We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Desert Visit”
Review of Casa Tierra

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Casa Tierra
Ranked #17 of 45 Tucson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 April 2012

We had a wonderful 2 night stay at Casa Tierra in March 2012. The B & B is close to the Desert Museum and Saguaro National Park. Our room was clean with a private patio including
outdoor fireplace. The grounds of the B & B are filled with many varieties of cactus, Our host, Dave Malmquist prepared great breakfasts each day. There is a common room with computer, tv and lots of reading material. Wifi worked well. We enjoyed a glass of wine on our patio each evening and a soak in the hot tub. We would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjk51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (43)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

31 - 37 of 43 reviews

Reviewed 21 November 2011

Our daughter and her fiance were married last weekend at Saguaro National Park, in a memorable sunset ceremony with Tucson's stunning mountains as a backdrop. Casa Tierra B&B, a few minutes away from the park's visitor center, could not have been better for our out-of-town family and friends. Dave Malmquist is a superb host who makes sure everything is wonderful, including three-course gourmet breakfasts worthy of a five-star restaurant.

Room Tip: The two-bedroom suite was perfect for us, two children and a grand-child
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Donald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 October 2011

Casa Tierra is a small unique B&B Inn west of Tucson AZ in the Sonoran desert at the base of the Tucson mountians. The Inn is an all natural adobe hacienda blending perfectly into its Sonoran desert surroundings. You believe you are all alone in the desert. The Inn is charming and rustic, reminicent of old Mexico. It has many beautiful arches and colorful ceramic tiles. It is hidden away from noise and traffic yet close to many interesting venues.The Arizona desert Museum is very close at hand. Casa Tierra is beautiful, clean, quiet, secure and offers first class comfort and personal attention to those fortunate few wishing to experience its serenity. Our Host and Inn Keeper presented us with unique vegetarian breakfasts each morning. Each of the three rooms and suite, opens into a large enclosed courtyard. We sat drinking freshly brewed rich coffee reading the morning paper, as Humming birds flew in to feast on nectar. When the sun sets the courtyard is softly lit with many candles and sounds of babbling water from the fountain. The atmosphere fills the senses. We sometimes sat in our own private ramada enjoying the small fire place. The desert experience was most memorable. Returning to the Inn each evening was as a welcome home comming. We had our privacy at all times. A great couples getaway.

Room Tip: Any of the three rooms or suite is an excellent choice. All are private. This small B&B Inn has...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Steve O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

Everything about Casa Tierra was terrific. The rooms and central courtyard were both decorated beautifully. Our room wasn't large, but had a comfortable bed, a dresser, a few small tables, and a nice bar. The bathroom was small. Everyting was very clean and well kept. We had a covered patio with fireplace looking out to the awesome desert grounds. Catching an amazing sunset and sitting out at night with a bottle of wine was certainly one of the highlights of our trip. There's a telescope for some star viewing, and the stars are in abundance out in the desert at night. Dave was great. He made us feel welcome, helped us find restaurants in the area, and was a pleasure to talk to over breakfast. The breakfast...WAS DELICIOUS!!! A short drive to the west side of the park and Tuscon Studios, I highly recommend this place for anyone interested in the desert experience.

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank swearengen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 January 2011

Wonderful B&B in a perfect location for visiting Saguaro National Park and the Arizona-Sonora Desert Museum--the entrances to each are just down the road. Rooms are in an adobe brick house with a cloistered central courtyard and wild desert with tall saguaros right outside. The back garden attracts many interesting birds that can be watched during breakfast. Breakfast itself is superb--David is an amazing cook and a most congenial host. At night, we enjoyed a fire in the Mexican fireplace on our private patio and also the hot tub in the garden--both good sites for star gazing. Inside, the rooms have decorative ceramic tiling, coffee makers, a fridge, and microwave--everything you might need has been thought of. Would definitely stay here again and recommend it to friends--much more interesting than a swank chain hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RainedOut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2010

Casa Tierra is a great place to stay to get the real desert experience! It is west of Tucson, right next to Saguaro National Park and the Arizona Desert Museum. From the inn, you can just walk out into the desert in all directions. Dave is a great host. He is full of helpful information and his home-cooked breakfasts are delicious. The hot tub is a fabulous place for stargazing! The sunsets from the inn are just unbelieveable! This is the place for peace and quiet, to really be is the desert and still have quick access to the sights in Tucson.

  • Stayed: December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bkriehl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2010

This is an outstanding Bed and Breakfast, and this is saying a lot given how picky my husband and I tend to be. I've stayed here twice, once in the smallest room with my husband, and most recently in the suite, bringing along our son. The setting is an expanse of desert covered in cacti, desert flora, and hopping with quail and rabbits. At night, the stars are breathtaking -- no city lights to interfere. The building is also lovely -- made all of exposed red adobe brick, so it looks rustic and fits with the setting. All of the rooms surround a quaint courtyard with a fountain, grapefruit tree, and little outdoor shaded tables, chairs, rockers, and couches (lanai style) for reading, drinking tea, and relaxing. There are homemade cookies, bagels, yogurt, granola, and hot and cold drinks available full time in the courtyard. What a peaceful environment. At night, the inn keeper lights candles all around the courtyard, and there are luminaries atop the roof. You can also stargaze while sitting in the jaccuzzi, which is set off just a little way from the house but makes you feel that you're in the middle of a jaccuzi in the remote desert. The tile and painting in the bathrooms are charming and colorful, as is the rustic decorating style, with antique furniture and objects woven throughout. Books and magazines are in plentiful supply everywhere, in the couryard and the little common room, which is complete with TV/DVD player, comfy couches, a chess set. Off of the common room is a small but well eqipped workout room with so many workout machines I couldn't actually identify what they all were. (I stuck to the treadmill.) The breakfasts are mouthwatering and entirely vegetarian, but so delicious and filling a meat-lover would never miss the meat. It starts with a fruit dish such as grapefruit brulee or fresh strawberries drizzled with chocolate, along with a pastry like fresh-baked scones or muffins with jelly, and then comes a delectable southwestern-style main dish so attractive you might want to photograph it, such as prickly pear stuffed French toast or Greek fritata. Yum! And of course, coffee, tea, orange juice, etc. The inn keeper, Dave, is friendly and subdued, offering all the info you could need or want during your stay but never being at all intrusive. A nice bonus for families with (hopefully well-behaved) children, the suite has a children's bedroom with two twin beds, as well as a master bedroom and bath, in addition to a living/dining area and private deck and jacuzzi. I rarely find a bed & breadfast willing to allow children, but this suite is able to accommodate them without disturbing the other guests, and he'll serve a separate breakfast to you and your children in the suite dining room. The only drawbacks that I can think of are that this iB&B s about a 40 minute drive from any really good restaurants. The restaurants closer are perfectly adequate, but very casual and nothing to write home about. But if you're willing to make the drive, there's plenty of good dining in nearby Tucson. The inn is also located very near the Desert Museam, which is kind of a combination of a botanical garden and zoo and a great way to spend the day. Another fun stop is the Wildlife Museam, filled with (taxidermy style) stuffed animals of all varieties, some of which you can pet -- great for children, but a fun quick stop for couples too, especially on a (rare) rainy day. We are thinking of making this place our second home.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineArizona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
15.5 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
707 reviews
10.2 mi away
Casino Del Sol
Casino Del Sol
#9 of 129 in Tucson
908 reviews
24.1 mi away
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
17.6 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
28.4 mi away
Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Casa Tierra? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Casa Tierra

Address: 11155 W Calle Pima, Tucson, AZ 85743-9462
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range: £142 - £165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Casa Tierra 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Casa Tierra reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Casa Tierra Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing