Adobe Rose Inn for a few nights earlier this year. It is centrally located for activities in the Tucson area. It is nicely decorated in a Southwestern style and has some unique character. The hosts, Jim and Marion, are very pleasant, accommodating and helpful. The breakfasts were healthy (fruit each day), tasty and just the right amount without leaving you feeling stuffed. Scones are Marion’s specialty and we had one each morning. Excellent! We stayed in the Sam Hughes room which was very spacious, nicely decorated and has a spacious and attractive tiled shower/bath.

However, if you are a light sleeper or interested in sleeping in you should be aware that it can be noisy. This B&B is near a busy road, trains occasionally went through the city at night blowing their horns and helicopters frequently flew overhead. Additionally, because the house is very old, the wooden floors creak extensively with every step. The bed in the Sam Hughes room was very noisy, which was annoying if your partner shifted while sleeping (it was also very hard - which is our preference - but be aware of this). Also, the hosts started working in the kitchen each morning at approximately 6:30 a.m. There are 2 rooms right off the kitchen and we wouldn’t recommend staying in either if you want to sleep in. No problem for us as we had full days planned.

Finally, we were a bit disappointed with the housekeeper. She didn’t do a very thorough job in the bathroom and we had to dust off and then clean the in-room coffee maker and glasses in order to use them.

We enjoyed staying here and would again. It is a pleasant place and Jim and Marion are delightful hosts. Their personalities and yummy breakfasts are the main attractions to us. We just recommend being aware of the potential for noise.

Room Tip: If you're a light sleeper don't choose the two rooms off the kitchen (Sam Hughes is one).
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Snicker D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aroseinn, Owner at Adobe Rose Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed staying at the Adobe Rose and would stay with us again. Welcome to the long list of return guests. I enjoyed baking dairy free breakfast pastries for you and it was fun having you review the new recipe I tried. Thanks for the positive recommendations. Southern Arizona is very dusty when the wind is blowing like it was when you were here. We passed your suggestions to the housekeeper. Please remember next time you’re here to let us know immediately if you find something not to your liking so we can deal with the problem quickly and enhance your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Saint Paul, Minnesota, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

I have often stayed at the Adobe Rose -- alone or with my husband -- when traveling for business or for pleasure. It's always been great: wonderful hosts, delicious breakfasts -- including gluten-free and other options -- and a truly welcoming atmosphere. The Inn itself is beautiful, well maintained, and centrally located. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: All rooms are lovely. A couple have refrigerators and one has a small kitchen.
See more room tips
Green Features: Owners are committed to such practices and work to keep the Inn green and energy-efficient.
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Nancy G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aroseinn, Owner at Adobe Rose Inn, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
It's always a pleasure to see you and your husband. I am so pleased that you enjoyed our gluten-free breakfasts . Thanks for trying our scones made with olive oil. Your chef husband's evaluations are important to us and we're glad he approves. See you in a few months.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

This is a very nice b and b....but keep in mind it is in a residential neighbourhood. If you have a car and are planning to do day trips then it is perfect. You are close to the university which is very nice for morning or evening walks. The hosts, Marion and Jim, are wonderful and the breakfasts are so delicious...yes, the scones are mouth watering!! We only stayed a couple of nights, but found it quiet and restful which was a perfect start to our trip around Arizona.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Linda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aroseinn, Owner at Adobe Rose Inn, responded to this review, 2 April 2014
We're so glad that you enjoyed the breakfasts at the Inn. We are located in residential central Tucson which is a short drive to literally dozens of world class hiking and biking trails. We're delighted that you had the opportunity to enjoy the UA campus. It is lovely and a great place for a stroll. You can also walk to the 4 museums that are on or near campus along with a wide variety of restaurants. When July rolls around, the modern street car will pass through campus and downtown Tucson will become available to guests without cars.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wilbraham, Massachusetts
1 review
Reviewed 23 March 2014

Marion and Jim were outstanding hosts for our 10 day stay. They supplied us with all the information we could use with brochures and directions. Each breakfast was different and excellent. Breakfast conversation was stimulating with people from all over the country and some related to the University. We were in the Casita; it was comfortable and worked out perfectly for us. My husband is handicapped so it was convenient to walk out onto 2nd St. to our car. Our grandson visited and enjoyed the pool even though it is unheated and chilly in March. All in all it was a wonderful vacation and we would highly recommend staying there..

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ruth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aroseinn, Owner at Adobe Rose Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
We feel very honored by your kind words and can't tell you what a pleasure it was to have you and your husband as guests at our Inn. I'm glad you enjoyed the Casita and its colorful décor which is reminiscent of a Mexican hacienda. I never like to serve guests the same breakfast twice during their stay and am delighted that you enjoyed each of them. Good luck with the rest of the winter in New England! Spring has to be just around the corner and I'm happy that you two got to enjoy the warm Tucson weather.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arizona
Level Contributor
92 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2014

We stayed here for an overnighter in early March. After reading the reviews and seeing the photos on line all I can say is….when were those photos taken??? The positive is that it is located in a convenient location near the University in a historic neighborhood that boasts some great old homes, some remodeled and updates, others not at all. This is under the "not at all" category. Another positive is that the owners are quite nice. However, the rooms and property need some serious deep cleaning. We wanted to sit outside on the patio and the furniture was so dirty we didn't want to get our clothes messed up. The sofa and TV in the room is circa 1985. The linens were old and smelled stale. The pillows were like postage stamps. The mattress (at least in our room) was hard as a rock, which some people might appreciate. You get a tiny squeeze packet of shampoo. There is no central AC so I advise against bedding down here when it is hot. At least in the casita the window box unit is in the other room. If you want natural light in the room you must open the blinds to the swimming pool or the laundry room. And the frat housing across the street provided us with noisy partying until 3 am. All in all a miserable night's sleep.

Room Tip: Avoid the Casita
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bike-n-ski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aroseinn, Owner at Adobe Rose Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Yes, actually you did miss a lot.
Guests continually tell us that they enjoy staying at the Adobe Rose Inn for many reasons. Our breakfasts are phenomenal. Not only do we serve delicious breakfasts but we have interesting guests at the breakfast table. For example, while you were here we had an astronomer applying for a faculty position at the University, a couple from Edmonton, British Columbia here on Vacation, another couple from Denver who once lived in the area and were back visiting friends. Breakfast conversations included Tucson being a top astronomy destination, to our top attractions, great restaurants, and the basketball tournament. Our guests tell us that they like our Southwestern decor and how comfortable the rooms and outdoor courtyards make them feel. Others tell us that we as innkeepers are available to help them with driving directions, restaurant recommendations, and answer questions about Southern Arizona. Still others say they enjoy walking through our neighborhood - incidentally, there is not a fraternity house with in seven blocks of the Inn - , park and the university campus.
When guests arrive, we give them a tour of our inn and show them where we live. If anything comes up, we tell them to let us know. Unfortunately, you did not communicate that there was a problem for us to address.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chandler, Arizona
2 reviews
Reviewed 14 March 2014

We had the pleasure of staying with Jim & Marion March 6th. Unfortunately it was too short of a visit as we fell in love with this lovely B&B. From the pre arrival communication to the in depth tour given to us by Jim, it was a first class experience. We stayed in the Atanacia Room, just steps from the inviting pool and soothing spa. The decorator touches throughout were well thought out and tasteful. We have stayed at several B&B's in the western U.S. and my better half swears this is her favorite. Our hosts prepared a delicious breakfast from hot steamy coffee and what appeared to be freshly squeezed OJ and an imaginative selection of breakfast items. We were here for pleasure but anyone that has business at the U of A, it is only a short walk away but the Inn is well hidden in a very quiet residential area. We look forward to our return, hopefully longer visit.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dwight P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
aroseinn, Owner at Adobe Rose Inn, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Thank you for your kind words. We, too, are looking forward to your return visit. I'm delighted that you enjoyed the Inn's décor. We've had much fun searching shops in Southern Arizona and in Mexico to find just the right pieces that allow us to be good ambassadors for the Southwest. The majority of art hanging on the walls was created by local artists and we feel very fortunate that some of those pieces were created by some of our guests. Come back when the weather is warmer and enjoy our freshly renovated pool!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
1.9 mi away
Best Western Royal Sun Inn & Suites
1.9 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#24 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 943 reviews
0.6 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
4.5 of 5 bubbles 675 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Aloft Tucson University
Aloft Tucson University
#58 of 128 in Tucson
4.0 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
2.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
1.0 mi away
Tucson University Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adobe Rose Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adobe Rose Inn

Property: Adobe Rose Inn
Address: 940 N Olsen Ave, Tucson, AZ 85719-4951
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adobe Rose Inn 3.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Inn is a beautiful 1930's adobe home located in the historic Sam Hughes neighborhood, just two blocks east of the UA. Along with southwestern charm, the Adobe Rose Inn offers 6 unique rooms, each with a private bathroom, cable TV, hair dryer, robes, and coffee makers. Inn amenities include a pool, spa, wireless internet, serene courtyards, and irresistible breakfasts. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotel.de, Agoda, Priceline and HRS so you can book your Adobe Rose Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adobe Rose Inn Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing