We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This Place Fits Its Description”

Tucson Botanical Gardens
Ranked #17 of 300 things to do in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: 2-3 hours
Owner description: Named one of the Top 10 Gardens in to visit in North America in 2017 by the Canada Garden Tourism Council and One of the Best Secret Garden in America by Reader's Digest, Tucson Botanical Gardens is an “Oasis in the Heart of Tucson. Featuring seventeen residentially-scaled specialty gardens, including a Barrio Garden, Zen Garden and a Cactus & Succulent Garden landscaped with unusual rocks from the Harrison Yocum collection. Tropical Butterflies from around the world are featured in the Cox Butterfly & Orchid Pavilion October-April. Special annual seasonal exhibits. Experience an outdoor Garden Railway, botanically-inspired gift shops, year-round tours, art exhibits and lunch at Cafe Botanica. Closed Thanksgiving, the Dec. 24 & 25, Jan. 1, the first Saturday in February and July 4.
Useful Information: Wheelchair access, Food available for purchase
Tucson, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“This Place Fits Its Description”
Reviewed 2 May 2014

Tucson Botanical Gardens has been described as "oasis" in the middle of Tucson. Once you enter its gates you will see why it has been called that. My husband and I visited here years ago, but I wanted to see if it was good as I remembered it. It was. The shade gardens are lush and a welcome relief from Tucson's warm days. We visited on April 30, the last day of their "Butterfly Garden" exhibit, which is open only from October through April. Butterflies are brought in from all parts of the world. The Butterfly Garden is hard to describe, because each butterfly is more colorful than the next. If you visit from May through September, it's still worth a stop.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Hushpuppy2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

720 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    236
    66
    13
    6
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Chico, CA
Level 6 Contributor
180 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Lovely serene oasis”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Really surprised by the quality and extend of this lovely place. Great butterfly exhibit and many nice places to sit, reflect, and drink in the great floral landscaping--and I'm not a big plant person. Highly recommended as one of the top couple of Tucson attractions.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank tsainta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redford, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
46 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Nice”
Reviewed 22 April 2014

Way too many staged potted plants. For what you got to see very pricey. Butterfly exhibit very sparse. Guess if I hadn't been to much better ones this one would have been seemed better. Not going to recommend to friends too many other places to visit in tucson.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Live butterfly emporium”
Reviewed 21 April 2014

The butterfly exhibit is the star of these gardens. The opportunity to see 50 live species of butterflies in a contained environment is unique and rewarding. Combined with the air plants within the butterfly exhibit it is a very creative and interesting attraction set in the middle of Tucson in an old estate. We enjoyed it very much. Please be advised though that the butterfly attraction is only open from October to April each year.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BAC219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
11 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I loved it - and I'm not even a gardener!”
Reviewed 16 April 2014

I was looking for something to do while visiting my college-student daughter, and found the botanical garden on the map. It was such a lovely surprise - a cool and shady "oasis" in the hot desert. I was lucky enough to catch the end of the butterfly exhibit - nothing like having a 6-inch electric blue butterfly land right in the middle of your forehead! The gardens themselves were charmingly laid out, with winding paths leading from one area to the next, and showed the amazing range of vegetation (native and non-native) which can grow in this area. Plant labels were clear and informative, and one thing I really appreciated was all the interesting benches throughout the gardens so you can sit down and look around for a while. Many of the benches are handmade with unique tile designs. Overall, it was just a great couple of hours in a beautiful place. And if you're a gardener (which I'm not) you'll probably think you've died and gone to heaven.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tucson Botanical Gardens also viewed

 

Been to Tucson Botanical Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing