We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa
Ranked #7 of 128 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
drgoldin90
Level Contributor
46 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 25 April 2014

The women in my family are on a yearly quest to try all the quality wellness spas around the country and this year we selected Miraval. We were blown away by the lovely grounds, the yummy food, the terrific lectures and the exercise classes. The photos on the website do not do the facility justice. The emphasis on mindfulness is so powerful it is almost like it is oozing out of the ground and calmness is everywhere. All of us were motivated to try new things and we were delighted with the zip line experience, the aerial yoga, floating meditation and the cardio drumming just to name a few. We also tried several different spa treatments and were especially pleased with the avayanga massages. My only minor criticism relates to the transportation. There is a complimentary shuttle to and from the airport but the last one of the day departs at 2:00 PM. As we had to spend the night at an airport hotel to get flights back to the east coast we would have preferred the ability to leave later without incurring the expense of a car service.

Room Tip: If you want to be close to the spa and the food request a room in the 100 series buildings. The roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drgoldin90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiravalGM, General Manager at Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hi there - Wow. Thank you for writing about your recent stay! I'm glad to hear that you reveled in the mindfulness philosophy that permeates everything we do. It sounds like you were able to try many of our newest experiences like floating meditation and aerial yoga - I'm glad you enjoyed them. We hope to see you back at Miraval soon!
Regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

950 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    695
    135
    58
    42
    20
See reviews for
110
173
218
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (297)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
71 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2014 via mobile

This was out second visit to Mireval. An amazing experience for our health, fitness, and couple binding. You truly get away from it all!! The beds are the softest fluffier things ever. Rooms are comfy. The grounds are impeccable and infused with tranquility. The spa services - everything we tried and I think we tried it all, fabulous.

The sessions with Coach Lee were mind opening, full if soul searching, and very beneficial to our marriage.

The food is carried, colorful, super healthy and very delicious.

My only request is for more couple oriented talks. The fitness classes from hikes to yoga to boot camp have always been challenging ( my husband and I are avid athletic conditioning goers and we workout at intense levels). We were not disappointed by the variety and the level of fitness in the classes . There is something for every level.

If course you can just sit by the pool in your robe and relax between your spa treatments. No need to kill yourself with workouts if you don't want to.

Another bonus- you walk around in workout clothes for the entire time. No jewlery or make up needed.

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Ana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiravalGM, General Manager at Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 28 April 2014
Hi Ana - Thank you for your kind words! I'm so pleased to hear that you and your husband had a wonderful stay with us! I'm glad that you were able to reconnect and find some of the activities and wellness lectures applicable to strengthening your marriage. We look forward to welcoming you back to Miraval again soon!
Regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
35 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Mirival is a phenomenal wellness facility. This is an ideal place to come to get grounding, perspective and rest. The programming of the resort is TOP notch! Food quality and presentation is AMAZING. Service aims to please and generally is very consistent. The staff are genuine and truly want to make sure you have a great experience. The only negative I noticed is that there seemed to be a lack of empowerment within the staff. There seemed to always be a need to "check with a supervisor"- at this caliber of hotel, empower your staff, they are great! I also found it difficult to find the supervisors when needed...
The Spa facilities were superb and the quality of massages was some of the best I have ever experienced. I will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MaConnects
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
nyc
Level Contributor
38 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

My college buddy and I go to a spa every spring. This was our first time at Miraval. The location is lovely. It is a good haul from the airport. Our flight arrived a good hour before others, so we had to wait to be shuttled to the property. The room was lovely. The pools were delightful. No one was ever in the lap pool, which was great fro me. The classes were fine, nothing out of the ordinary. This place really emphasizes the mind/body experience. Other spas have more classes on the hour, this has athletic classes as well as many lectures. There is something for everyone. I did not partake in the "risky" stuff, like jumping off high poles. The hikes were nice. The tennis teacher is excellent, but tennis here is clearly an afterthought. I didn't bring my racket and the rackets they had were disgusting, almost unusable. The balls were flat. I told the gm (or an assistant gm) at the beginning of my visit. I said he could go down the street to the Sports Authority and at least regrip the rackets and get new balls....this did not occur. I think for a 5 star resort, which costss top dollar, this is a big red mark.

the food was great, although, no one explained to us the menu until the last night in terms of what we could order, but we were never hungry!

while the spa itself is lovely, the treatments are nothing to write home about. in fact, they were often misrepresented in the brochure. I pointed this out to the manager on duty. she said the person giving the treatments did it wrong. I said I asked him and he said in his many years at the spa, he had never done what was listed in the book for this specific treatment.

the person I went with tried to sign up for horseback riding month before we went and never got in. she was quite disappointed. They never reached out to her when people cancelled.

There is an upcharge for almost everything....they give you a resort credit. My understanding from people who have been going for years is that this is a new policy. I think that some of the lectures should be free, although I get that if they didn't charge, maybe people wouldn't show.

Lastly...YOU MUST GET A NAGA massage. It really isn't a massage, it is more Thai body work. Either person is excellent.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank acetravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiravalGM, General Manager at Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi there - Thank you for writing about your recent stay. I'm glad you enjoyed the food during your stay and found the NAGA Thai treatment so therapeutic. Thank you for the feedback about the tennis equipment and waiting list management. I will follow up with the team on both accounts. We hope to see you back at Miraval on a future visit.
Regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Just returned from Miraval. It is a gorgeous spot about 45 minutes from the Tucson airport. I had pre-signed up for many activities. The variety is endless. Some are better than others. Try Chi Gong (Chinese version of Tai Chi) with Melissa. She is a bundle of energy! She also helped me develop some water exercises for my aching bones. Hugs to her! Glen gave me my first golf lesson ever and he was wonderful. Even sent me a follow-up e-mail with instructions so I can feel good about going again. The food was wonderful - I was never hungry. Kudos to the chef and wonderful wait staff. Outside patio eating is the way to go. My gorgeous room was in the 600 series - the farthest away from everything. Quite a hike in the 90 degree heat. Next time I'll book a closer room.

Room Tip: 600 series are the most gorgeous, but are farthest away from all the spa, restaurant and activities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank corky9108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiravalGM, General Manager at Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi there - Thank you so much for writing about your recent stay with us. I'm glad that you enjoyed Chi Gong and learned from Glen on the golf course. We look forward to having you back to Miraval on a future visit.
Regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Palo Alto, California
Level Contributor
161 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

Miraval is in a great desert location that includes an awesome assortment of cacti. We are here in April and many cacti are in bloom. This and the desert environment is very special. Since this is a spa, my wife and I have had two terrific massages, a lovely hike through the desert (the only detraction is that it was with 59 other people) and a couple of other excellent exercise and mindfulness classes.
The problem starts with the kitchen. The breakfast and lunch is a buffet, which seems to work well. The dinner is sit down, by reservations, which must be made on that day. They encourage reservations be made that morning at breakfast. This morning, we had to wait 15 minutes to make the reservation. That was annoying, but tonight we arrived and were seated at 7:58. It is amazing that our appetizers didn't arrive until 8:58. That's right. ONE HOUR! The problem wasn't with the wait staff. They were as frustrated as we were. This is a serious management problem. This resort simply can't handle the 225+ capacity crowd that it has. Not enough folks in the kitchen, not enough tables... I can't believe that they are trying to create stress so that we'd buy another massage, but this experience was happening all around us. It became a conversation amongst guests in the restaurant. Seriously, when you are spending $1200+ per day, you shouldn't be waiting an hour for dinner after you have been seated.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Coastman3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, CA
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My sisters and I went to Miraval for our mom's 70th birthday. We spent a 4 day weekend and 2 months later are still glowing from the experience. We all have different interests and could choose activities to our liking (from yoga, tennis, swimming and horseback riding to photography, hiking, meditation, pottery and cardio drumming and zip-lining!). We loved the atmosphere, the knowledgeable instructors, the healthy food (with a range of choices), and the positively happy and healthy environment there. Our challenge now will to figure out how to take what we learned and create more mindful, balanced everyday lives. And of course we all look forward to making this a regular annual retreat. It was not only relaxing but truly inspiring.

Room Tip: The Miraval experience is less about the rooms and more about getting out and doing the activities...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JWaschkau
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MiravalGM, General Manager at Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa, responded to this review, 24 April 2014
Hi there - Thank you for sharing such kind words! I speak for everyone here when I say I'm thrilled to hear that your mom's 70th birthday trip was such a wonderful retreat for all of you. We look forward to welcoming you back on a future visit to Miraval.
Regards,
Michael
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
18.8 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 128 in Tucson
758 reviews
18.6 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 128 in Tucson
663 reviews
12.6 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.4 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
13.9 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
22.3 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa

Property: Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa
Address: 5000 E. Via Estancia, Tucson, AZ 85739
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#5 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#19 Family Hotel in Tucson
#23 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#23 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa 4.5*
Number of rooms: 118
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Situated in the warm shade of the Santa Catalina Mountains in northern Tucson, on 400 acres of idyllic land, Miraval Resort & Spa is an award-winning luxury destination retreat dedicated to opening eyes, minds, and hearts. Personalized attention, sumptuous casita-style guest accommodations, and the Life in Balance Spa continuously help Miraval garner accolades from SpaFinder, Travel + Leisure, and Condé Nast Traveler.Miraval’s innovative Life in Balance Spa features unique, mind-body treatments such as Spirit Flight, Naga Thai, and Utopia. Outside of the spa, additional rejuvenating experiences such as healthful cuisine prepared by award-winning chefs, integrative wellness programs, fitness pursuits, and challenge activities are designed to physically and spiritually reconnect Miraval guests on the path to a life in balance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Hotels.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Miraval Arizona Resort And Spa
Miraval Arizona Hotel Tucson
Miraval Arizona Tucson
Miraval Life In Balance Resort Spa
Miraval Arizona Resort & Spa Tucson

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing