We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Happy B-day to Me”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Lodge at Ventana Canyon
Ranked #11 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 September 2007

My boyfriend took me to Tucson for my 40th birthday. I lived in Tucson for close to 20 years and did not know the Lodge at Ventana existed. I had ran by the gates a number of times while living in Tucson but thought it was an apartment complex. Imagine my surprise when I found out it was a hotel/resort! The room was incredible, the staff was more than helpful. Breakfast in the dining room was delicious and the hiking at Sabino Canyon was GREAT! We had a wonderful time ... in August no less! and are already booking our stay for January. I can't wait!

  • Stayed: August 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DingALingFresno
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (806)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

781 - 787 of 806 reviews

Reviewed 31 July 2007

We were so happy with our stay here. It helped that we had a wonderful free upgrade that gave us a great view! The room was huge and had a fridge, stove, and dishwasher. The service was amazing. The staff was prompt to respond to our needs. Everything was conveniently located as well. Self-parking was near the room.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank Bamboo2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2006

This place was fabulous! relaxing, kicked back, hiking trails nearby, right on the golf course.
even if you can't afford to golf, it's a great destination.

  • Stayed: February 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
2  Thank citygirlcountrygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2006

My wife and I stayed at the Lodge for our anniversary. Needless to say the place did not live up to its web page. The room was dark and freezing cold and we could not control the temperature in the room. The pool was as warm as most bath tubs and difficult to get in and out of for those who are mobility challenged. Plus, a local swim club was holding practice while we were there. Maintenance work disturbed our rest and recreation. We did not get what we had made reservations for and were told there was nothing else available. We had booked in advanced. The main gate did not have our name on their reservation list for the day of arrival and I had to prove we had reservations there to the gate guard. The signage to find the place did not agreed with what was on the web page so we ended up driving around to find the entrance. The refrigerator in the room looked like it hadn't been defrosted in ages and worked poorly. The furniture, except for the beds, was uncomfortable and looked like it came from a local thrift store. Housekeeping started knocking on the door at 8 in the morning so put out the do not disturb sign. The pool was located almost a quarter mile from the lodge proper and really offered little in amenities. The so called CD player in the room was an off brand and poor quality. I don't know where they took the pictures of the rooms on their web pages but ours didn't even come close. You only have one option for eating there and it has limited service. Plan on going into town for meals or up to Ventana Canyon resort for meals. Although you can cook in your room plan on bringing everything you need including dish soap. Pray they restock the complimentary coffee and tea in the morning.
It wasn't all bad. The shower was in the bathroom was great. However we froze when we stepped out.
I doubt we will ever go back there. My high hopes for surprising my wife for our anniversary ended up being somewhat of a nightmare after the experience. We actually looked forward to leaving. What does that tell you.

  • Stayed: August 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Clinician
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2006

We chose the Lodge at Ventana for our recent stay in Tucson for three basic reasons - the rooms looked great on the hotel website, the mountainside location with good views of the city lights/surrounding mountains was appealing, and the price was right ($89/night, plus resort fee). We booked directly with the hotel (or so I thought; apparently it was through the central reservations line, via the number listed on the hotel website).

As indicated in the website, the rooms are indeed quite large. We were a little disappointed to see that there is absolutely no decor (and certainly nothing vaguely southwestern); everything was extremely clean and comfortable, but the room was almost stark (surprising, as the public areas were very nicely decorated). We definitely had plenty of space, and particularly enjoyed having the kitchen and the nice sitting area. In addition, it was extremely quiet at night - we did not hear a bit of noise from the internal corridors or from outside at any point during our stay.

The room we were finally given had a wonderful of the mountains, but this only came after a decent amount of wrangling with the front desk staff (who remained extremely friendly and accomodating throughout). When we booked, we had requested a view, which we were assured we would have - and at the $89 rate. We were therefore very surprised when, on arrival, we were told that we would 'sort of' have a view overlooking the city lights (which in fact is a view of the parking lot and trees, with a few city lights visible if you are on the second floor - definitely not the nice panoramic view we'd been expecting). We were then told that if we wanted a 'view' room, we would have to pay $50 extra per night. After voicing our dismay, they agreed to give us a complementary upgrade to a view room. Our excitement was a bit short-lived, though, as the view proved to be of a grassy knoll (we literally could not see the sky from the room at all). The very nice staff person who accompanied us offered to see if any other rooms were available, with the result being that we were shown to a different room with a phenomenal view of the mountains, with a large private balcony. This was even better than we'd expected, so it all ended very well. That said, we felt that the 'view' - and any related charges - should have been represented more accurately when we booked. This may or may not be important to you, but if so, you may wish to call the Lodge directly to discuss.

2. As other reviewers have indicated, you should not expect the 'resort amenities' that other area hotels may offer. This was not a problem for us, with one minor exception - the only way to access a computer, unless you've brought your own, is to go up the road to the Loews to use their business center. This is not meant as a complaint, only as a point of information if you plan to stay at the Lodge.

We had breakfast several times at the restaurant, which was extremely good in terms of food and service, and very reasonably priced. There is also a Starbucks a mile or so away, and numerous lunch/dinner options (the dinner menu at the Lodge looked good; we just never quite managed to be there at dinnertime).

All in all, a good stay at a very good price.

  • Stayed: July 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
11  Thank Elenita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Dallas
123
Reviewed 9 June 2006

From the time one enters the property gate, to the time one checks in with the hosts, the service is great. The accommodations are spacious and comfortable. The food is good and the food delivery is prompt.

I suffered one inconvenience during my stay, and that was the noisy, ongoing ruckus that occurred until the wee hours of the morning on one day, that, seemingly, the staff was unable to quell in spite of my several pleas for their assistance.

Nick Garefalos
Dallas, Texas

  • Stayed: April 2006, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
23  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2006

We were pleasantly surprised by the Lodge. Driving up to the gate, they had our name and gave us directions to the Lodge. We drove to the Lodge and there was a young man waiting for us. He took our bags and brought us directly to our room - no check in! Our room was HUGE! We had soaring ceilings, a wonderfully comfortable bed, a huge soaking claw foot bathtub, a really long enclosed private balcony. It was truly wonderful. The furniture was dated, but this is a private club that felt very "old money" rich. The club members themselves all seemed very snobby and unfriendly, but my husband and I weren't bothered by it at all. We actually thought it was funny. We ate one dinner and one breakfast at the lodge. It was surprisingly inexpensive and good food. The people working at the Lodge were all extremely friendly and helpful. Just the old club members were distant. I think they don't appreciate having non-members, especially younger and prettier than themselves, staying at their "exclusive" club. We definitely felt young! We really loved this place. We loved Tucson, it was much nicer than Phoenix. If we ever come back we will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed: March 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
28  Thank Jrmarquis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
7.6 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#19 of 129 in Tucson
1,009 reviews
7.8 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
725 reviews
19 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#2 of 129 in Tucson
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
4.1 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
4.1 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Ventana Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Ventana Canyon

Address: 6200 N Club House Ln, Tucson, AZ 85750-1399
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#5 Top resorts Hotel in Tucson
#6 Spa Hotel in Tucson
#8 Luxury Hotel in Tucson
#10 Business Hotel in Tucson
#15 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
#40 Family Hotel in Tucson
Price Range: £145 - £299 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Lodge at Ventana Canyon 4*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Against the dramatic backdrop of the Santa Catalina Mountains, stately ancient saguaros lift their arms to the sky, a myriad of fascinating wildlife scurries about the Sonoran desert landscape and all is right with the world. Nestled in this pristine setting is the perfect vacation destination, the Lodge at Ventana Canyon, with 50 cozy one or two bedroom guest suites. We invite you to make the Lodge your home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Lodge at Ventana Canyon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Ventana Canyon Hotel Tucson
Hotel At Ventana Canyon
Resort At Ventana Canyon
Lodge Ventana Canyon
Lodge At Ventana Canyon Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing