We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden Treasure”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tucson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 45 Tucson B&B and Inns
Reviewed 5 January 2014

Truly this is one our favorite B&Bs. We have been there 4 times and each time it's a great visit. It is off the beaten path and it is worth it. You are close to nature and it's a short distance for a hike. It's a perfect setting to sit on the porch and watch the sunsets and sunrises. It's beautiful. The hosts are very warm and welcoming. They are very knowledgeable about the area and can recommend great places to see and dine. The breakfasts are very healthy and tasty. We enjoy talking to the hosts and the other guests and the time just slips away. And check out the textiles! Beautiful workmanship. And the history with each textile is unique and impressive. We've purchased some ourselves and gifts for the family and friends. This is a perfect place to relax and unwind.
The Allen's from Centennial CO.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank gefujaros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (125)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

59 - 65 of 125 reviews

Reviewed 27 December 2013

Just got home from a beautiful two night stay. The location seems remote, but is actually just 10-15 minutes to the Interstate in Tucson. MIke and Wayan were great hosts. Their B&B is wonderfully unique, the rooms are clean and comfortable, the breakfasts are fabulous and plentiful, the coffee from Bali is special, and, best of all, you're staying off the road and in the desert. I took a long walk on my first morning, following Mike's directions, and enjoyed a beautiful sunrise over the mountains of Saguaro National Park West. It was easy to look out from the living and dining room windows and see birds gathering in the trees and fountain. A javalina family came for a visit, as did a lonely coyote that Wayan has "adopted." A beautiful, unique, and peaceful setting for those who want something different than a room in a motel chain. The gift shop, stocked with Indonesian gifts that Wayan brings back with her from Bali, was an added plus!

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alan G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 November 2013

Just want to share the good feelings and good experience from my stay at Crickethead B&B. Was exciting to be located in the desert, so close to nature. We had some good viewings of a variety of wildlife during different times of the day. The accommodations are very warm and comfortable. The decorations and ambiance very interesting. Breakfast was delicious and balanced. Above all are the warm and inviting welcomes and supports from our hosts. Will definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carol Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2013

My husband and I stayed at the Crickethead Inn for 2 nights during our honeymoon. We picked this B&B because of it's incredibly close proximity to Saguaro National Park, as well as being just under an hour away from Kitt Peak Observatory. We were not disappointed. Crickethead is located down a long dirt road, and you really feel like you are out in the middle of the park. Mike and Wayan were friendly and welcoming and definitely make you feel at home in their home. The rooms each have a patio to sit outside on and also offers a private entry to your room (without having to go through the house). Wayan's breakfasts were plentiful and delicious! They also have an extensive collection of tea :)
So much wildlife can be found right around the B&B as well. One morning we got up and Mike and Wayan told us to be quiet and come see the large owl hanging out on a tree right outside the window. We also saw a rattlesnake, scorpion, tarantula, rabbit, coyote, many birds, and peccary. We also hung around one evening to see the mountains behind the house turn red in the sunset, and then went back around out front to our patio to see the sun set. It was beautiful and peaceful.
If we are ever in the Tucson area again, we will definitely stay again.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CadetBat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

Every now and then - rarely - one has the opportunity of finding the exactly right spot to spend a few days. A spot where the spirits of the traveler and the place, for the lack of a better word, align. The Crickethead B&B was such as experience for me. Located in the midst of the Saguaro National Park, it is an oasis that combines what matters to me - wilderness, great hiking, friendly atmosphere, wonderful hosts, interesting guests, and a myriad of artefacts (masks, statues, marionettes, cloth, gongs) that the owners (Mike and Wayan) accumulated during their travels across Indonesia, Papua and Timor. Wayan's breakfasts were much better than the ones I had at a fancy hotel before my arrival to Crickethead and the conversations around the breakfast table reminded me of the traveling times across Asia and Africa. The place is a magnet for wildlife which comes to visit the little pond in front of the porch. Lots of birds. At night, there is silence and coyote yips. In other words, heaven :). And did i mention the perfect water pressure in the shower?

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaioatey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2013

This was our first time at the Crickethead. We chose it because it was close to both entrances to Saguaro National Park West. The room was very comfortable and clean, the water pressure in the shower was great, and the area was quiet. Our hosts made us comfortable, and went above and beyond by providing an old cooler to take with us to our next destination so we could keep our food cold. Now for the really good stuff: the birds, mammals, lizards, and other nature abound at the B&B, and the breakfasts are delicious. Every morning and evening we sat on the patio and watched several desert species come in for water. Our favourite breakfast was the layered French toast with apricots. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank birdscout154938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2013

I was looking on Google Earth for a place right next to the National Park, which was the main reason we went to Tucson. This was so close that we took a walk after breakfast following a track, and were in the park in a few minutes! The room was comfortable but you wouldn't want to spend much time inside . . . the porches are so nice, even when it was raining (and it was raining hard the day we were there!). We also enjoyed exploring the park and the desert museum. Breakfast was served in the big kitchen, and everybody is around the table - there are three rooms and you are likely to meet some friendly people who enjoy the wilderness and wildlife in this unique desert.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AnotherHiker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
27 mi away
Desert Trails Bed and Breakfast
22.4 mi away
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
14.9 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
The Big Blue House Tucson Boutique inn
14.8 mi away
Sam Hughes Inn Bed & Breakfast
14.6 mi away
Adobe Rose Inn
Adobe Rose Inn
#7 of 45 in Tucson
285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crickethead Inn Bed and Breakfast

Address: 9480 W Picture Rocks Rd, Tucson, AZ 85743-9646
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 45 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Number of rooms: 3
Also Known As:
Crickethead Inn Bed And Breakfast Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing