We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall, not a bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
TownePlace Suites Tucson Airport
Ranked #36 of 130 Hotels in Tucson
Certificate of Excellence
El Paso, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Overall, not a bad experience”
Reviewed 20 May 2013

Overall, this was not a bad experience. Only two real complaints: First, I found 7 AM a little late for serving the hot breakfast. They should bump that up to 6:30 on the weekends. People staying over a weekend are generally staying for a reason - and getting up late might not be on the agenda. I was not alone with either having to settle for cereal or rush through breakfast. Second, on the second night of my two-night stay, I was awakened out of a sound sleep by the folks in an adjoining room making "appropriate acclamations to the Lord." You know, the kind of stuff accompanied by the repeated phrase, "Oh, God!" I would think for nearly $120/night the rooms would have a little better sound isolation.

The fee mentioned brings up another gripe: I don't get how being able to do a last-minute cancellation should cost an extra $50/night. I saw an online price of $71/night for this stay, but was quoted $103 (not including taxes). When I questioned this, I was told that the online price was for a pre-paid room with my card being charged immediately. I realize lots of hotel chains do this, but I don't think that makes it right, so hence the ding for Marriot's policy of doing this.

I liked the mini-kitchen and larger refrigerator as I hate eating out, but probably would have been served as well in a room that simply had a microwave and 'frige. Other than that, the room was the standard "white rice" fare.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sue C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tusta6595, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Tucson Airport, responded to this review, 9 July 2013
Dear Sue C,
Thank you very much for the review! It is our goal to exceed your expectations. I am glad to announce that we are upgrading our breakfast availability times soon to accommodate for early risers like yourself! We hope to provide excellent service on your next trip to Tucson!

Katie Hunter
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    128
    57
    8
    4
    4
See reviews for
45
59
22
54
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 9 April 2013

We spent 6 days here and were overwhelmed by the quality of service! From our huge suite, excellent food, and always friendly staff to the cleanliness and great location, we couldn't have been happier. And when the gentleman at the front desk, Bill, heard it was our 10 yr old son's birthday, a staff member brought up cookies and popcorn for him and that night, a cake a balloon!! He and everyone else went out of their way to make sure everyone staying there was as comfortable as possible. We will definitely be staying there again the next time we are in Tucson!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sigintdevildog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie H, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Tucson Airport, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
We are very blessed to have had the opportunity to help your family celebrate your sons 10th birthday! It is our pleasure to make every stay with us as memorable as possible. Hopefully we will see your family again for his 11th birthday!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battlefield, MO USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

Family reunion brought us here for two nights, two rooms for daughter, son-in-law, grand daughter and for wife and I. We arrived just at the end of the evening reception and had a very nice meal of tacos, rice, beans along with wine, beer and sodas. Our rooms were very pleasant with large comfortable bed, small sofa/bed, tables, work area and a small kitchen with range/stove, sink, small refrigerator, cabinets with dishes,glasses, and such. Nicely done bathroom. Staff was great, friendly, accommodating and professional. Public areas are well kept and decorated. An outdoor patio with couches, tables chairs, fireplace and TV is a pleasant touch, along with a wonderful pool area. Breakfast was typical of hotel layout, but food was plentiful and varied, from waffles to eggs, sausage, fresh fruits, cereals and such. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: Some larger suites are available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Amunhotep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie H, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Tucson Airport, responded to this review, 12 April 2013
We are very glad you enjoyed your stay with us! We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Merrimack, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
184 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 March 2013

This property is only a few years old; but it is obviously well maintained. We stayed 3 nights for a getaway, and it gets high marks all around. Friendly staff, well appointed and immaculate room, clean heated pool and a decent hot breakfast is available.

There is a social hour most not all evenings, and while we did not partake it was well attended and decently provisioned considering it was free.

It's close to the airport, and this means it's not so close groceries and shopping, but Tucson enjoys good traffic movement most days, and once you get up to the city proper there is all manner of shopping and dining. And if you're leaving by air...........5 minutes !

There is so much of the Sonoran desert that is worth your time, you really need to plan a few days in this special place. This property is a great place to use as home base.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gary L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie H, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Tucson Airport, responded to this review, 18 March 2013
Thank you for this wonderful review of our hotel and city! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mirabel, Qc
Level Contributor
366 reviews
85 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 372 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 February 2013

We spent 5 nights at this hotel and we didn't regret it.
We really loved our stay.
The location is great and provides easy and fast access to every attractions in the area.
This hotel looks good, is clean and is well taken care of. Doors are locked and we felt secure.
The room was great with a full kitchen. Big fridge, oven top, microwave, sink, etc. The eating area was big enough. The bed was comfy. Flat screen TV. Nice and clean bathroom. The only bad thing is that the kitchen could be better furnished with ustensiles and other useful kitchen "tools"... but it is always like that with hotel kitchens, almost everywhere... but hope Marriot would do better than the others ;)
The pool area is very nice and inviting. There is also a very useful grill situated in the pool area.
The free included hot breakfast was excellent.
They also offer free dining in the lobby, at the beginning of the week, it sems very popular. They served hamburgers and beer, lasagna and wine and also tacos while we were there.
The lobby is really nice and the outdoor patio with a fire place is cool.
The service we had from the staff needs to be mentionned. We had GREAT service. Thx especially to Bill :)
I highly recommend this hotel and we will be back for sure when returning to Tucson.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ben0844
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie H, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Tucson Airport, responded to this review, 11 March 2013
We are very pleased that you enjoyed youe stay with us as it is our goal to exceed your expectations! I will pass on your wonderful kudos to Bill. We hope to see you on your next trip to Tucson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anchorage, Alaska
Level Contributor
56 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 February 2013

Very quiet overall. We stayed for 4 nights. I agree with other reviewers about the lack of grocery stores nearby. My only complaint was a lack of frying pan in the kitchenette. Otherwise, a good stay & we would consider staying here again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JessicaB106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie H, General Manager at TownePlace Suites Tucson Airport, responded to this review, 26 February 2013
Thank you for your great review! We hope to see you on your next trip to Tucson!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 February 2013

I stayed at the hotel for 3 nights last week, the rooms were clean, the staff at the front desk were courteous. Since I prefer to cook my meals, I normally stay at hotels that provide a small kitchen. The desk area expands to provide more room. However the desk faces away from the flat screen TV...that is how the rooms are designed.

The ethernet connection to the Internet was sluggish...I did not get a chance to fully test its bandwidth by downloading large work files or watch a movie on netflix. I selected this hotel since the Staybridge Suites wase too expensive and it has a basketball court....I had a great workout. I did aggrevate my knee...but I dont know if it is attributable to me getting older or the interlocking mesh layed over the concrete court. I'm still limping around..getting better.

The hotel is located close to the airport and has easy access to I-10. Unfortunately, there are no groceries stores or banks close by....thats Tucson. Another reason I stayed at TownePlace Suites, it is one of the few Hotels in Tucson that have the entrance to the rooms inside which provides security for yourself and your belongings when away from the hotel...,..Very Big Plus.

The rate was $149 / night with high taxes....maybe adjusting the rates to $129 to $139 may fill up more rooms specially during the Internationa Gem Show and Major League Spring Baseball.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Trailblazer2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
0.2 mi away
Residence Inn Tucson Airport
0.2 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Tucson Airport
0.2 mi away
Staybridge Suites Tucson Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
DoubleTree Suites by Hilton Tucson Airport
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Tucson Airport
Courtyard Tucson Airport
#58 of 130 in Tucson
124 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Tucson Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TownePlace Suites Tucson Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TownePlace Suites Tucson Airport

Property: TownePlace Suites Tucson Airport
Address: 6595 S Bay Colony Dr, Tucson, AZ 85756-7149
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#11 Family Hotel in Tucson
#16 Business Hotel in Tucson
#39 Romantic Hotel in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — TownePlace Suites Tucson Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 91
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Marriott, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your TownePlace Suites Tucson Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
TownePlace Suites Tucson Airport Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing