We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not what it used to be”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
Ranked #11 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 February 2014

Just spent 4 days at the Lodge in room 202. We were later told that this was a renovated room. If so it wasn't much of a renovation. Light fixture wasn't working. Dishwasher never stopped and had to be shut down. Bathroom door couldn't be closed all the way. Wall outlet was defective.
When we arrived we couldn't check in because our room wasn't ready. We were told it would be ready momentarily. 80 minutes later at 4:20 our room was finally ready. We were told that some of the help went home sick. During our stay our room was well prepared one time, poorly prepared one time and incompletely prepared a third time.
The restaurant food, as we have previously found, was super, especially the Italian buffet on Wednesday night. Jon our server was super.
Unfortunately, as others have observed, the resort is definitely showing it's age and the renovation process seems to be moving too slowly to ever catch up. Sad to see this because we have had excellent stays in three prior years. Management was somewhat condescending when I asked about the situation. In their eyes everything is A OK.

Room Tip: Forget the parking lot side and get the most recently renovated room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 392John
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (810)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

675 - 681 of 810 reviews

Reviewed 14 February 2014

The good: People were nice, good food, big rooms, quiet setting.
The rest: To call it a resort is a major stretch. Rooms are very big, basic kitchen, beds are subjective call but we thought we have stayed on more comfortable beds in a $50 a night hotel. Pillows are horrible. Duct tape held wallpaper on the wall in our bathroom. Our room was one the dungeon rooms, one side facing the parking lot and the other a cement dark hallway. The mandatory resort fee is a joke. $24 a day for internet and "tips." Likely the resort pockets the cash. Not a good place for kids, average age is over 70. Pool is set up for lap swimming. There is a tiny shallow pool for the rest of us. They say there is a nightly "turn down service" and ice delivery but it didn't happen a single night we stayed and yes we signed up for it. The ice machine no longer exists because it broke so walk to the lobby if you want ice.
Overall, we would not stay here again. The place is long past it's prime and will be hurting in 10 years judging by the average member age.

Room Tip: Try another place
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AKH20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 January 2014

This is a wonderful - if slightly dated - resort. The room we stayed in was large and had amazing views, and the bed was extremely comfortable. The bathroom is large with a grand claw-foot tub. One suggestion - bubble bath, please! Such a great tub and I had to use shampoo for bubbles! Also, the lights are a bit harsh in the bathroom - a dimmer would have been nice.

I ordered breakfast room service late the night before and it arrived promptly and hot! The service was fantastic, but checking in seemed awkward. The man at the desk seemed unprepared for us, if not slightly annoyed.

All in all, it was a lovely stay and I would recommend it, though it seems to cater to an older clientele better.

Room Tip: Ask for Room 229. It's a corner suite with lots of windows and amazing views of the golf course...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CourtneyF209
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 January 2014

We were treated to a 4 night stay by a member. The suite was spacious clean and comfortable. Turn down service was offered at no extra charge which was a nice touch. Located in the foothills of the Catalina Mountains the surroundings were very tranquil offering a relaxing escape. As we were busy with family obligations while in town we could not take advantage of the numerous amenities. Great for a tranquil escape.

Room Tip: Try for a room on the second floor facing the Catalina Mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pfs67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 January 2014

We found the Lodge through Priceline and we feel we got a really good price. The Lodge is a very nice place to stay. It must have been spectacular in its day; now, it's very nice. Our room is huge, has a small kitchen (with some kitchen wares), and a very good bed. The bathroom is large, but a little bit dated. The room actually has a second level, accessed by a spiral staircase, which leads to 2 other beds and another bathroom. The place needs a little TLC, but not a lot. We'd definitely stay here again. The Lodge is part of a golf community, with many older patrons. There appears to many many extended family gatherings going on here over the holiday.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jswan1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2013

With family members coming from all around the USA I booked rooms at the Lodge so that we could all be together without a lot of driving to & fro. The accommodations were lovely,warm and homey with a sitting area that allowed for us to visit each other comfortably. The staff was helpful and professional in striving to make our stay successful. The restaurant was excellent with an impressive view of the mountains. Everyone left without a marvelous memory of our family reunion.

Room Tip: The reservations clerk helped by knowing which rooms would all be together in one corridor making it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phyllis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

The lodge at ventana canyon is a wonderful place to visit. The staff is some of the best staff we have ever encountered and we travel often to very nice hotels and resorts.

The rooms are very large and comfortable with beautiful views-We booked the king mountain view room. It's so nice to have a small kitchen, we used just the large mini refrigerator and the large microwave and the dishes and utensils, but it was clear we could request More cookware and dishes if we needed them.

Golfers would love this resort, the view from our room was the mountains with a beautiful portion of the golf course that is impeccably groomed. We enjoyed the large pool which does have swimming lanes, but is easy to jump in and out of and work around the lanes. I never used the spa, but the offerings sounded wonderful, just ran out of time. And they have lots of tennis courts.

The restaurants and bar area are great places to dine with very nice options, excellent service, and very good food.

We will definitely return.

Room Tip: The king mountain views are wonderful with lots of space, large bathroom, mini kitchen, living room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Robin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.6 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#20 of 129 in Tucson
1,009 reviews
7.8 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
725 reviews
19 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 129 in Tucson
814 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
4.1 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
4.1 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Ventana Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Ventana Canyon

Address: 6200 N Club House Ln, Tucson, AZ 85750-1399
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#7 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#10 Business Hotel in Tucson
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#35 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £141 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Ventana Canyon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Against the dramatic backdrop of the Santa Catalina Mountains, stately ancient saguaros lift their arms to the sky, a myriad of fascinating wildlife scurries about the Sonoran desert landscape and all is right with the world. Nestled in this pristine setting is the perfect vacation destination, the Lodge at Ventana Canyon, with 50 cozy one or two bedroom guest suites. We invite you to make the Lodge your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Lodge at Ventana Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Hotel At Ventana Canyon
Resort At Ventana Canyon
Lodge Ventana Canyon
Lodge At Ventana Canyon Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing