We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Ranch Experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
White Stallion Ranch
Ranked #1 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 24 May 2014

This is my first ranch experience. I am from the UK and an experienced Rider. Your first waking impressions are excellent with great surroundings, lodges and pool and Spa. On day one you find you way around the daily routine and the various rides you can do.

The wranglers and all staff are very helpful and the customer always comes first.

As this is a review it is just best for me to say that if you are looking for a new ride experience then you will enjoy this.

If you are from England fast rides do not involve any gallops and the rides are desert, dusty and very rocky in places. This is not a negative but a fact that will help ensure you know what to expect.

This ranch is suitable for all ages and Cattle Penning is a must activity for a new horse experience.

Many people come again year after year and that says a lot.

The ranch would be good for Corporate Team building events and if you have a group of friends who are riders then you will enjoy this as a group event for sure.

Me, I like to experience different rides so I will no doubt visit other ranches in different states but the thought of volunteering to work at this delightful ranch does appeal. The volunteers here are also great.

You will enjoy your stay here no matter your reason for travelling.

Thank you White Stallion

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Colinbuzzbaker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (785)
There are newer reviews for White Stallion Ranch
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

289 - 295 of 785 reviews

Reviewed 22 May 2014

I always a worry when booking riding holiday that the horses are well cared for and that they enjoy their job. I have just returned from 10 days at WSR and as a horse owner and regular rider was delighted with the super horse allocated to me for the entire holiday. I travelled alone but was made most welcome and soon met lots of new friends. A fabulous place for a vacation with lots of options for different levels of riders, many facilities, comfy beds and superb food.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Alison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

I won a two night all inclusive stay at the White Stallion Ranch, booked my room in January for a May stay. I was reluctant at first about a stay in May, it was truly a great time to choose to go, the weather was awesome (sunny and 105 degrees). Upon booking the trip, I was told we could come earlier than the check in time to join them in eating lunch, we were not sure if that was extra and was assured it was part of our stay, so we left early and had a great lunch at the ranch. Lunch was a BBQ turkey sandwich, salad and lemonade for myself, hubby had a BBQ beef sandwich with iced tea and salad. When we arrived Tom checked us on, he was knowledge, super friendly and offered to help us find our room, after lunch we took him up on his offer and he didn't seem to be put back by showing around, in fact, he seemed to enjoy doing so. This was a great way to introduce to our great weekend stay. From there, things just want wonderfully for us. We put off going riding until the following day, instead we enjoyed walking around to the petting zoo, seeing the cattle and horses. Friday night we had a choice of pork chops or roasted chicken, we all ate outside on their beautiful patio under the stars. Since it was my hubby's birthday, they brought out a birthday cake for him to enjoy and sang to him too. I will also add they do have a bar that is on the honor system, no limitations, you just chit off what you drank and turn in the paper to have them charge it to your room afterwards. At around 8 p.m., we gathered with a gentleman who showed us the stars with a high powered telescope, we saw Saturn, Mars and Jupiter as well as the moon rising over the Rincon mountains.
Saturday morning, we had a breakfast ride into the desert, where we had scrambled eggs, biscuits, blueberry pancakes, yogurt, fried potatoes and beverages, it was a nice slow ride back to enjoy the morning. After breakfast is done, you ride back to the ranch to enjoy the rest of the day until you decide what you want to do. There is no pressure or rushing to get things done at all, very relaxing. WE rode on the 2 p.m. slow ride into the mountains, it was not the least bit as hot as I thought it would be, it was slow and relaxing, the horses are well behaved and take good care of you.
Now for the horses' care, I could not believe how well Russell True and his staff take care of their precious babies. Each horse is well groomed and fed, they are spoken to in a kind caring voice and it shows in each horses' temperament.
Saturday afternoon, there was a rodeo where they played Proud to be an American on the speaker as a rider rode by carrying the American Flag proudly, they had other riders carrying flags representing the countries from where other guests came from. It was a proud moment for us Americans and guests alike. We watched barrel racing and cow roping, Russell gave us all lots of information on each event, which was wonderful to hear and see.
WE had an outdoor Indian oven cooked dinner consisting of roast beef, chicken, potatoes, carrots, garbano bean salad and bread. Dessert was a lemon creme cake with blueberry sauce. During dinner a gentleman was singing old cowboy, country songs to us all.
Each day was a great experience and one I will remember for a lifetime.

Just a few other things is the cool indoor experience of Roundup, which is a game and entertainment room for those who don't want to be in the heat of day. You can play video games like pacman, Foosball, billiards, table tennis and even watch a movie or two in the big movie room. There is also a beautiful sparkling pool and jacuzzi outside. There is a petting zoo for the whole family, outdoor tennis court, basketball court, playground for the kids or adults even. I just can't say enough of this wonderful place.

The room was spacious, up to date and comfortable with the southwestern feel to it. A refrigerator, safe, whirlpool tub all in the room for you to enjoy as well. We had fresh towels, lots of toiletries, the bed was clean and well made up for us.

I look forward to coming out again and doing a birthday weekend there.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank LadyLaffnsun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2014

This was our first time visiting a dude ranch. Any doubts we had about whether we would enjoy it disappeared immediately. The True family and their staff make you feel so welcome. The food is delicious and there is plenty of it. The staff provides five star service with a smile. They even helped us celebrate our anniversary with a homemade cake. We really appreciated that personal touch! The wranglers are awesome and made sure you were comfortable with your horse. Everyone at the ranch genuinely cares that you are enjoying your stay. There is so much to do here between the horseback riding, pool and hiking. The evening entertainment is great as well. The scenery is beautiful. Our favorite spot was the patio overlooking the mountains, watching the hummingbirds and the family's dog cool off in the fountain. The rooms are very spacious, well maintained and clean. We really enjoyed the fireplace in our room. This is a five star resort in a ranch setting. You will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DebiL84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Nine city girls arrived May 1st to celebrate a few milestone birthdays. We had an amazing time. The entire staff was beyond friendly and helpful. You were made to feel at home. Every request was honored- even if it meant making an "extra" pot of coffee. The service across the board was 5 star. We all have traveled within the states and around the world together and have stayed at luxurious hotels and resorts but hands down, the service in every aspect and department was one of the best. Friendly, courteous, and super patient wranglers for first- timers on horses. They truly made the experience pleasant and allowed you to make the most of your time on your horse. It was an amazing trip!

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CarolGnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

Wear a cowboy hat and boots and gather around the fire at night. Sleep in an adobe casita and watch hummingbirds and vermillion flycatchers. Feed the horses "horse biscuits", watch their own rodeo and go for a fast or slow ride in the saquaro national forest. Enjoy the little pool and the roasted prime rib. The True family has owned this ranch since the 60s and still does the work with the horses and with the customers. You wont forget your time here.

Room Tip: All 42 rooms are are close to the horses and cattle, I guess buildings 7-12 are closer to your car b...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JAMES H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

This is my 2nd visit to WSR and it was even better this time round. The place is just fantastic - everything you could wish for in a ranching holiday and more! The True family who own the place have an incredible knack of creating the perfect holiday - they make you feel so welcome in their home, match you to the perfect horse for your ability and personality and do everything they can to make sure your stay is first class. The food is delicious and plentiful (don't make the mistake that we did and think it would be all sausages and burgers), the accommodation is spacious, comfortable and well maintained. The amenities are befitting of any top hotel or resort - perfect pool, well equipped gym, spa and sauna. And the staff are just fantastic - nothing is too much trouble for anyone to make sure you have the perfect time.
There's so much to do and loads to keep you busy in between having the greatest experience on horseback. The scenery is simply breathtaking and the evening entertainment each night is so much fun.
If you like horses, riding, westerns, hiking, cowboys or just having fun then this place is a must - top class and oozing authenticity on every front.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndieMorr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
29.5 mi away
Tanque Verde Ranch
Tanque Verde Ranch
#29 of 129 in Tucson
667 reviews
16.0 mi away
Arizona Inn
Arizona Inn
#4 of 129 in Tucson
700 reviews
15.3 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.6 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
12.8 mi away
JW Marriott Tucson Starr Pass Resort & Spa
15.1 mi away
Westin La Paloma Resort and Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Stallion Ranch? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Stallion Ranch

Address: 9251 W Twin Peaks Rd, Tucson, AZ 85743-8854
Phone Number:
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 129 Hotels in Tucson
Price Range: £123 - £589 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — White Stallion Ranch 3.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
EXCEPTIONAL HOSPITALITY AND FAMILY TRADITIONS At White Stallion Ranch, the personal touch and hospitality of a traditional dude ranch is carefully blended with the service and amenities of your favorite resort. This dude ranch has a history of more than 50 years of ownership and daily management by the True Family and over 75 years as Guest Ranch. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Cancelon, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your White Stallion Ranch reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Stallion Ranch Hotel Tucson
White Stallion Ranch Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing