We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stained Carpets, Unbearably Uncomfortable Couches & Outdated Decor”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Starr Pass Golf Suites
Ranked #66 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Gilbert, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Stained Carpets, Unbearably Uncomfortable Couches & Outdated Decor”
Reviewed 8 July 2011

This was our first time staying at Starr Pass. I have played the golf course several times and enjoyed the course. However, the golf suites were a different story. When we entered our suite, there was a massive stain as if a large dog had just relieved itself. The couch in the living area was so uncomfortable that my wife and I decided to watch TV in the bedroom instead of enjoying our suite. Then the air conditioning went. We were told that they knew there was a problem but it was never adressed. We waited 4 hours until they figured out the problem. Normally I would not care, however it was 110 degrees outside and the room temperture went from 78 degrees to 90 degrees in a hurry. Would recommend staying at La Paloma or the Lodge at Ventana Canyon.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rergood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPGmanagement, Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
I appreciate the time you took to notify us of the challenges that you experienced during your stay.
I think you will be pleased to hear that we are in the process of performing some upgrades to our units, including new couches that include a higher back and thicker cushions. Along with these advancements, we are purchasing new carpet. I am very sorry to hear about your negative experience with the air conditioning and would truly appreciate it if you could please contact me at athiem@shellvacationsllc.com so we could discuss further. This is a situation that I would want to have heard was handled differently and I would like to be able to use this as a significant training tool for our staff. Thank you very much, and I hope to hear from you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

275 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    102
    89
    49
    18
    17
See reviews for
83
96
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2011

The suites were nice, the area was nice, the staff was nice... but what is with the bodacious, earsplitting, out of control pool party's and the the blaring bass and music from the pools and parking areas!! Really?????
I guess I was surprised that one guest wrote only saw a few beer bottles the next morning.... Alcohol was free flowing and I have to believe that security gates were opened for anyone that shook them I think.

I also know that one morning a big complaint from the locals that swim there in the morning, was the rude, disrespectful older teens. Like vacation means let your children turn into animals!!! I know for certain that they voiced their concerns to the staff near the pool the next morning. But that afternoon the bodacious, earsplitting, out of control pool party returned .... guess this Resort is just one big out of control party with an accident at the pool just waiting to happen.

Disappointing to say the least. Not sure if we will go back to this this one.

Shell Members.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bananaamy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPGmanagement, Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
I am very sorry to hear that you were disappointed with your stay with us. I appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention. These comments have showed us that due to the high demand over holiday weekends, we need to increase our staffing to accommodate our guests as well as the condition of the property. We take safety very seriously and certainly want to communicate that to all of our guests, owners, and members. Our management team and staff will do everything possible to make the necessary changes to improve. Thank you for being a guest with us and we truly hope you will stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Central PA
Level 6 Contributor
181 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 July 2011

Nice desert location, power went out 5 min after I checked in, so pool closed 2 hrs early at 8 pm. Power back at 1:15 am.
Used pool at 6 am, very nice, but lots of empty beer bottles around from night before. Rooms are nice, beds very very firm.
Was called by front desk at 10:05, they said check out was at 10 AM, and they are completely booked. They said they could give me until 11 to leave. They were nice, but that kind of spoiled the visit. Not sure if I'd return.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hogandoc1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2011

The ground were great, beautiful Tucson desert. A hiking trail was right behind our condo. Upon arrival, just stepping out of the car we were greeted with a family of desert javelins. It was a sight worth dropping all my luggage and breaking out the camera. 8-12 of them crossed the road into the mountain not more than 5 ft in front of us. BE CAREFUL NOT TO APPROSCH THEM, just look and take pictures. We staying in a studio suite with a king bed. It was nice, but I would ask when the suites were last remodeled. They seemed a bit old. I have no complaints overall, we stayed 2 nights and were happy. The pool is a pool, we had some friends staying in the JW resort just up the hill, so used their pool (would love to go back to the JW, it was a great property and fantastic pool for a 4 year old).
If I were to go to Tucson again I would stay again. The only issue is the location, it is away from any restaurants. If you want to eat out, your options are JW Marriot restaurants, being your own or travel 10 miles (past some real shady parts of town) to the university.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovinAZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPGmanagement, Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, 15 July 2011
I am so glad to hear that you were able to experience our fantastic wildlife up close and personal. If you ever want to share your pictures, feel free to E-mail them to me at athiem@shellvacationsllc.com Guests have recently told me they have seen a group as large as 22 roaming around!
I think you will be excited to know that we will soon be undergoing some updates to our units featuring new carpet. We recently placed new flat screen TV’s in all of the units, and also have added all new and energy efficient appliances in our one bedrooms, about to be followed by new couches, and carpet.
I encourage you to come back and stay with us and experience the advancements!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartford, Connecticut
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2011

I was in one of the 2 bed with fridge and microwave rooms. The outside temp was in the high 90s and comfortable at night while I was there. Beds were comfortable but the foam type which seem to make them a bit warm. The room could do with a ceiling fan to keep the air circulating. The air conditioner was noisy but I did get used to it. I did end up fighting large cockroaches for the bed. First one appeared on the bed I was not sleeping on. I called the front desk and they sent someone to capture it. About 2 nights later, I found one with me in my bed, in my hair. I took care of it. I took out the garbage daily so I don't know where they were coming from and it made me a bit jumpy. Other than my buggy roommates, I through the setting was great, the room clean, comfortable and staff friendly. The pool was a lap pool so great for the kids and very large. I would go back.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lreid46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kokomo
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 April 2011

This resort is in a beautiful desert setting, however, you pay a little for this luxury. We were not allowed access to our three rooms until check in time at 4 PM. We can understand this, however, housekeeping knocked on each of our doors the next morning at 9 AM. Since this was so early, we declined service at the time and lost out on the rooms being cleaned that day. Same thing the next day. Also, the regular rooms share a wall with living rooms of adjacent suites and there are connecting doors. All noise, no matter how low, is transmitted through these doors. Finally, there are frosted windows in the showers. We went by our son's room when he was showering and could clearly see him in the shower! NOT GOOD!

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LyndaF055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Mattress has no box springs and sinks when you lie down.The unit we had was a small
one bedroom with a mini-fridge and microwave.Great view of the golf course and high desert.Unit needs updated . Purchased 3 nights for$160 thru priceline.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cgeidl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.8 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
6.0 mi away
Casino Del Sol
Casino Del Sol
#9 of 130 in Tucson
884 reviews
3.7 mi away
Arizona Riverpark Inn
Arizona Riverpark Inn
#71 of 130 in Tucson
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
10.3 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
13.3 mi away
Hilton Tucson El Conquistador Golf & Tennis Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starr Pass Golf Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starr Pass Golf Suites

Property: Starr Pass Golf Suites
Address: 3645 W Starr Pass Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85745-9596
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#12 Green Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Starr Pass Golf Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starr Pass Golf Suites is a Southwest vacation jewel. At the heart of the resort is the celebrated Starr Pass Golf Course a 27-hole Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Facility. Its desert style layout and dramatic terrain challenges golfers of all skill levels. Starr Pass Golf Suites is also perfect for a family getaway, hiking, or those seeking to enjoy the culture and adventure of the old southwest. The magnificent views from your spacious casita include natural desert landscaping drenched in 350 days of sunshine per year. A 75-foot heated Olympic swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center are just the beginnings of a full array of amenities. Come see all the Tucson foothills have to offer at this southwest getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com and getaroom.com so you can book your Starr Pass Golf Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starr Pass Golf Hotel Tucson
Starr Pass Hotel
Starr Pass Resort
Starr Pass Golf Suites Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing