We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful view of southwest desert”

Tucson Botanical Gardens
Ranked #16 of 282 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Named one of the Top 10 Gardens in to visit in North America in 2017 by the Canada Garden Tourism Council and One of the Best Secret Garden in America by Reader's Digest, Tucson Botanical Gardens is an “Oasis in the Heart of Tucson. Featuring seventeen residentially-scaled specialty gardens, including a Barrio Garden, Zen Garden and a Cactus & Succulent Garden landscaped with unusual rocks from the Harrison Yocum collection. Tropical Butterflies from around the world are featured in the Cox Butterfly & Orchid Pavilion October-April. Special annual seasonal exhibits. Experience an outdoor Garden Railway, botanically-inspired gift shops, year-round tours, art exhibits and lunch at Cafe Botanica. Closed Thanksgiving, the Dec. 24 & 25, Jan. 1, the first Saturday in February and July 4.
Collinsville
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful view of southwest desert”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

Fun place to visit. Again the docents that volunteer their time at this place are very informative and friendly. We loved eating at the the little restaurant here.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank teachra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    227
    62
    13
    5
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Sandpoint, Idaho
Level Contributor
51 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Educational Half Day Retreat”
Reviewed 19 November 2013

Beautifully laid out gardens, defining the most interesting and beautiful desert plants. Loved the butterfly enclosure and the huge golden barrel cactus and learned that the Saguaro is at least 50 years old before it grows an "arm". Displays are grouped by theme and native areas, so exhibits are easy to understand. Special places with seating is a plus. Senior admission was $11.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank blissss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, General Manager at Tucson Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thank you for your kind words! We think our Golden Barrel cactus display is pretty special too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann Arbor
Level Contributor
19 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“October visit”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Gardens are small but carefully tended and well laid out. The butterfly house was outstanding. So many varieties and the volunteers were knowledgeable. A photog's dream.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Brett A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, General Manager at Tucson Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thanks Brett! We are small, but mighty! Hope you get to visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
87 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Well organized, good variety”
Reviewed 18 November 2013

Butterfly garden with poison dart frogs (they run away, don't worry) an outdoor electric train, quite a bit of landscape artwork, a bistro and a lot of native garden areas with strong themes to observe too. Shade, wheelchair accessible. Well worth the visit here. Excellent demo gardens.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank John A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michelle C, General Manager at Tucson Botanical Gardens, responded to this review, 21 November 2013
Thanks Charley for the five star rating! We love our volunteers at the Gardens, and they do enjoy talking plants with our visitors. Come back and check out our chicken coop and Alien Invasion of the Plant Kind exhibit!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
624 reviews
242 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 356 helpful votes
“Beautiful Gardens and Fabulous Butterflies”
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Well we went out looking for the new Japanese Gardens in Tucson and missed them and fell into the Botanical Gardens. What an incredible find for us! The docents (volunteers) are ever so helpful and friendly. The gardens are set in 19 (I think) different littler gardens and the are done so well. The cactus area has so many incredible varieties. I wish I could take the home, especially the mature plants. Oh my, I think this is plant envy! Then there is the butterfly room. Wow. This is a great place to be and so many butterflies! Bring Your camera and enjoy. There is also a children's area and a big model train that works. The children can push the button to make it go! All in All This is a wonderful spot for the morning and I will be going back again soon!

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CharleySays
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tucson Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Tucson Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing