We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
Catalina Inn(Tucson)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (1,334)
Filter reviews
1,334 results
Traveller rating
999
172
79
53
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
999
172
79
53
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsequine experiencethai massagejuice barcardio drummingfloating meditationquantum leapspirit flightchallenge courseaqua zenandrew wolfmeditation classesno tipping policylife changingpersonal growthmountain bikingcomfort zoneguest services
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
1,121 - 1,126 of 1,334 reviews
Reviewed 11 February 2012

The employees do a nice job here but their resources are limited due to construction. Guest rooms are presently converted to be massage areas, pedicures are done in portable vibrating tubs of water, and there is construction noise during the day.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TomH260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiravalGM, General Manager at Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Hi Tom - Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write. I'm so sorry to hear that the renovations on property disrupted your stay. Throughout the spa renovation process, our entire team has taken special care to eliminate noise and keep potential disturbances to an absolute minimum because we put our guests' experience as the highest priority. I do hope that you will choose to return once the new spa opens in May - it will be absolutely breathtaking.
Regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

Spa services are too expensive. You are paying premium prices for the resort. Be warned: don't use daily allowance for golf. The actual charge at the golf course was $54 and the resort deducted $130. Rip Off!!! Food and service was great.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ersgolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiravalGM, General Manager at Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 16 February 2012

Hi there - I'd like to take a moment to respond your comments about golf at Miraval. First, I want to clarify that we have a Golf Program at Miraval run by Glen Griffith. Glen offers private lessons and on-course coaching sessions that teach golf in a way that is unique to Miraval and incorporates the tenets of mindfulness and balance. For guests who would like to simply book a round of golf on their own (what you refer to in your review), we contract with the various golf courses on a year round blended rate and that is our only option to assure our guests get priority tee times and booking arrangements no matter what time of year. Yes, some months it is more affordable but at high season when rates are above the $130 credit, we take a loss, so ultimately the credit becomes a wash. I am sure you are aware that the golf transfers and set up of the golf rounds are additional costs Miraval incurs but offers to our guests complimentary.

Additionally, we have made arrangements for our guests to golf at private member courses where fees are much higher than the $130 credit. The complimentary transportation and access to exclusive courses are benefits our guests receive by this arrangement. Instead of having our guests pay out of pocket a la carte directly to the golf course venue and having to coordinate transportation, we feel this is the best option for our guests to keep the cohesiveness of the Miraval experience since we work with the courses to insure VIP treatment for our guests and handle the logistics. I hope you can see this flexibility as a benefit, providing you with a choice to spend your resort credit outside of Miraval instead of restricting it to be used on in house activities only.

Regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2012

About an hour out od Tucson, so not easy to enjoy the city. Mountain biking is nice. Food is average to above average. They do serve wine which is a plus compared to aother Health resort in the area. The health analysis and individual exercise prescription available at other similar faciliities is lacking. Some of the rooms ar small and ordinary, rent the Catalina villas.

Room Tip: Rent the Catalina villas
  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank alvinmc67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiravalGM, General Manager at Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2012

Hi There - Thank you for your feedback. Yes, Miraval is about 45 mins to an hour from downtown Tucson. We are very much a destination spa meaning that 99% of the time, our guests are coming to Miraval for their vacation rather than "visiting Tucson." We pick our guests up at the airport when they arrive and drop them off when it's time to depart. We take care of it all. And since we offer offer tons of outdoor activities (i.e. hiking, mountain biking, rock climbing) and wellness activities along with our yoga and meditation offerings and fitness classes, there is no need to leave the property to have a varied and life-changing experience. I'm glad you enjoyed our wine list in the Brave Bill Lounge as we do recognize that having a full bar available to our guests is something that sets us apart from our peers. Although all our rooms and suites are wonderful, I appreciate your recommendation of the Catalina rooms as they are the epitome of modern luxury and offer unobstructed views of the Catalina mountains.
I do hope you choose to visit Miraval again in the future as I know you will enjoy the new spa opening in May.
Regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2012

Loved loved loved my four nights at Miraval, from the exercise classes to the food to the spa to the experiences. Best experience was "It's Not About the Horse" with Wyatt Webb and best spa treatment was Aqua Zen. Also loved private golf lesson, hiking, yoga, meditation, water workouts, EmergenC Facial. Loved sitting in the hot tub and looking at the mountains. Will definitely return. The temporary spa is fine. Looks like permanent spa will be finished soon.

Room Tip: I liked being able to see the mountains from my patio. Deluxe room does not have tub, just FYI, but is large and lovely.
  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rileypenny
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiravalGM, General Manager at Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2012

Hi - Thank you so much for taking the time to write. Glad to hear you enjoyed your time with Wyatt. He's a very special part of the Miraval team and has been doing the Equine Experience here since the beginning of Miraval. It sounds like your schedule here was very well-rounded - but I promise there's so much more to experience. We look forward to having you back on a return visit!
Regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2012

I have gone to miraval quite a few times and always enoyed myself until this past experience. The spa is closed for renovations and so they are using guest rooms for services. When you book appointments, they do not tel you this and i found that quite unprofessional......do not go until the spa reopens later this year. You do not get your monies worth with pools being closed-it feels more like a glorified hotel. WAIT! It is such a wonderful experience when the spa and the amenities are open.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank michael g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiravalGM, General Manager at Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 9 February 2012

Hi There - I'm sorry you weren't informed by your group leader or our Prebooking team of our very close to completion renovation. It is also listed on our website. Miraval would never intentionally not disclose this information and on the contrary, has been very forthcoming. In fact, the Spa Village has been hailed by our guests as you can see in many of the postings here on TripAdvisor. I have also ready your guest comment card and responded in a letter being sent to you. I wish you would have mentioned your displeasure while in house. As you know, the world-class treatments and amazing team of therapists and aestheticians is what makes the Miraval spa so special, and that has remained and will remain steadfast. I want to thank you sincerely for your loyalty to Miraval over the years. We look forward to seeing you later this year and welcome your feedback about the new spa!
Regards,
Michael

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews