We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Many Inconveniences”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
Ranked #11 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Colts Neck, New Jersey
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
“Many Inconveniences”
Reviewed 17 April 2012

My wife and I, along with two relatives, stayed at the lodge for 6 nights. Overall, we were disappointed in the resort based on what we paid. We were in a second floor, two-bedroom loft suite with a perfect mountain view (upgraded suite). The suite contained a kitchenette with microwave, coffee maker, refrigerator, and kitchen table with four chairs. The living area contained a couch, desk, table, stand, and an LCD TV. Downstairs, off the living area, there was a bedroom with a king bed and full bath. Upstairs was a loft with 2 queen beds and a ¾ bath.

PROS:
1. Great View of the Santa Catalina Mountains.
2. Tennis is available for $15 for up to two hours, including loaner racquets and balls.
3. Golf is available – didn’t golf – can’t comment except to say that the course is apparently beautiful.
4. Restaurant on-site, however, it is somewhat expensive. Never ate there so I cannot comment.
5. Clean and well kept – no bugs.
6. Very comfortable beds.

CONS:
1. MAJOR CON: There was a narrow, tight, spiral staircase that lead to the loft. It was awkward to climb and descend. Almost impossible for seniors, and too dangerous for children. If you have a large suitcase, it is extremely difficult to carry it up and down from the loft. When we checked in, a young, strong, man, lifted my 45 lb suitcase over his head and climbed the staircase. There was no way that I could do it. Additionally, I was very careful to be sure that I had what I needed for the day every time I descended the staircase. You wanted to keep you ups and downs to a minimum. The spiral staircase alone, is enough to deter me from ever staying there again.
2. There is a mandatory $24.00 daily “resort fee charge.” It covers such things as tips, pool use, parking, wifi, and other misc fees. From other reviews, this fee irritated a lot of people. From my prospective, just add it to the cost of the suite when planning your budget – and NEVER tip anyone.
3. Loft is much hotter than the downstairs. Be sure that those who like it hot, sleep in the loft.
4. People staying in the loft have NO PRIVACY. There is a three foot wall, partially blocking the view to the living area downstairs. Conversations can easily be heard. If the loft guests go to bed earlier than others, they will find it difficult to sleep due to noise from the living area.
5. The loft bathroom had a stand-up shower. The main bathroom had a bathtub, but it was higher than most tubs. The rim of the tub was also wide making it difficult to climb in and out of. There were no handles or bars to hold onto. The shower, sink, and toilet were all in same room in both baths – inconvenient for two people getting dressed in the morning.
6. Housekeeping service was poor. Frequently, there was only one hand towel and bath towel left in the bathroom. We only had three coffee cups, even though four were in the suite. Not enough coffee.
7. Utility and furniture problems: Heat didn’t work – although it was quickly repaired. Safe battery died – again, another call to the front desk. Only two chairs and one small round table were on the balcony – for four guests. Cable reception was very poor. TV quality was terrible.
8. The living area is not that big. I stayed at a Days Inn for one night before the flight home, and there was more room there. It is adequate, but not a spacious as they would lead you to believe.
9. The kitchenette area is very small – room for only one person, making it difficult to prepare meals.
10. Be sure to get a balcony that has an open view. Many balconies have a solid brick wall, approx 3 ½ feet high. When seated, the great view is blocked by the wall.
11. The small pool was being renovated, and was closed during our stay. They offered to shuttle us to their sister resort, Lowes Ventana Canyon, a half mile away, to use their pool. The pool at Lowes is MUCH better than the one at the lodge, so the inconvenience was offset by having a better pool.
12. No free breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Joseph G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    434
    157
    94
    42
    14
See reviews for
215
234
29
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (60)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jericho, New York
Level 6 Contributor
162 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2012

Just spent two weeks at The Lodge--our fourth visit--and it's still going strong in giving you the opportunity to experience living in Tucson as opposed to just visiting. With spacious, fully equipped suites that include a kitchen restocked every day with coffee, towels, utensiles--and with nearby markets and CVS--you don't have go out for every meal, so you can both save money on meals and increase your convenience and stay in a very attractive, beautifully landscaped facility. Location, down the road from the convention-hotel luxury resort Loew's Ventana Canyon--where Lodge guests have privileges at the very nice swimming pool, is excellent, and puts you right in heart of the Foothills, just north of Tucson. (Note: The "Foothills," strictly speaking are not Tucson per se, the city limits starting a bit south of River Road.) Staff is very knowledgable, friendly, helpful, and maintain their sense of humor and professionalism. We were joined in our second week at the Lodge by our family which included a one-year-old, and the Lodge made sure to have a pack-n-play and a high chair in the room when the kids checked in. Concierge was invaluable in directing us to great sites we might not have found ourselves--e.g., the Tucson Zoo! Free round-the-clock business center with two computers and printers is available to guests. Word to the wise: This is not a convention-style hotel, so don't expect to find all kinds of shops, cafes, luxurious pool complex, etc. (This is our fourth visit to the Lodge...once again we say we'll be back for a longer.) Special shout-out to Dan Castellano, reservation mgr, who is a real pro when it comes to customer relations...and to "Door Girl" Nicole, a colorful, vivacious gal from Salt Lake City, via Maui, who's always ready with a smile, helpful hint, and super-fast personal service when necessary!

Room Tip: Request view of mountains and golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vail, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We spent 3 nights over the Christmas holiday at Ventana Lodge and were pleasantly surprised. It was a great value and had a cozy atmosphere that is lacking in many of the larger resorts. All the rooms (55 I think) are suites and range from 800-1500 sq ft and feature a kitchenette. The meals were Excellent and modestly priced. All gratuities were included so there was no need to carry cash for tipping. The property has all the amenities including; spa, fitness room, tennis and racquetball courts, pools and 2 beautiful golf courses. It is close to shopping and dining, but is completely isolated within a secure gated community. You will not find a nicer hotel anywhere near this price. The only reason for the 4-star rating was that some of the areas are a little worn and the place shuts down a little early in the evening.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rjtrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2011

Have had many trips to beautiful Arizona and love the weather ,people and golf. Sadly this once grande lodge has fallen to sullen rude stall,and an egocentric management focused on the geriatric golf membership. Beware hidden fees and charges that show up long after your card is closed off! Loud leaf blowers on the tennis courts ensure an early wake-up call say 7!Filth,beyond description is apparent in the mens locker room. The management avoids addressing concerns.Too bad,nice spot .

Room Tip: golf course view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank timetune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed 3 November 2011

This is not just another resort destination. The Lodge is the uber R & R oasis. Quite surroundings, beautiful property with postcard views. The staff is excellent and they will see to your needs no matter what it may take. It's like going to vist a good friend.

Room Tip: Several choices but the rooms facing the golf course are special.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terryboyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Danville, California
Level 6 Contributor
150 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 November 2011

Beautiful property. Exceptional location, dead-quiet. Great in house restaurant, exceptional wine-list with the best $'s I've ever seen! The Wednesday night Italian Buffet is NOT to be missed! The quality of the food was "over the top" & the price/value was unbelievable!!! Did not get a chance to play golf but should not be missed if your schedule will allow? The only thing lacking is the swimming pool - it's a Country Club style pool - not the kind of pool you would expect @ a high-end Resort in the Desert. Found great mid-week rates. Stayed in a 1,200 Sq ft 2 room suite - very nice but don't bother unless your traveling on business with another associate. Stick with the 1 Bdrm Suite. Go - you'll like it!



  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrmojo58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
122 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 October 2011

The property is fabulous. The people were friendly and helpful. The room was at least twice the size of a normal hotel room...with a full kitchen/breakfast area, a huge bathroom, and a nice living room. The private deck with table and chairs was pleasant, even if it looked out on oleander bushes. There were nice amenities like upscale toiletries, bathrobes, etc. It appeared like the Lodge really targets golfers--and was voted in the top 30 golf resorts by Conde Nast. It seemed like a very well kept and upscale property. However, when one buys on Priceline, one does not expect the taxes and fees to add 50% to the cost. That really takes one by surprise....

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mjbphx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.8 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
688 reviews
4.7 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
0.5 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
14.0 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
4.1 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Ventana Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Ventana Canyon

Property: Lodge at Ventana Canyon
Address: 6200 N Club House Ln, Tucson, AZ 85750-1399
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#6 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#10 Business Hotel in Tucson
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#40 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Ventana Canyon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Against the dramatic backdrop of the Santa Catalina Mountains, stately ancient saguaros lift their arms to the sky, a myriad of fascinating wildlife scurries about the Sonoran desert landscape and all is right with the world. Nestled in this pristine setting is the perfect vacation destination, the Lodge at Ventana Canyon, with 50 cozy one or two bedroom guest suites. We invite you to make the Lodge your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Priceline, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Lodge at Ventana Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Hotel At Ventana Canyon
Resort At Ventana Canyon
Lodge Ventana Canyon
Lodge At Ventana Canyon Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing