We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Desert Garden”
Review of Tohono Chul

Tohono Chul
Ranked #6 of 288 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Cultivate your appreciation for the Sonoran Desert’s natural beauty and the impression it makes on everyone who explores our “Desert Corner”. Here, the seasons inspire wondrous events both in nature and culturally; Tohono Chul celebrates every opening, whether for an internationally known artist or an exquisite cactus flower. Wander the natural desert gardens—escape the noise of everyday. Engage in our sincere passion to evolve “The Desert Corner” as an integral crossroads of nature, art and culture.
Stansted
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Pretty Desert Garden”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

This is a little 'oasis' close to the roads and malls on the outskirts of Tucson and a lovely place to spend an afternoon strolling round the cacti gardens and desert environment.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank caninefriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,076 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    769
    236
    56
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Geneva, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Desert gardens”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We had excellent docent, Cindy, who led us on a 45 minute tour of the park. She explained everything so well. We visited the galleries and then dined at the Bistro. Renee, our server, did an excellent job. The food was perfectly prepared. We had the scones of the moment and the quiche of the moment along with the prickly pear lemonade. Best breakfast so far in Tucson.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Lori M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a must visit”
Reviewed 30 June 2014

small and hidden but totally lovely. Quiet and peaceful, Tohono Chul is a great place to learn about the desert.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank rconnelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A must if you are in Tucson!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

This is probably one of our highlights in the Tucson area. What a gorgeous park and so well maintained. We never get tired of it and once we went 3 times in the week because every time we went, we saw something different. The flowers in the spring are incredible. Once we even saw two sleeping havelina under a shady spot they found. Love this place.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank wendi l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Interesting gardens and art exhibit”
Reviewed 20 June 2014

I spent a couple of hours here one hot afternoon and I suggest going early in the morning or late afternoon instead. Despite the heat, I enjoyed wandering along the paths -- clean and mostly paved. A lot of very interesting plants, trees and flowers and some spots have nice views. I spent quite a bit of time watching a hummingbird feeding its mate on a branch, just inches from me. There are sculptures, benches and art objects, some water features, and restrooms and water fountains. One of the things I enjoyed the most was an art exhibit indoors in the space adjacent to the main gift shop (another shop is next to the bistro). I was also quite impressed by the original paintings that were being sold in the gift shop - good work.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank megrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Tohono Chul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing