We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hospitality galore at beautiful desert retreat!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Tucson
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Inns at El Rancho Merlita
Ranked #9 of 48 Tucson B&B and Inns
Columbus, Ohio
1 review
“Hospitality galore at beautiful desert retreat!!”
Reviewed 17 January 2014

This beautifully restored and updated B&B was clean, comfortable and in a great location! The grounds were pristine with great views of the mountains.
It was our first visit to Tucson and we did not have a specific agenda--just to get away and be outdoors. Pattie, the Managing Innkeeper, was a wealth of information. Not only did she have excellent suggestions for things to do, but also maps and the most scenic ways to get there! In addition,she had excellent suggestions for restaurants that were all great! Breakfast was delicious and bountiful each morning.
We will definitely return to Tucson and the Inns at El Rancho Merlita .

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BHD55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    179
    6
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
12
139
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2014

What a beautiful spot. The Inn is homey yet elegant. Handsome rooms with very comfortable
beds Great living room with wood burning fireplace available.to guests. There is also a
large outdoor fire pit for evenings. Grounds are well groomed with nice view of mountains.
The foothills location is a wonderful area of Tucson. I enjoyed the hot tub each night as the evenings are chilly in Jan. Patti will take care of all your needs. She is very professional and friendly. Her delicious and healthy breakfasts may be the best reason to stay here.
Howard Atlanta

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank judithcohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 October 2013

We stayed overnight here by chance on a birding excursion. It was offseason so we had the great treat of being one of two couple staying at the Inn. It was super quiet, clean... had everything you could possibly need and the grounds were outstanding.

We cancelled our Tucson birding trips to stay on the grounds and bird around the inn. Needless to say there were many species of birds and even some other interesting wildlife right there at the Inn. In the evening we were treated to bats feeding off insects on the cactus right outside the windows...

What a fantastic place.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 October 2013

We recently had the pleasure of staying a weekend at this authentic desert ranch B&B.
It feels like you are the private guests of hollywood makeup legend Merrill Norman, who originally built the the place. It is beautifully restored and updated, with clean comfortable rooms, which are spacious and cozy. At the same time it still retains it's old world desert charm. The Salt water pool is a real treat on a hot afternoon!
Pattie Bell is a lovely hostess and an awesome cook, breakfast is delicious, as are the afternoon home baked cookies and iced tea! Pattie goes out of her way to be helpful and please her guests.
We had such an amazing stay I am already working on trying to organize another trip back !
If you are traveling in Tucson, this is the place to stay.It is truly magical,set in a spectacularly gorgeous location too. Wow!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Michaels, Maryland
Level Contributor
54 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were thrilled when we found this gem on TripAdvisor, and we were never disappointed! When we called to make the reservation to our check out, Pattie and El Rancho Merlita never disappointed.

We were running a bit late for check in, and she told us not to hurry - homemade treats and lemonade were awaiting us. We stayed in the Black Mountain room. It was spacious and comfortable. All rooms look have direct access to one of the covered patio areas. We were the only guests for one of the nights we stayed. The first morning, Pattie made wonderful homemade blueberry cornmeal pancakes (I can't eat egg dishes) with 2 syrups - mesquite and pomegranate. A delicious fresh fruit compote preceded the hot cakes which were also accompanied with small breakfast links.

She sat with us, provided a wonderful history of the property, and showed us all the rooms! Each is decorated uniquely which allows guests to match their preferences. We walked around the property, exploring the "man in the maze" and other interesting areas. The grounds are immaculate. We took a dip in the pool the first evening and the next morning.

Breakfast on the second day included ham and pecan waffles with a fruit compote. Delicious! The couple who came in the evening prior were repeat customers, as will we be! We're already planning our next visit. On our way out, Pattie sent us on our way with freshly baked cookies.

Room Tip: No room is a bad choice. We loved the colors in the Black Mountain room. There are 2 large suites, a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drjdd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surprise, Arizona, United States
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 August 2013

This was our first time at a B & B and we were NOT disappointed. Magnificent mountain views, beautiful architecture, lovely decor, scrumptious bed, top of the line amenities, gourmet breakfast, and a bird watchers paradise. The innkeeper, Patti Bell, is delightfully warmhearted, extremely knowledgable, and very gracious host. We could not have been more pleased. Everything was literally perfection, and we are already planning our next stay!!!!

Room Tip: Room 3 is a corner unit and most delightful. We also had an opportunity to view the Suite, which wa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dee G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradenton, Florida
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 August 2013

Gorgeous mountain views, desert wildlife outside the breakfast room window every morning, lovely architecture, top of the line amenities and delightfully cordial and informed innkeeping by Pattie Bell make The Inns at El Rancho Merlita an unalloyed pleasure. We will be back again -- soon, I hope. We recently stayed for a relaxing and rejuvenating week in a sumptuous room called Arroyo Bonito where we loved the private patio, the serene peace and quiet and the morning hummingbird visits. We felt right at home. And did I mention that Pattie's breakfasts make getting up in the morning something to look forward to? Bottom line: we loved everything about this B&B, including the truly superior massages we treated ourselves to the day before flying home.

Room Tip: You can't go wrong in either the beautifully restored main house, built by cosmetics mogul Merle...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bancrofts_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Tucson hotels
5.9 mi away
Lodge on the Desert
Lodge on the Desert
#23 of 130 in Tucson
951 reviews
1.9 mi away
Comfort Suites at Sabino Canyon
22.5 mi away
White Stallion Ranch
White Stallion Ranch
#1 of 130 in Tucson
772 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Hacienda Del Sol Guest Ranch Resort
1.6 mi away
Azure Gate Bed and Breakfast
6.2 mi away
Loews Ventana Canyon Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Inns at El Rancho Merlita? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Inns at El Rancho Merlita

Property: The Inns at El Rancho Merlita
Address: 1924 N Corte El Rancho Merlita, Tucson, AZ 85715-4493
Region: United States > Arizona > Tucson
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 48 B&Bs / Inns in Tucson
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stay at the historic 1950’s Merle Norman Ranch House and estate. Carved wood beams, rope trim, and hand hewn local rock fireplaces define this home. Outside, relax under deep shaded porches, and enjoy the swimming pool and spa. At night, cuddle up in our soft Egyptian cotton sheets and luxurious Museum of New Mexico Collection bedding. Every morning Innkeeper Pattie Bell will greet you with her freshly prepared breakfasts, inspired by southern Arizona local flavor. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Inns At El Rancho Merlita Tucson, Arizona

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing