We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This resort is a gem!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Starr Pass Golf Suites
Ranked #68 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
GreenLeadersBronze level
Sacramento
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“This resort is a gem!”
Reviewed 21 May 2013

A peaceful location in the desert foothills, with an abundance of natural plants (including all the differing types of Sonoran desert cacti and wildlife). We even spotted an Cardinal bird, right outside our bedroom window. If you enjoyed a visit to the Sonoran Desert Museum or the Saguaro National Park, then you will love this location too! We were booked to stay at this resort for 3 nights in May 2013. We liked it so much we changed our plans and stayed an extra 3 nights. Great experience from the moment we checked-in through check-out. Customer service was first class throughout. The upper foothill area of western Tucson is the best place to stay; away from the hustle and bustle of the city, but a close enough drive to enjoy the city life if so desired. We will stay here again for sure when visiting Tucson.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mike354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    101
    89
    49
    18
    17
See reviews for
83
96
11
37
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Prescott Valley, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 105 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2013

We spent four Timeshare days at the resort. Our unit's patio (if you could call a small slab of concrete a patio) faced the JW Marriott Resort. With this location we were required to shut the heavy shutters to block the setting sun in the afternoon. The room was average and could use some updating. We cook our meals in and the only knife was a steak knife, we called housekeeping and requested a large knife to cut bread and also meat. When they arrived with the new knife we couldn't believe the condition. It was dangerous, looked like someone used it for a can opener. We made the best of the situation with the steak knife.
We slept very well on the tempur-pedic bed with very little night noise.
The hot water heater made so much noise we were required to turn it off during the evening and night hours.
Enjoyed the visit's in the evening by a javealina family.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JULIE H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPGmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
We greatly appreciate you taking the time write a review on our tripadvisor. Your experience and comments are what we depend on to deliver the exceptional service we strive for. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the beautiful wildlife that we have here in the desert. We hope to have you back as our guests in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TUCSON
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 May 2013

Though I was born and raised in Tucson this was one spot I never knew existed. Quiet, serene and amazing views of the city. The Temper-pedic bed was comfy and the rooms are enormous with a huge living room and complete kitchen - everything you need for an extended or short term stay. A bit of a frustration with the internet connection - no wifi, you need to connect with the cable, but not a big deal. We'll be back!

Room Tip: Rooms 57A and B overlook the city
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LINDA H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPGmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for sharing your recent stay on TripAdvisor. We are delighted that you found us and happy that your stay was comfortable and that our rooms delivered all the comforts of home. We are very excited to welcome you back as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scottsdale, az
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

The property and scenery are beautiful but the rooms definitely need updating. We stayed in a studio which was fine except the furnishings were sparse and old and the bathroom definitely needed a facelift. The air conditioning was tough to regulate--it was either freezing or stuffy and warm. We were only staying for one night so we could deal with it. We booked the room on Expedia so it wasn't bad ($100) but if I were a time share owner and had used points and got this type of room, I would have been very upset. Even though I asked at the front desk if all the rooms were appointed the same, and the answer was yes, I certainly would hope that there were others that were nicer than this. Also, if you want quiet, either take the entire casita or request one where the adjoining unit is vacant. The one adjoining ours was occupied and it was as though the people were in the same room and sitting next to us! Not quiet at all!

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank shighlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPGmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. Your experience and comments are what we depend on to continue to deliver the exceptional service we strive for. We are very happy that you had the opportunity to enjoy the beautiful scenery that surrounds our resort, it is wonderful. We do hope for an opportunity to welcome you back soon and deliver an exceptional and memorable stay for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Escondido, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2013

Casitas are nice with all the amenities you need. 73 A&B overlooked the 17th fairway on the golf course as well as the hills with seguaros and cacti. Our balcony also overlooked a gulley below which had lots of native shrubs and cacti. Daily we observed mule deer, javalina, quail, dove, cardinals, jack rabbits and many other birds. Resort was quiet and has a beautiful flowering desert landscape in April. The Catalina Restaurant located in the clubhouse served excellent barbeque pork and brisket. Beds were temperpedic and were very comfortable. Location is excellent, located close to most attractions.

Room Tip: We stayed in Casita 73A&B. Two bedroom, two bath with full kitchen and living room with small d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Purrfect2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPGmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, 20 May 2013
Thank you for your kind review. With the fantastic April weather it is a delight to be able to sit outside the casita and take in the beautiful scenery and experience the wildlife as they wonder the beautiful desert landscape. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed the Catalina Restaurants bbq as well as had a comfortable stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the resort as our guest again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
123 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2013

We stayed here 4 years ago and enjoyed it so much that we came back with our children this time. We got the requested casita with a view towards the mountains and the golf course. It was spacious and quiet, and we saw all sorts of wonderful wildlife: javalinas, deer, rabbits and many colourful birds.
The bed and the sofa bed were both very comfortable, although it would be nice to have a "twin" option for the main bedroom. The rooms were very clean, and the kitchen was well stocked with everything we needed. The air conditioning was a bit loud, but efficient. There was even a washing machine and dryer in a little room next to the kitchen. The bathroom was very big, with a bathtub and a separate shower, and two basins.
We bought our own food and ate breakfast on our terrace every morning. It was lovely to listen to the birds. It would be nice to have 4 chairs for the terrace, and some cushions for them, instead of just the two chairs.
One evening we went down to the pool. It was clean and really big, and we were the only people using it at the time. The hot tub was very relaxing. The gym looked nice, but we didn't use it. Just above the hotel you can walk on trails through the desert, a good exercise in the morning. The golf course looks very good, too.
There are various supermarkets down the hill from the hotel, and also some restaurants. It's a short drive to the Arizona Sonora Desert Museum and Saguaro National Park West, and not far from downtown Tucson and the Pima Air and Space Museum.
We would love to stay in a two bedroom casita next time, but they seem to be quite difficult to book. I've never seen one available on hotels.com, and even on the Shell website they hardly ever come up for the dates I have checked.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mamachoco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancaster, PA
Level 6 Contributor
157 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 179 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 April 2013

Location: The resort sits on the hillside just below Star Pass proper, which has several easy trails for casual hikers to explore. The location is noteworthy because it's far enough from the city to be quiet (and DARK!) but close enough for easy access to restaurants etc. Gates Pass and the Sonora Desert Museum are both just minutes away, and other hotspots like Madera Canyon, Pategonia State Park are within easy driving distance.

Property: The grounds and rooms are very clean, and the resort is very light-pollution conscious. Both indoor and outdoor lighting are minimal. Sitting in a dark desert just steps from your door and listening to the wildlife while enjoying the clear star-spattered Arizona night sky is something everyone needs to do at least once in life. The property is also right up against the desert; we got up just before dawn one morning and saw three coyotes trotting past on the golf course side. We also awoke to the song of a Cactus Wren that was nesting right outside the room every morning.

Room: We got the smaller "B" unit, since we mainly just use resorts for a "base of operations", so we didn't have most of the amenities that other reviewers are talking about. Keep that in mind when placing your reservation; all their rooms are NOT created equal. The B-sides don't include laundry facilities (and there are none on the property so you have to drive to the city) or kitchens, just a minifridge, microwave, coffee maker, and a few utensils. The beds were a pleasant surprise: Tempurpedics! They seemed small to me though. I'm not a small person; I'm used to my toes hanging over the edge no matter what, but not both feet past the ankle?

Staff/services: We got in late; Alex "the night guy" was very friendly and helpful. The lack of any sort of spa facilities or laundry facilities was somewhat surprising, as we had become accustomed to seeing them at other resorts. The internet service in-room was... GASP... free.

Overall, the place isn't perfect, but then again none of them are; We had a wonderful week there though and would recommend it without reservation.

Room Tip: Get a room at the top of the hill, such as #78, #79, or #80. The trailhead is just a few steps away...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark_and_Neida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SPGmanagement, Guest Relations Manager at Starr Pass Golf Suites, responded to this review, 16 July 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about our lovely resort. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your visit here at Starr Pass. We hope to have you return in the future. Happy travels from the Starr Pass Team!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
3.9 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson City Center
5.9 mi away
Casino Del Sol
Casino Del Sol
#9 of 130 in Tucson
870 reviews
3.8 mi away
Arizona Riverpark Inn
Arizona Riverpark Inn
#71 of 130 in Tucson
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
10.3 mi away
Westward Look Wyndham Grand Resort and Spa
10.4 mi away
Omni Tucson National Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starr Pass Golf Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starr Pass Golf Suites

Property: Starr Pass Golf Suites
Address: 3645 W Starr Pass Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85745-9596
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#12 Green Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Starr Pass Golf Suites 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Starr Pass Golf Suites is a Southwest vacation jewel. At the heart of the resort is the celebrated Starr Pass Golf Course a 27-hole Arnold Palmer Signature Golf Facility. Its desert style layout and dramatic terrain challenges golfers of all skill levels. Starr Pass Golf Suites is also perfect for a family getaway, hiking, or those seeking to enjoy the culture and adventure of the old southwest. The magnificent views from your spacious casita include natural desert landscaping drenched in 350 days of sunshine per year. A 75-foot heated Olympic swimming pool, whirlpool and fitness center are just the beginnings of a full array of amenities. Come see all the Tucson foothills have to offer at this southwest getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Hotels.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Starr Pass Golf Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starr Pass Golf Hotel Tucson
Starr Pass Hotel
Starr Pass Resort
Starr Pass Golf Suites Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing