We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic again.......A Family holiday to repeat and repeat”
Review of Tanque Verde Ranch

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Tanque Verde Ranch
Ranked #29 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Our third visit. My first review. This is an exceptional place for a family interested in a ranch holiday where some are keen riders and some are not. Hiking and mountain biking in the desert or fishing offer distractions for those less interested in horsing around the desert . A pool, gym spa and sports courts fill your time for relaxation. But most will ride....or be coerced by their family to participate !!! and riding lessons are included. American family plan food is good hearty fare without intention to be haute cuisine and if you avoid high season, it is both good value and quiet enough to be a personalised experience. We will be back again next year....and probably year upon year after that.

Room Tip: Hacienda Suites are worth the extra
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RJaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (667)
There are newer reviews for Tanque Verde Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

302 - 308 of 667 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2013

We spent three days at the Ranch for our niece's wedding. All I can say was everything was perfect. My brother-in-law arranged for a king suite that we shared. In addition to the king bedroom, the main room had two queen sized Murphy beds, and they were actually comfortable! The bathroom was enormous - I think four people could fit in the shower! We didn't try the jacuzzi tub - although it was tempting. Anyone who has been to Tucson knows that the views, especially when you are in the foothills of any of the mountains, are SPECTACULAR. This ranch did not disappoint. They have everything you need at the ranch, so once you are there you really do not have to leave the property. They have a restaurant which has good, home-cooked food. There is a spa, indoor and outdoor pools, gym and, of course, a host of outdoor activities - like horseback riding, trails, fishing, etc.

Let me tell you about the wedding. It was superb! The ceremony was outside on one of the patios. The cocktail hour was held on the main lawn and the margaritas were just the thing to cool you off! They have an indoor catering room which can hold up to 110 comfortably. I think there were about 140 guests, so the dance floor ended up a little smaller, but we were not uncomfortable in any way. Dinner was buffet-style and there was something for everyone - even the kids.

The wait staff for the wedding - as well as the staff everywhere on the ranch - were cheerful, attentive, and very helpful. I can't say enough about how great the staff is!!!

Our room was booked at the "B&B" (bed and breakfast) rate which entitled us to breakfast in the restaurant. They have an "all inclusive" rate which covers more and, I think, is well worth it. Look into that. Check out their website for the schedule of activities. You can do as much or as little as you please.

We are planning to get the whole family back there again for a reunion. I can't wait!

Room Tip: The rooms are in something like 2-5 room units. All the ones I saw were great.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gerald C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2013

We have just returned from an unforgettable week at Tanque Verde.

Rooms - Stayed in a Hacienda Suite, room 21 which was spacious and well furnished. If you want a modern luxury type hotel this is not the place to come. It is a ranch, rooms are in the traditional western old fashioned style as they should be. Beds are comfy.

Staff - Friendly helpful staff in every area.

Food - Good and plenty to eat. Loved the breakfast and the bacon was perfect. Breakfast ride with those bluberry pancakes was wonderful.

Riding - You have to pass the lope test before going on the loping rides (cantering for the English). The lope rides were then great fun. Several of the horses are real dobbins for the complete beginner but you soon learnt which ones not to get on and the wranglers soon got to know your riding ability and were able to match you up with a suitable horse. There was 3 hrs in total of lope rides a day when we stayed plus an intermediate trotting ride in the afternoon. Plus several walk rides suitable for all levels of riding ability. Team penning was great fun.
Thanks to the wranglers Maddy, Dave and Andy specially for making sure we got the right horses and making the experience so fab.

Kids Club - My 7 year old loved the kids club and never wanted to be away from it.

Met lots of lovely people and loads of repeat guests who have been coming for years. It is unique and like nowhere we have ever stayed but the whole family loved it, even the non horsey husband.

Other activities included tennis, walking, mountain biking, nature place.

My only tiny suggestions for improvements were that the shower flow was so weak it was hard to wash hair and getting the right temperature was difficult and it was a noisy air conditioning unit. Possibly more variety in the evening menu. Another daily lope ride and an adult funkana would have been brilliant.

Thanks again to everyone at Tanque Verde for making our holiday so great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank family70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2013 via mobile

We just drove out for the brunch and to take pictures and see the ranch. The brunch was very tasty. Being a vegetarian I was afraid I wouldn't find a lot to eat. But no, they had a wonderful salad bar. Tried their Ceasar Salad, loved it. Also the fresh beet salad. There where so many different salads that I fell in love with, all very flavorful with great variety of herbs and dressings. For the main course they had a fresh squash ravioli in a cream sauce with mushrooms. My husband enjoyed the chicken dish and the tri tip. There was also a lovely desert bar. Would love to go back again when in Tucson. The ranch grounds where beautiful and they where preparing for a wedding in the garden. Cute gift shop. Amazing corral of horses and lots of antiques to view all around the grounds. Lunch was a little pricey but we'll worth it. Met guest there from all around the world. I am so glad we went out for the day hope to go back and actually stay at the ranch on our next visit.

  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank goldrushgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Tanque Verde Ranch was a wonderful experience for my business group's annual retreat. I also noticed what a great venue it is for families, considering they have separate and fully supervised chidrens' activities for a good portion of each day. This gave parents an opportunity to ride and experience other activities that their kids might not have been able to keep up with.

Everyone I encountered at TVR was fantastic - professional, kind, friendly - and I was extremely impressed with how many of the wranglers remembered my name after just a day ....

Dean was great at picking out a great horses for me throughout the weekend, and getting me situated. His kind and helpful demeanor was a great start to each ride!

Andy, David, Johnathan and Maddie each led great rides that I participated in (intermediate, sunset, loping, lope test, breakfast, walking), and offered very helpful coaching to help me improve my technique so that I could comfortably participate in the advanced rides. I can pinpoint a tip I received from each of them that enhanced my experience over the weekend, and also my riding technique now that I'm back home. Maddie even removed a Cholla cactus from my shoulder with an expert swipe of her pocket knife - didn't hurt a bit!

The front desk, restaurant, and cleaning staff I encountered were also very pleasant and friendly, and the resort itself didn't lack any elements in my view. The food was good, with healthy options as well for those watching their diet.

I am looking forward to visiting the TVR again in 2014 for a family reunion, and hopefully on a continued basis going forward.

Thank you to everyone at TVR, I miss you guys! Theresa

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Theresa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Tanque Verde Ranch is a special place. My family - which includes a 5 year old and 7 year old son - were thrilled with our experience. The staff is exceptional and rather than going to Disney to eat elephant ears and wait in lines we were able to gain life skills and experiences. As an example, my youngest son rode horses for the first time and my oldest son caught his first fish. Since the kids are so happy, the wife and I were able to catch some down time together which is worth its wait in gold. We will be back next year and hope to make this an annual family tradition.

Room Tip: Stay near the main lodge.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank indyboy6061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2013

I will be celebrating my 26th year at Tanque Verde this thanksgiving, and I couldn't be more excited!!!! TVR is more than a vacation destination, it's a second home! My whole family has been coming for 25+ years, and it's always a truly special trip. The scenery around the hotel is picture perfect EVERYWHERE you turn, from the tennis courts to the horseback riding. The sunsets still take my breath away even after all of these years. We have gotten to know the staff over the years and adore everyone. There are tons of fun activities for all ages, mostly outdoors which is the best part! Bingo shouldn't be missed, it's a lot of fun. I hope TVR stays around for a long time, I can't wait to bring my kids here!

Room Tip: The Casitas on Road Runner Ridge have an outstanding unobstructed view of the desert. Truly magical...
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
29.5 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
785 reviews
13.2 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#19 of 129 in Tucson
982 reviews
14.2 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.4 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
10.9 mi away
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
#12 of 129 in Tucson
770 reviews
14.5 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tanque Verde Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tanque Verde Ranch

Address: 14301 E Speedway Blvd, Tucson, AZ 85748-7138
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#13 Family Hotel in Tucson
#25 Business Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £99 - £542 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Tanque Verde Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 76
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tanque Verde Ranch Resort was named "Best Dude Ranch in Arizona" by Dude Republic in 2012, as well as a "Top Ten Family Resort" by the Travel Channel since 2007, and a "Top Five Ranch" by Conde Nast in 2008. Tanque Verde Ranch is one of America’s old time cattle and guest ranches. Located on 60,000 acres of Tucson’s most breathtaking desert landscapes, nestled amongst the Rincon Mountains and adjacent to Saguaro National Park and Coronado National Forest. Established in 1868, the superb guest ranch is recognized as the last luxurious outpost of the old west providing guests with plush accommodations, unparalleled amenities and a vast array of exciting activities such as horseback riding, mountain biking, fishing and hiking. La Sonora Spa is the perfect place for a bit of quiet relaxation, and the kids will love all the supervised children's programs! Don't hesitate – getaway at one of the premier, all-inclusive dude ranches in the country. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Visit Barbados, Odigeo, Travel Republic (UK), Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Tanque Verde Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tanque Verde Ranch Hotel Tucson
Tanque Verde Ranch Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing