We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
Ranked #13 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fabulous place”
Reviewed 16 August 2013

Agree with another person who reviewed this "resort" when they said that the Lodge doesn't feel like a real resort.
However, the rooms are fabulous!! Large, comfortable and meticulously cared for, with sitting area and full kitchen! The staff go above and beyond to try to make your stay wonderful.
The views are breathtaking! Definitely recommend!

Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Ted O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

721 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    417
    155
    94
    42
    13
See reviews for
205
228
29
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
tucson az
Level Contributor
171 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 July 2013

If you are a golfer, tennis player or serious swimmer then the Lodge at Ventana Canyon is for you, but it is not a resort. There is a strip of rooms that runs between the tennis courts and the course. The pool and other amenities are shared by members of the surrounding neighborhood.
Having said that I would like to stress that the location is beautiful and definitely the draw to this property. It is located at the foot of the Santa Catalina Mountains with incredible views. The rooms are quite large (I am told they were originally planned as apartments). They have functional kitchens, large bathrooms, bedrooms and living rooms. North facing rooms have views of the mountains. Ask for a renovated room. Ours was not and had tile issues, stained wall paper, and broken blinds. Each room has its own water heater (yay) and great air conditioning. Though there is not much open space there are small courtyards outside the rooms with tables for anyone that wants to brave the heat.

There is a $25 resort fee which takes care of tipping on the property and wi-fi. Be aware that the wi-fi is pretty much non-existant and for some reason the 4-G on our phones went to 3-G. There are hi-def TV's but the cable signal isn't so the picture is funky.

The pool is a large lap pool. It is well maintained with a large deck area with deck chairs, towels, nice bathrooms, and pool toys. (Hot tubs are inside the locker rooms.)The staff at the pool and the rest of the hotel is very nice.

Room Tip: Ask for a remodeled room with a north-facing view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krlynn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oakland, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 8 July 2013

For the past three years we have spent the 4th of July holiday at the Lodge at Ventana Canyon. This year we missed the summer monsoons but did experience the fireworks at the neighboring Loews Hotel. The staff is wonderful and extremely helpful. My only wish would be, if the weather would be ten degrees cooler but them the price to stay at the hotel would be a lot more. Great pool area and fitness gym. The members bar is a fun place to hang out and the food is above average.

Room Tip: My only complaint was that the curtains let in too much sunlight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kurt B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Albuquerque, New Mexico, United States
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2013

Our room was HUGE with a full kitchen. The staff provided excellent customer service. The location of this property is amazing. I The views are simply breathtaking and there are great hiking areas around the property and its neighborhood.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sun City, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 June 2013

This place is GORGEOUS! The location is back at the foothills of the mountains. The views are incredible.... but even better is the friendly service from the moment you go onto the resort property. I am in agreement with some of the reviewers that this is not really a resort, but more of an upscale boutique hotel. The suit was spacious. We choose a gold course/mountain view room and could not have been happier. A full kitchen, living room, large bedroom, and gigantic bathroom! Other reviewers said the place was "outdated" and I was concerned, but the only thing that really needed attention visually was the tiled countertops in the kitchen and bathroom. Otherwise, this was beautiful. The tile did give it a more rustic charm though! The beds were very comfy and nice linens with plenty of pillows. The suite had it's own hot water heater and the A/C we could adjust to our liking.... and we kept it cold! 2 big sliding patio doors were overlooking the views.... one in the living room, and one in the bedroom. The pool was a disappointment as it had no resort feel or personality. It is made for lap swimmers, not casual pool goers. Still, I would go back in a second, because the room and service was above expectations! Good job people!

Room Tip: A mountain/golf view is private and quiet, plus... the views can't be beat!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nancy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santa Clarita, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2013

I have stayed at the Lodge on an annual golf trip for over 20 years. Overall this place is great. years ago, they would welcome you with a gift in your room, and have fresh baked chocolate chip cookies on your counter everynight, however not anymore...bummer. The staff is fantastic, there are people working there that have been there for years. The bar has a nice menu and a good selection of beers and spirits. The main dinning has a good menu and specials.

Now the downside....the food service is generally slow, know that going in. The rooms need an upgrade, the furniture is old and dated, the a/c filters need to be replaced more often, and the carpeting is a little beat up.

None of the above would stop me from coming back or recommeding this resort to friends and family. The good far outways the minor flaws.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ron C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lansing, MI
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2013

After we got this hotel by bidding on priceline and then reading the reviews I was worried I was going to have a substandard experience. I had thought I would get Lowes, a sister property just up the road. People mentioned the rooms were dark and depending on where you are that would be true. You will want to book a mountain/golf view. IF you bid and get the rooms facing the tennis courts as we did and are dark, we offered more money and were shown another room we just loved. All the other criicism seems unfounded. We are used to 4 star resorts all over the world and this one was clean, well equipped, great food at the restaurants, attentive staff. The rooms are enormous, actually like a one bedroom condo. While the kitchen doesn't have much equipment for cooking, a sign on the counter says to ask and you will be provided with all you need. It is true there is a $24 resort fee which ALL 4 star resorts have but you get way more than anywhere else for it since it includes gratuities except for restaurant and includes valet parking, newpaper, luggage help, great wifi, maybe other things I don't now recall. I was told that some folks who were upset by the resort fee said they would write a rotten review and thus there is a mix of reviews. You can use Lowes pool by asking to take the shuttle. You do have to ask. We were there in March, lovely.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank marillynlansing_mi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.8 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 130 in Tucson
681 reviews
4.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Tucson Paloma Village
0.5 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
4.2 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
14.0 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Ventana Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Ventana Canyon

Property: Lodge at Ventana Canyon
Address: 6200 N Club House Ln, Tucson, AZ 85750-1399
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#6 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#10 Business Hotel in Tucson
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#40 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Ventana Canyon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Against the dramatic backdrop of the Santa Catalina Mountains, stately ancient saguaros lift their arms to the sky, a myriad of fascinating wildlife scurries about the Sonoran desert landscape and all is right with the world. Nestled in this pristine setting is the perfect vacation destination, the Lodge at Ventana Canyon, with 50 cozy one or two bedroom guest suites. We invite you to make the Lodge your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Ctrip TA, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Lodge at Ventana Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Hotel At Ventana Canyon
Resort At Ventana Canyon
Lodge Ventana Canyon
Lodge At Ventana Canyon Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing